We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at the Doubletree Hotel Legal District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Upon arrival I was greeted by your friendly and helpful staff. Check-in was quick and I was able to get settled in my room immeditely. I especially loved the cookies that were given out upon arrive. I stayed in room 406, other than I had a little difficulty regulating the air conditioner in my room and the pool was not available my stay was comfortable and very pleasant. The price was an very good value for the money. I will stay at the Double Tree Legal District again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Shelley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Shelley,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback via TripaAdvisor. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I was very sorry to hear about the regulating the air conditioner. I know how frustrating that can be and have already had our engineering team correct that particular issue.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time. We really hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

very friendly atmosphere, near transportation with free pickup. Just one block from Historical sights. Reasonable rates and cleanliness. very friendly atmosphere, near transportation with free pickup. Just one block from Historical sights. Reasonable rates and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Minnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Minnie,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated as with all of our guests. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and came in contact with some of our friendly team members. I will be sure to share your comments with them. We hope when travel brings you back to the area we will see you again.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My recent stay was pleasant. The pool is closed for repairs, I didn't see any construction going on but then again I didn't go look. I am used to walking around everywhere when I go to places, was told to be very careful outside because the area can get shady at night. I didn't go adventure or anything but I walked home from restaurant at night and was fine. If your used to a city environment where danger happens then you can handle it. Just be alert. The hotel staff was extremely friendly. They have a shuttle that takes you around the city anywhere you need to go for free ( tip your driver) Free coffee in the Lobby when you wake up. I found that the best part I am a big coffee fanatic. They have their own garage underneath told me it was 15$ a day to be able to go in and out but I don't recall being charged nor was it on my room charges. Just have to get it stamped at the desk.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbrill5481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pool unfortunately developed a tear in the liner and we are awaiting the new one to be made. We do appreciate your feedback regarding the surrounding area. As with any urban location as long as you are aware of your surroundings you will be fine. As with any urban location there are areas that are less desirable however the surrounding area around the hotel is more than fine.

I will be sure to share you feedback with our teams and we do hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Everything was wonderful and I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends. Our organization has their Annual meeting here every year along with other AME activities. I give great accommodations to the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel is a good spot for your annual conference. We do enjoy hosting the conference and look forward to seeing everyone again next year!

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

this hotel clean, rm was clean neat no order, internet service was spot on, great location, staff was 1derful, onsite food was good, if one must travel to this area highly recommend u stay here, the warm cookie at check was an added bonus, check out a breeze and they stored my luggage until after my mtg good thing and late check out was extended as well THANKs to the staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Robert,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope the meeting you attended were as enjoyable.

We do hope to see you again when travel brings you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After a long day of driving we decided to check into a hotel and this looked to fit the bill for the area. The GPS took us through perhaps some of the worst neighborhoods of Wilmington with roads closed which could really turn you around. Upon arrival the car port was nowhere near the parking so we followed a sign that said Entrance and Parking. Surprise a $15 charge to park overbite with the entrance through the garage. The parking and neighborhood boarding the hotel just didn't feel safe. We never went in so I really can't speak to the quality of the hotel. If your just passing through and don't have to be downtown I would say pass.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Frank3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Frank,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your travel to the hotel, I know how frustrating that can be, especially when the GPS takes you off the beaten path. The hotel is located in the center of the legal district surrounded by courthouses, federal and state buildings as well as top companies in banking industry. As with any urban location there are areas in the city that may be less desirable. I can assure you the hotel and the area surrounding the hotel are very safe. I completely understand the frustration with parking charges however, parking charges are very typical in urban locations, not only with hotels in Wilmington but in other cities as well.

I am very sorry that you did not get a chance to see the inside of the hotel or experience what the hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very good for the price. Does need updating but all in all it's a good deal. Restaurant breakfast buffet was very good and had a decent variety, although the booth seating was poor and definitely needs new bench seats.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFiler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Joseph,

Thank you for taking time time to write a review. We appreciate all of our guests feedback and are very glad to hear your stay was enjoyable. The hotel along with its owners are currently in the planning stages of some updates in the near future to effect the guest rooms as well as certain areas of the public spaces.

We do hope to see you again in the future the next time travel brings you to Wilmington.

Sincerely,
Alan Filer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
5.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#8 of 13 in Wilmington
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HOTEL DU PONT
HOTEL DU PONT
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
176 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
1.2 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District

Address: 700 N King St, Wilmington, DE 19801-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £76 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing