We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in a Best Western the night before in Smithville, NC which was fabulous. This property, which cost about 1/3 more was just a dressed up dive. The staff was pleasant and efficient, but when we got to the room the refrigerator made so much noise it would be impossible to sleep. We were offered another room which appeared OK so we accepted it, but then the fridge started makings gurgling noise, so we just unplugged it. The closet doors were off their tracks, and the overhead light in the closet area was out. There was new carpeting and the bedding was nice. The bath fixtures had been replaced and a new floor put down, but you couldn't hide the bones of the place--a tired motel with paper thin walls, doors that didn't fit, and towel racks about to fall off. In the middle of the night two men moved into the adjourning room and we could hear every word of their conversation. The place was clean but that's the best I can say for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRPNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryT687, Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 302-543-6155.


Sincerely,

Mary J. Taylor
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brandywine Valley Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel room was dirty, the carpet not only needed to be clean it should have been replaced. There was a build up of dirt and cob webs behind the furniture. The bathroom was dirty and there was signs of water damage in the ceiling and on the walls. The sink was clogged and the TV did not work. We changed rooms, the second room was not much better as far a cleanliness goes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank nevetsaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We needed to make a lastinute trip to visit a sick relative and many Wilmington hotels were full. This hotel suited our needs perfectly. Is is reasonably priced and very centrally located. Although it is on a busy road it is set back far enough that you don't hear traffic. The livby is spacious and comfortable. The continental breakfast included eggs, if you get there early enough. The staff members were extremely helpful and friendly and made our stay very pleasant. We liked our room on the ground floor, along the walkeay surrounding the pool. It was quite spacious and had all the basic amenities. There is a 24 hour restaurant/diner next door and a grocery store nearby. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG40514850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryT687, Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear MG40514850,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 302-543-6155.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mary J. Taylor
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brandywine Valley Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel staff was very well versed on directions in an area of difficult to navigate roads. The directions were accurate and very good. We were involved in several trips to several properties in the area. The quality of personal is outstanding. All questions we had about shopping centers, location of shopping centers, hours of operation and the type of stores available were answered. We found the explanation and assistance with area maps to be accurate and most helpful. The breakfast was very good and the atmosphere was perfect for a comfortable dining experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryT687, Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Joan,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 302-543-6155.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mary J. Taylor
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brandywine Valley Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Good location on Concord Pike. Weird lighting control in bathroom: the light on-off seems to be controlled by a timer switch that also controls the exhaust fan. The Wi-Fi connection doesn't work in room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank laketahoeskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryT687, Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Laketahoeskiier,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 302-543-6155.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mary J. Taylor
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brandywine Valley Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Needs maintenance! Stayed twice over seven days in two different rooms, experienced clogged tub, clogged sink, toilet overflow, leaky faucet, noisy fan, noise from next room and from outside.
The staff was great too bad management doesn't take better care of the property.

Room Tip: Can't imagine that there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2walk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed twice in 10 days. Only came back second time because staff was so nice, and I couldn't believe another room would be as bad, it was! We experienced clogged drains, toilet overflow, leaky faucets, rattly fans, noise from next door and from people outside. First time I checked out another couple was complaining that the fan and lights didn't work in their room I should have put it all together then, this is not a well maintained hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank luv2walk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#8 of 13 in Wilmington
406 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley

Address: 1807 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-2901 (Formerly Best Western Brandywine Valley Inn)
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £60 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brandywine Valley Hotel Wilmington
Best Western Wilmington
Wilmington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing