We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pullout couch is not the same as a queen bed.”
Review of Inn at Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Wilmington
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“A pullout couch is not the same as a queen bed.”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed there with my mother and brother overnight in mid-June. First, the key card wouldn't work so I had to run back downstairs to the front desk. Once we did get into the room, I found 1 queen and a pullout couch, not the 2 queen room I'd booked online. Back downstairs for them to tell me that was all they had, and really, the couch pulls out into a queen so it's the same thing. They assured me extra sheets for the couch were in the room. Back upstairs again, to find out there were no extra sheets, or pillows, in the closet. So I called back the front desk, and they did bring some right away. But, the pullout mattress wasn't very comfortable at all. So my poor brother slept scrunched up on the couch part.

Though I didn't get the room I paid for, I gave this an average rating instead of poor because they did have a nice breakfast in the morning, with some hot food, and the staff was friendly. In the future, I hope they consider looking more closely at matching up the customer with the room they'd originally booked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the INN at Wilmington, I honestly appreciate you expressing your concerns about you last stay with us. I can only imagine how frustrating it could be experiencing multiple problems at our property, including not getting a room that you paid for or what you had requested. I did discuss these issues with both the Front Office and Housekeeping managers to assure that this do not occur again. I would like to make this right, I could not find your reservation in our history. Could you please contact me at your earliest convenient at 302-477-9500 to discuss this matter? I do apologize for any troublesomeness this may have caused you and your family, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    127
    51
    19
    11
See reviews for
124
111
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Very nice staff. Room is clean. Hotel facilities overall are nice. HOWEVER, as a business traveller, I need internet that is reliable and fast. Running a speedtest this hotel internet (wireless and wired) is averaging about .3MB/sec! That is shameful. Running pings that take 500+ milliseconds just proves that internet is useless. I switched to my 3G connection on my phone about easily got 5MB/sec.

Stop advertising HIGH-SPEED internet when it's just marginally better than dialup.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dman776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your compliments regarding our hotel staff and our facilities. I also appreciate your feedback regarding our internet service. Please accept my honest apologies; I am truly sorry about the inconvenience’s you experienced with the internet during your stay with us. We appreciated hearing about your concerns and made sure they were shared and reviewed with management. hope this doesn’t deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St, Louis
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed here for three nights in late August for business purposes. I found this hotel to be in a convenient location with several restaurants in walking distance. It backed a beautiful state park, and was on the main road, 202. It was simple, but had everything you would need and was extremely clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were great, and the included breakfast was good and hot. WiFi was free....parking was free. Independently owned. I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JungleJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
First of all let me say thank you for choosing the Inn at Wilmington for your hotel of choice. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are extremely pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again, we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey, usa
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Very spacious room, small hotel - only 4 floors so no wait on elevator or crowded public spaces, typical but nice breakfast included, convenient location, small fitness center, indoor pool is next door - have to go outside - might be a problem in winter, rain if that is important for you, very pleasant staff, very clean

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for positive feedback. We are happy to know we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. I will definitely share your comments with our staff and management. When visiting the area again, please do not hesitate to contact us again for overnight accommodations.
Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

It was a sad event that brought us here so with little time to plan our trip we picked this hotel based on a very reasonable price. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and professional front desk person (Elizabeth) who took the time to tell us about the amenities. There were pastries available and lemon water to drink which made my daughter's day. The room was very clean and decently sized in my oppinion (had the double queen room, plenty of room for porta crib and all our stuff and still didn't feel cramped). The bathroom was also very clean. The drain took just a minute to figure out how to work (was not broke though i could see where someone with little patience would think it were). Of all the things that impressed us though, I have to say each and every member of the staff that we came across was courteous, friendly, and helpful. From the front desk to Abigail who helped us at breakfast, each made us feel right at home and contributed to our stay here. We moved away from Delaware but this will be our new "home base" when we return to visit family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nattylox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for the great review. I showed your comments about your stay with both Liz and Abby and we are delighted that you had an excellent experience with us during a time that you and your family was mourning. Our hearts goes out to your family and hope everything is well. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Where to begin? We booked this trip online for a double queen room, but when we arrived we were told they only had a single queen room left. We are a couple traveling with a 5 year old and 1 year old. Since we didn't want our 5 year old on a pull out sofa, the front desk clerk said she would bring a cot. Since she was the only person working, it took an hour to receive the cot, the mattress was ripped, there was no mattress pad and the clerk left us to set up the bed ourselves. Though we had reserved it in advance, there was no crib in the room when we arrived either. The same clerk went to get the pack and play - as a result, our kids were over an hour later for bed than we anticipated. The queen bed was way too soft, very uncomfortable and clearly old. The bathroom was clean, however, not great - the drain in the tub looked broken, the whole piece of the inside of the drain was sitting in the tub and in general, made me not want to bathe our kids. The room in general looked more worn than other rooms in this hotel when we've stayed in the past. All in all we were quite disappointed; the staff refused to give us a discount even though we didn't get the room we reserved and were full of excuses about why they didn't have enough rooms, none of which mattered to us or did we want to even hear about - the management should have done whatever they need to do to ensure their availability is correctly reflected on the internet. When they discovered they were overbooked, they should have had more than one person working! Our experience was unacceptable and we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollymocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your review and informing us about some of the major issues that occur during your stay. We sincerely appreciate every review negative or positive because this gives us the opportunity to reflect on our performance and strive to do better. Here at the Inn at Wilmington we do our utmost to give every guest a marvelous experience, and it is my greatest regret that you did not experience this during your stay with us. Please contact me at your earliest convenient to discuss the matter further. I look forward to hearing for you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

No more or less than what we expected. Everything is pretty basic. Room was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.. Keurig coffeemaker in the room is a nice touch, as the coffee they make for breakfast is way too weak. Fortunately, the hotel next door has a Starbucks, though it has funky hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Inn at Wilmington, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your review, I genuinely appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I did address the issue about the breakfast coffee with the staff. If you stay with us next time please all of our Seattle Best Starbucks coffee we carry in 6 different flavors. We look forward to seeing you during you next visit to DE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Brandywine Valley Inn
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wilmington

Property: Inn at Wilmington
Address: 300 Rocky Run Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19803
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#2 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort and local charm at the INN at Wilmington. Nestled in the heart of Delaware's Brandywine Valley, our inviting boutique hotel features contemporary styled guestrooms and suites and impressive amenities, including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free Wi-Fi, and business and fitness centers. Enjoy our convenient location near points of interest such as Nemours Estate and Winterthur Museum, major businesses like DuPont and AstraZeneca, and the Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children. Book one of our exclusive vacation packages that pair local attractions with our modern, pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Wilmington Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing