We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Wilmington/newark
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Had a wonderful time at this hotel the staff was friendly and helpful. The Continental Breakfast was delicious had a wide variety of things to eat. Fresh everyday. The breakfast server Abigail Vega was kind, friendly, attentive, always made sure there was food available to the public. I would definetely recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor facing the highway and really never heard any traffic. They had o...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this survey. We appreciate your time and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Wilmington/newark
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel was close to where we needed to be and was relatively cheap. They did not let us check in earlier than 2 pm, so it was hard for us when we got there a little after noon after travelling all morning. After waiting in line to check in, we were very tired and hot. We carried our bags to the second floor, and the two key cards they gave us did not work. I had to walk all the way back to get them scanned and programmed. The internet and cable did not work for awhile, and the front desk acknowledged it. (yep, it is out !) Not very clean, but what did we expect ?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

I apologize you stay with us was mediocre, we strive to be better than that. Our check in time is 2pm and sometimes we can accommodate and earlier check in if we have availability, but it does not look like we did in your case. If informed of early check ins ahead of time it is possible for us to make arrangements for our guest, but if sold out the night before it can be difficult. We are in the process of upgrading our property so hopefully you will give us another chance in the future to be more than mediocre but wow you. Thank you for your response. We appreciate you time and effort in making it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

the rooms were clean, although they really could use some sprucing up. The staff was very good, but there really was not enough people there to handle to volume of customers. breakfast was just what you'd expect- the standard fare of scrambled eggs, breads, etc. Got a great price price online, so we got what we paid for!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your review. The staff, upper management and I would like to let you know that changings are coming soon to our property. A full property room upgrade will be on the way soon. We hope to see you after our changes. We will update amenities and update pictures on the internet.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Judging from the price of the hotel, I wasn't expecting it to be a Ritz Carlton but I was still disappointed. Our biggest issue was the customer service or severe lack off from this place. I made a reservation with the hotel and asked about early-check in for our arrival date. I was told by phone it was absolutely no problem and that it would be added to my reservation.

We arrived the day of our concert from two hours away in NJ only to be told that no note was ever made on our reservation and early check-in was impossible. The clerk, Kristina, made absolutely no effort to try to help us. We explained our concert was 45 minutes away and we just needed the key for when we returned at 11pm that night. She told us we had to wait until 2 pm just to get our key! We even offered to pay an additional fee and she continued to tell us there was nothing she could do because no one had checked out. We left, drove around the parking lot, and asked people if they were checking out. Several confirmed they were leaving so we returned and asked if we could just have their room, since they were leaving. She then LIED to us and said no one had checked out yet. So we spent 4 hours in the Concord Mall and missed the first half our day.

I know it was not "impossible" for her to help us, just an inconvenience. But when you're a clerk its your job to deal with inconveniences and at least try to help your guests when there was a misunderstanding. She didn't even apologize! She didn't care at all that we were missing our concert because of something HER hotel screwed up. It was very annoying, frustrating and put a damper on our fun weekend.

Kristina wasn't the only lazy person at this hotel. The cleaning crew obviously doesn't work too hard either. We were told we had to wait until 2 pm so they could "clean" the rooms. I certainly wouldn't call the room we stayed in clean. It was so dirty we didn't even tip. There were black hairs in the sink and blood stains on one of our sheets. We will NEVER stay here again and I advise anyone against it.

One upside, the people who served breakfast were very nice. So maybe it was just Kristina who was rude, inconsiderate and incredibly lazy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

I apologize for the inconvenience you suffered while with us. My staff usualy goes above and beyond to try to meet all guest needs. I can only assume that this had to be a sold out weekend not knowing the specifics as we have had many so far this year. On such weekends early check ins are sometimes difficult to accommodate as even though guest check out, rooms do not become readily available immediately due to the housekeeping cleaning schedule. When you originally inquired about an early check in the front desk associate should have informed you that it is an option if we have the availibility not a guarantee. I am sorry for the confusion and the problems it caused. My staff and I sincerely apologize for causing your weekend to be less than you anticipated, as we always strive to surpass our guest expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Berlin, Maryland, USA
1
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Upgraded to business class...very clean and comfortable...suprisingly quiet for easy in and out location...air conditioner a little noisy, as most motels are...great blackout curtains...would highly reccomend to others...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnwilm, General Manager at Days Inn Wilmington/newark, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Everything was very good, staff, clean room, value, continental breakfast was very good and interesting because there is a girl who makes waffles. Near commercial zones, so you can make a little shopping.

The price was also very reasonable, my wife and I recommend this hotel. The only thing, is the decoration should be updated a bit and some carpets have to be replaced, but that's it, maybe it was done since we were there.

4/5 for this hotel !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belettte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for you response. We appreciate you took the time to saty with us and review us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here overnight while visiting family combined with sightseeing in Philadelphia. This hotel was easy to get to and 1/2 the price of near by higher tiered hotels. I was worried after reading some of the other reviews. It is not fair to compare this hotel to higher priced places. As a budget hotel, it was fine: clean and comfortable, including the bathroom. Located next to road, so a little noisy in the morning. Wall unit for AC (and heat) also noisy, but this is typical in this level of hotel. Breakfast buffet serving area was crowded...I think this was unnecessary. They could have spread it out a little more. But I would stay here again if I stayed in this area. Nothing to complain about, especially for this price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldsmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#7 of 13 in Wilmington
391 reviews
2.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Brandywine Valley Inn
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Brandywine
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Wilmington/newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Wilmington/newark

Address: 5209 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-1416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £54 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Wilmington/newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Wilmington/newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing