We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller Hotel but good location and extremely nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here for a business trip for one night. The staff was very polite and extremely helpful. I needed to take a cab to my meeting in the morning and all I needed to do was call the front desk and it was waiting for me when I arrived in the lobby.

The rooms are updated and clean and the air conditioning was fantastic - very cold! There is a small bar/cafe in the lobby which was open until 10pm but I did not take advantage of it.

There is no valet parking but there is a garage next to the hotel. The rates at the garage are listed as upwards of $16.00 for the night, but if you stay at the hotel, parking is only $9.50 and you have in and out privileges. There is a warning that the garage had been experiencing problems with some break-ins but I had no issues. Common sense should dictate that you don't leave anything of value in plain sight.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jene74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

The folks at the Courtyard were very nice and welcoming. The rooms were nice although I had a view of a concrete wall. Their on-site Starbucks was convenient as the rest of Wilmington doesn't seem to function on the weekends.

If you're going for work, this is probably a great place to stay. If you're going for a weekend away, skip the entire city. Quizno's closes at 3:00 on Saturday. Rite-Aid closes. Three Dunkin' Donuts were closed. Finding a bar to get a beer was difficult. The courtyard did have a bar that was open after 5:00 PM.

The parking is located adjacent to the hotel but it's a pain to get back to your car as you have to walk back to the driveway entrance in order to get in which is around the corner and halfway up the block. The card reader on the pedestrian door doesn't work. They also have warnings about cars being broken into. I didn't have any problems but the last thing I wanted to do after running a marathon is walk an extra block to get to my car when I could almost see it from where I was standing.

The best thing about the stay was that I don't remember much except for the nice people. No drama, no cleanliness issues. Just a consistently good Marriott stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarathonFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great location for a business traveler. Very convenient from highways, airport and train stations. Complimentary parking, nice size rooms, complimentary wifi, nice bistro on the lobby, very inviting lobby and comfortable. being it is in downtown, after hours can be a little dark and quiet.

Room Tip: Not for vacation travelers or traveling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbk225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This property is located in downtown Wilmington, which means there is no onsite parking. The guests' parking accommodations are at an adjacent parking garage, with the customary and obligatory daily parking fees. Frequent "coming and going" can take some extra time (an extra 5-10 minutes to walk from the hotel to your car, getting your parking ticket validated at the hotel front desk and the extra time spent entering and exiting the parking garage.) The staff is friendly and attentive, but the "little" things were somewhat of a nuisance. (Example: the hotel provides complimentary coffee for the guests each morning from 6 AM to 10 AM, but most days when I went for coffee, the urn was empty. Nobody monitors it.) This Courtyard also has a bistro off the lobby. The food is okay, but the menu is limited. Several times during my 8-night stay, the bistro was not able to sell me what I ordered because they had run out of one or more of the ingredients. This hotel is also nestled in between a parking garage and a high rise office building, so there is no such thing as a room with a view, unless you like looking at bricks and concrete. (Then again, if you are interested in a "view", you don't book a hotel in an inner city, urban neighborhood.) The property is quiet and the business traveler support services (wireless internet, business center, etc.) are all there and in working order, and the front desk staff is attentive and helpful. This hotel is a very good choice for the business traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northdallastx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The price was reasonable (I paid $119). The room was large. The king sized bed was comfortable. The heat worked well. The room was clean although the bathroom was not 100% clean. The view was into a concrete wall. But I don't care. I wasn't there for the view. The hotel has a sort of "Aloft" vibe. That will make sense if you have stayed in an Aloft hotel. It had free coffee and newspapers in the morning, and a small but pretty well equipped gym. The staff were friendly and efficient. Check in and out were very fast. This is not a luxury hotel, but that is not what it pretends to be. For what it is, it is pretty good. The Dupont is, by far, the best hotel in Wilmington. So if you don't care about the price, it is a no-brainer. But if you do care about the price, you can stay at this Courtyard for something like a third of the price of the Dupont.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank onekbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you found our hotel met your needs and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Let me start out by stating that I am a huge fan of the Marriott chain having been a Gold Rewards member for the past 4 years. I stay in hotels, mostly Marriots or Hiltons almost every week for business and often for pleasure so I consider myself qualified to write an honest review. Here is the deal: this place is a major failure. Why? In my mind a hotel, especially while travelling on business, should cover some basic things without error. These things include adequate comfort, noise and food levels. Wilmington,DE is a notoriously poor hotel area.Most hotel owners here know that business travelers will come whether the hotel is new or not since there are so many financial / credit card companies in Downtown Wilmington so upgrades are often not done to an already old infrastructure. I stayed at the Downtown Courtyard for 4 nights. The noise was quite terrible from basic door closing and elevator operation. The hallways are very old, narrow and short thus there is no room to dampen the noise. Temperature control was impossible with the room being either too hot or too cold and a noisy temperature unit waking me up all night. This bed cover, not a duvet, was a cheap flimsy blanket that I would expect to find a Motel 6, but not at a Courtyard. The food in the nicely decorated and updated lobby (but that's it) was absolutely awful. Old, stale, cheap junk that left me with a very bad experience. The room decor was stale and overall I felt like I was living in an old shoe, just not a good experience. I have stayed at numerous Courtyards and know what to expect from new, updated and older Courtyards. I highly advise against this place until the management updates its facilities. On a positive note the staff were very professional and lived up to the Marriott standard.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AM-NYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I stayed in a Nonsmoking Kingbed room which was very clean and the bed was very firm, comfortable and had extra pillows as requested. Unfortunately, this is another one of those hotels that has windows that do not open and the airconditioning/heating system shuts down after midnight. We were unable to sleep due to hot, stuffy, airless room. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Getoutofthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HOTEL DU PONT
HOTEL DU PONT
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
188 reviews
4.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Downtown

Address: 1102 West Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £80 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Wilmington Downtown Hotel is the perfect choice when traveling to Wilmington, DE or the Brandywine Valley. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby, providing greater flexibility and choices for guests. The Courtyard Wilmington Hotel lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our downtown Wilmington, Delaware hotel is located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, within the city's Financial and Legal District, minutes from dining, shopping and entertainment attractions of the Market Street Mall and the exciting Riverfront area of Wilmington. Visit top attractions such as Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum and Frawley Stadium when you stay at our Wilmington, DE hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Marriott
Wilmington Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing