We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed for a week”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while going to school at FSI. The hotel is renovated and looks great, thin walls could here person talking on phone and road noise not that bad though. Breakfast is ok. Now for the bad, downtown area shuts down after 5pm only a few restaurants open for dinner and more than a few blocks from hotel. The little things are important to me, one day came back after a long day, no towels, had to call downstairs for some. The next day no coffee, good thing I bring instant with me. The following day no plastic bag for ice bucket, I just went to housekeeping closet and got it myself. Some of these things have happened at other hotels also but not many.Hotels staff should have a checklist to make sure they do not miss anything.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot on the ru... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our guest feedback is very important to us. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. Missing certain items in your guest room from day to day is unacceptable and we will address with our housekeeping team to ensure simple items like that are not missed.

The hotel is situated in the heart of the legal district and the surrounding area does get quiet in the evening. There are several restaurants within 3-4 blocks of the hotel. The hotel also does offer complimentary shuttle service with in a 5 mile radius which many of our guests take advvantage of. Utlizing the shuttle opens up dozens of other restaurant which are accessible for our guests.

We do hope to see you again the next time travel brings you to Wilmington so we can provide you with a much improved stay.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    235
    145
    76
    32
See reviews for
167
131
71
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked this hotel as a group stayed for a wedding in the area. We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel was older but they did a great job renovating. The prices were reasonable and everything was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner. Service and food were really very good. Peter, the hotel bell staff/ shuttle driver was exceptional. His helpfulness and flexibility were really great, and he was always there to greet us with a smile! Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a warm, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with Peter and his peers. We are very lucky to have him as part of our team.

Hopefully we will have a chance to see you again when travel brings you to Wilmington.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stay in this hotel over a weekend every November for a recurring event. We travel with two other returning customers. We recognize some of the staff from year after year. The kindness and efficiency with which the hotel is run keeps us coming back. The rooms are clean and well sized. It allows us to be comfortable. They have wonderful staff who recognize the need to treat their customers with sensitivity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cathy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Cathy,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate our guests feedback and the biggest compliment we can receive is to hear a guest say "it is their home away from home". I will definitely share your comments with our teams.

Hopefully we can see you again before next November. Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Rooms a little noisy - rooms at the front of the hotel suffer from traffic noise. Generally there's little padding between rooms (can hear the toilet flush next door). The rooms need newer carpets. Breakfast is ok - adequate for business travelers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sandip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Sandip,

Thank you for such a loyal guest to our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback. We are continually making upgrades to the property and have many more planned for 2014.

Thanks again. We do hope to see you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently, the staff is friendly and cooperative, the hotel and rooms are very clean, they recycle, the bed linens and towels are high quality, the bed is super comfee and the climate controls are quiet. It is safe for people traveling and the staff makes sure you are taken care of and you don't have to worry if you forget something. I really like this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Jean,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Doubletree was well worth the rate; a great value. This was an excellent stay. The room was clean. The cookies were great. The bellman was awesome. The staff were great. The breakfast was awesome, though a bit expensive. The service was very good. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the Wilmington Delaware area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sequetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Sequetta,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel appeared modest from the outside, but was conveniently located, had a very nice room, and wonderful personnel. Unfortunately, it was equipped with a window-unit AC/heater that would cut on loudly periodically and wake me up. Had it not been for this, I would rate this "Very Good".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzofva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the challenge you encountered with the HVAC in your room and have already had our engineering team look into it. Our guest feedback is very important to us and I am very glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of your time with us.

We do hope to see you again when travel brings you to Wilmington.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 13 in Wilmington
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
1.2 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Address: 700 N King St, Wilmington, DE 19801-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing