We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Inn at Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Wilmington
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Where to begin? We booked this trip online for a double queen room, but when we arrived we were told they only had a single queen room left. We are a couple traveling with a 5 year old and 1 year old. Since we didn't want our 5 year old on a pull out sofa, the front desk clerk said she would bring a cot. Since she was the only person working, it took an hour to receive the cot, the mattress was ripped, there was no mattress pad and the clerk left us to set up the bed ourselves. Though we had reserved it in advance, there was no crib in the room when we arrived either. The same clerk went to get the pack and play - as a result, our kids were over an hour later for bed than we anticipated. The queen bed was way too soft, very uncomfortable and clearly old. The bathroom was clean, however, not great - the drain in the tub looked broken, the whole piece of the inside of the drain was sitting in the tub and in general, made me not want to bathe our kids. The room in general looked more worn than other rooms in this hotel when we've stayed in the past. All in all we were quite disappointed; the staff refused to give us a discount even though we didn't get the room we reserved and were full of excuses about why they didn't have enough rooms, none of which mattered to us or did we want to even hear about - the management should have done whatever they need to do to ensure their availability is correctly reflected on the internet. When they discovered they were overbooked, they should have had more than one person working! Our experience was unacceptable and we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollymocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your review and informing us about some of the major issues that occur during your stay. We sincerely appreciate every review negative or positive because this gives us the opportunity to reflect on our performance and strive to do better. Here at the Inn at Wilmington we do our utmost to give every guest a marvelous experience, and it is my greatest regret that you did not experience this during your stay with us. Please contact me at your earliest convenient to discuss the matter further. I look forward to hearing for you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    127
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
124
111
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

No more or less than what we expected. Everything is pretty basic. Room was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.. Keurig coffeemaker in the room is a nice touch, as the coffee they make for breakfast is way too weak. Fortunately, the hotel next door has a Starbucks, though it has funky hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your review, I genuinely appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I did address the issue about the breakfast coffee with the staff. If you stay with us next time please all of our Seattle Best Starbucks coffee we carry in 6 different flavors. We look forward to seeing you during you next visit to DE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayre, PA
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

We Stayed for 3 nights while attending a wedding reception and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, no complaints. Bed linens were fluffy and clean and beds comfortable. Rooms adequate although not huge. Breakfast items were plentiful and the eating area good size. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the only con I could say is the one elevator if the hotel is crowded, which during our stay it wasn't so not a problem. Gym was nice as was lobby. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your review, I truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and I am delighted that you had a wonderful experience. Here at the Inn at Wilmington we do our utmost to give every guest a stunning experience, and it is our pleasure that your stay was pleasant. We hope to see you during your next visit to Wilmington De and continued to exceed your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hotel was very conveniently located close to everything. Longwood Gardens were less than 20 minutes drive from the hotel. The stuff at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The rooms are good size. The breakfast was exactly as we expected – coffee, tea, cereal, milk, waffles, muffins…

The main problem with the rooms, however, is that bathroom door does not lock. We had to change the room after the first night stay since housekeeping never came to our room to change towels and clean the room, so we had to stay in two different rooms during our 2 nights stay. Both rooms did not have a working lock on the bathroom door.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyuda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hello Lyuda_12

Thanks for the wonderful feedback regarding the staff. It is our greatest regret that you had to be moved twice due the housekeeping and room mantaince. I have adressed this issue with housekeeping and manitance to ensure this do not occur again. Our goal at the Inn at Wilmington is to provide our guest with the best experience overall. We hope to get another opportunity to exceed you expection.

Thanks Patricia Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I was skeptical since the price was right and some comments were off-putting, but it was perfect!
Clean rooms, comfortable beds, helpful personnel.
Breakfast was ok, typical continental fare. Loved having a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hallway, 2nd fl and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJK1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hello RJK1977

Thank you for the spectacular review, we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to exceed you expection. Our goal at the Inn at wilmington is to give our guest a great xperience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

After a noisy room in New York City, this hotel was like a sanctuary. Set back from the road and I had a room at the back on the 3rd floor, meant my room was quiet and peaceful.

The hotel is located next to about 4 big restaurants and also close to several department stores and a small shopping mall.

The room itself was spacious, well decorated and set out with not too much furniture

Breakfast was included and quite average, with little hot food.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Powinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay with Trip Advisor. We truly value each of our guest’s experiences and appreciate the comments they share. With that being said, I wanted to share that we are in process of updating our breakfast choices which includes now hot items like bacon, sausage and many more choices. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My boyfriend & I booked a room at this hotel when he came to visit for his birthday. The hotel overall was small with not many levels or rooms, which isn't a problem but the rooms were also not very spacious.(we booked a standard king room) The bathroom door lock was broken & would not close correctly. The elevator in the hotel was Extremely slow for the hotel not even having that many levels! The location is great though with many restaurants, the mall, & the movie theater all nearby! It wasn't a totally horrible stay, but i will probably stay at one of the other nearby hotels next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lopezliszet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your honest comments. Honesty from our guests provides us with tools to improve our guest experience. I am very sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. I want to make it right! Please, whenever you are in need of a hotel in the DE area asks to speak to me when making your reservation as we have other types of room also. I will personally make it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 13 in Wilmington
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Brandywine Valley Inn
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wilmington

Property: Inn at Wilmington
Address: 300 Rocky Run Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19803
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#2 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort and local charm at the INN at Wilmington. Nestled in the heart of Delaware's Brandywine Valley, our inviting boutique hotel features contemporary styled guestrooms and suites and impressive amenities, including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free Wi-Fi, and business and fitness centers. Enjoy our convenient location near points of interest such as Nemours Estate and Winterthur Museum, major businesses like DuPont and AstraZeneca, and the Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children. Book one of our exclusive vacation packages that pair local attractions with our modern, pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Wilmington Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing