We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I have mixed emotions about this place. Front desk staff was very helpful as was bellman. Was disappointed at the decor of the rooms and the public spaces. Whoever was the interior desecrater needs to go back to school. The use of dark wall covering plus dark carpeting and terrible lighting gave a depressing impression in what otherwise should have been an uplifting experience. Then, the room carpeting was a huge turnoff. The dark grey color on some bizarre pattern looked old and very dirty. May have been clean but it looked otherwise. The room furniture looked worn. Breakfast was OK, the saving grace was the wait staff, very friendly and helpful. The bar closed too early, we had about 50 people with us who were drinking and spending $$. But last call came too early. Missed opportunity to make some extra bucks. This hotel could be so much better with a little TLC

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolarisGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I can tell you that November/December of 2012, all the guest rooms and guest hallways received new carpet, wallpaper, drapes and lights. The guest rooms also received new chairs and couches. In 2013, the hotel will be start replacing all of the case goods and in 2013/2014 the bathrooms will be renovated. However, the hotel must follow Sheraton Standards during renovations and the current Sheraton Standards are “earth tones” hence all of the brown.
In regards to the bar and it closing early, it is Delaware state law that all bars MUST close by 1am. Last call is to be made no later than 1245am with no drinks being served after this time. We do appreciate your business and truly wish that we could have stayed open later but the hotel does risk losing its liquor license if caught not following this state mandate. Thank you again
Warm Regards,
Eric Jolikko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

My Fiancee and I stayed here after the The Peoples Reggae Festival in July, the Festival was nice by the way, and the stay was great. We were so tired and ready to get off of our feet, we were so happy that It was only about 5 miutes from the Festival and it was in a great location. This was not our first time staying at a Shearton Hotel, we stayed at one in Florida a few years back, so we were anticipating the stay. We had two queen size beds, the beds were so comfortable that we slept in seperate beds, that was a first. To sum it all up, Sheraton Suites is one of our favorite places to stay, in any city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarmoniBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for the nice feedback regarding your stay. The Reggae Fest is a great and fun time in the city. I glad to read that you and your fiancée enjoyed. The staff and also that when you come back next year that you stay again with your Wilmington DE family.
Thank you and have a great weekend!
Eric Jolikko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at this Sheraton for my wedding for 5 days and it was a wonderful time. The rooms are all suites! My guest who stayed here kept calling me and telling me how great the rooms were especially with how inexpensive the rooms were. The food was great for every meal (breakfast, lunch, and dinner). They have parking, and the staff were very helpful and kind! If I was in downtown Wilmington, DE I would stay here in a heart beat... You will be very happy you choose the Sheraton Suites in Wilmington, DE.

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites, so you can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_H931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. The staff and I were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We can only hope that the wedding that you attended was just as good if not better. Thank you again and if you are in the Wilmington area again, please stay with us!!
Warm Regards,
Eric Jolikko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Traveling to DE on business, I've stayed at this property for about ten years now. It started out on the shabby side but through years of renovations and care, it's in a good spot now. Rooms are clean and area all suites, so it's nice to have the sitting area with kitchenette and separate sleeping area. Beds are so comfy and all duvets - so no gross comforters. You can always ask for a freshly washed duvet too if you are concerned about such things but they've always been spotless. Restaurant is limited after a while, no new specials very often. But the staff is great, particularly bar staff. They really do "remember your name" with all the frequent business travelers, and make you comfortable away from home. Manager's reception with free beer and apps on Tuesday nights is a plus if you want to hang out in the lobby, check email, meet fellow travelers. Not much to do in Wilmington so it's nice to have a comfortable home base.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheelblue822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for you remarks. Please know that while the staff and I truly appreciate every guest, it is great to see the "regulars". The hotel has a new F&B team and in the last 1-2 months the new team has really put an effort out to make daily/weekly specials. However if there is an item that you would really like to see, please let myself or the F&B team know and we will do our best to make it for you.
Thank you for your continued loyalty
Eric Jolikko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I travel to Delaware once every 6 to 8 weeks and spend a lot of time running up and down I95 between Newark and Wilmington. For my last trip I decided to stay in town rather than near Newark. This Sheraton is much less noisy than the one near I95. There's was little noise coming from the other guest rooms and no traffic sounds from the streets below. I'm a very light sleeper and this type of thing is very important to me. The room was nicely decorated(identically to the rooms at the Newark location), comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable, with a good mattress and nice linens. As a security measure, you have to use your room key in the elevator. It was a little weird at first, but you get used to it. There is a parking garage under the building, which is convenient - but you won't get a big car or SUV in there. The clearance is 6 feet and the spaces are VERY close (oh, and you'll pay a daily rate for the pleasure). I didn't try the restaurant, but I did have access to the club floor for breakfast. It wasn't much to speak of, but better than nothing.

All in all, a good hotel. I will probably go back to staying in Newark for the convenience and free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XaviaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I glad to read that you felt that the hotel was good, however we want to be great. With that said I will be addressing the Club Lounge breakfast with the F&B team. In addition, while I can't change the size of the parking spots or the height of the garage, please know that there are rates that include parking, if you cannot find them PLEASE do not hesitate to call me and I will ensure that you are well taken care of in the future.
Thank you again
Sincerely
Eric Jolikko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 days. Not a lot of services. The bar closes early. The breakfast buffet was good but not included in the room fees.

The rooms are big and spacious, clean and adequate. Parking is expensive, which I don't understand as there is not much going on downtown Wilmington.

Quiet, clean, rates are good. Computers available downstairs in lobby but printer was broke.

average!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your response. The team and I appreciate your comments and strive to meet/exceed all guests expectations during their visit with the hotel. I do apologize that we did not meet them during your stay as you scored the hotel a 3 out of 5. I truly hope that the next time you are in the Wilmington area that you give us another try and we can provide "10" type of service. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. 302.576.8000
Warm Regards,
Eric Jolikko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a spur of the moment overnight stay in Wilmington this past weekend and found the room to be very large and comfortable. The restaurant food was better than we expected (the salad Nicouse was delicious). My only complaint would be the tight spaces in the parking garage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethela58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you felt that room was comfortable and very please to read that the food was better than expected. I will definitely pass the compliment on to the Chef.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area
Warm Regards,
Eric Jolikko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown
0.2 mi away
HOTEL DU PONT
HOTEL DU PONT
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
1.3 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#6 of 13 in Wilmington
253 reviews
5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Address: 422 Delaware Ave, Wilmington, DE 19801-1508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £81 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Wilmington is in Brandywine Valley by Rodney Square, Grand Opera House, museums, and many corporate headquarters. Our all-suites hotel has 7 meeting rooms which hold up to 300 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Wilmington
Wilmington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing