We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing hotel! (4/25/14)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“What an amazing hotel! (4/25/14)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Not sure where to begin,,,,,Chose this location for my wedding ceremony and reception and it was one the best choices that was every made (besides marrying my husband)!

My initial encounter was with Renee the catering sales manager who was very easy to work with and extremely prompt about returning any type of correspondence. Next, the executive chef (Jeff) was overwhelmingly amazing in being able to accommodate and execute my CUSTOM menu. Not only the food amazingly good, its presentation was aesthetically beautiful and of course of 5-star restaurant quality. He was even able to free-style some meals when my reception guest became "greedy" an ate more than was agreeably available for my reception. The best part of this was no one every noticed and it was as if we never skipped a beat. That is the epitome of pleasing the customer (me, the bride) during a potentially stressful time.

The hotel was extremely busy the week,leading into the weekend of my wedding event. The guest relations (mainly the general manager), made a place available so I could set-up as much as possible in advance without disturbing any of the other events occurring. This meant the world to me and truly shows how thoughtful the person "in charge" of this hotel is and how he overtly represents himself as an example of what the DoubleTree (Concord Pike) stands for and what type of customer service he wants his employees to mimic. The hotel room accommodations were amazing! This is coming from someone who does not live far from the hotel and could have easily gone home to the comfort of my own bed. The bed in my junior suite was so comfortable, I almost did not want to get out of it the next day (and we were leaving for Jamaica!....which speaks volumes). I would go back to this hotel, just to sleep comfortably in the bed again.

The housemen (Andre and Tahir) were both very helpful in preparing the ballrooms needed for the event. They also helped retrieve and carry anything we needed for set-up and break down.

All the servers (Bea, Patricia, Rich, Shannon, and Tiffany) and the two bartenders (Pat and Rob) were phenomenal in tending to me and my guest needs. The banquet captain (Rob) was also resourceful and made what I envisioned for my guest's tables come to fruition. Both banquet managers (Jillian and Jimmie) were highly efficient and extremely nice and helpful. They made sure my event ran smoothly to where the night and my overall wedding/reception was unbelievable!

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for everything from a quick getaway, to a business spot, to a party/wedding, or even just as a place to grab a bite or dine at. The food is amazing, the rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable, and the overall service is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Sheria-
Thank you so much for your review of our staff and your event. We will make sure that all of the people mentioned in the review get recognized for their outstanding work. It was our pleasure to work with you and your husband. Please come back and see us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    157
    85
    36
    14
See reviews for
166
96
29
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel had multiple weddings and prom the weekend we stayed. Staff exceptionally professional and helpful. Quiet level signed by all people staying. Hotel very quiet. Highly recommend hotel. I stay multiple times a year and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LeisureTraveler102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We hope you come back soon!

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel was very convenient and easy to access. The staff was very accommodating, the room was spacious and well appointed and the lounge was warm and comfortable for a leisurely cocktail after a long day of travel and work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Kevin,
Thank you very much for the kind words. We hope to see you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel located in a very nice part of Wilmington. My wife and I have a great getaway and enjoyed the hotel, location, shops and all the meal choices! Great place to stay if you are in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Randy,
I am so glad that we were able to make the trip memorable or you and your wife. Come again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great friendly staff, very helpful, always smiling. I came in from driving over 9 hours and was VERY tired. I made a simple comment about how I was tired and it has been a long day. Instead of the staff just ignoring me, they engaged me and made me feel welcomed and told me that staying here was the best idea I had. And it was! Room was quiet, comfortable and I slept like a baby. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Joe,
We always love hearing when our staff goes above and beyond with our guests. We hope that you come back and visit us the next time you are in Wilmington

Yours in Hospitality,

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and was extremely pleased with the service - the front desk, housekeeping, and breakfast staff were all super friendly and accommodating.

However, two down sides: location and facilities.

I understand the hotel is soon to have a revamp - it needs it! The rooms are perfectly average, but they are small (even upgraded rooms), the televisions aren't super modern, the a/c unit blows more air in to the curtains than the room, and the walls have water spots on them. I also hope that with the refurbishment comes a staff elevator - the lifts took forever, especially as staff would use the same ones as guests.

The location is also a bit bland - just off a major road in a sea of parking lots (as another reviewer said - apt description!). If you have a car that's probably fine, but otherwise it's not a pedestrian friendly area, so other than the little mall next door there aren't a lot of options.

The staff made my staff great, but for future visits to Delaware I think I will pay a few dollars more to be in the waterfront area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anchmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your honest opinion of the hotel and will be addressing many of the items you mentioned in our upcoming reinvention of the hotel. Follow us on Facebook and you can see where we are in the process!

We look forward to your return!

Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington PA, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel needs a face lift as soon as possoble. beds,carpet, chairs. beds very uncomfoftable chairs in the room have stains carpet old and durty hall smells. I talk with the manager about every thing I even said to her I will come back if you ever do a face lift. she said to me we are doing a face lift soon but if you dont like the hotel there are plenty of hotels close by you can go to one of them why she tryed to get me to go to another hotel I dont know. all I can say you have lots of work to do at that hotel if not you need to take Hilton off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapman1118, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Ella,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback on your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property and service as new perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements on an ongoing basis. We regret you were disappointed in this visit and hope you will give us another chance to impress should you return to our area in the future. The reinvention that our manager mentioned begins in July 2014 and will be completed by November.

Thank you,
Eric Chapman
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#4 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Address: 4727 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington is centrally located near the Concord Mall and Interstate 95 in Brandywine Valley. Complimentary shuttle service is available to shops and restaurants within 3 miles of the property. Philadelphia International Airport is less than 17 miles away. Other features include complimentary WiFi, onsite dining, indoor heated pool, fitness center and our signature warm, delicious chocolate chip cookies. Event and meeting space for up to 300 guests can be accommodated at DoubleTree Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing