We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We return”

Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a Du Pont family country retreat, this estate's spectacular gardens surround a 175-room mansion housing the world's finest collection of American decorative arts from 1640-1860.
Gmabrills
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We return”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

It is nice to take the time to return to this fabulous estate! Weather was cooperative and we did the Estate Tour that operates every Wed. weather permitting.So fun to drive up into the "hills"and around the gardens that you normally do not get to see.It was truly amazing how this family established and lived their lives yet so generous to their workers. The Downton Abby exhibit wonderful and so was the Embroidery Needle Exhibit ! Highly recommend becoming members if you think of getting here several times a year!!!! SOOOO much to do and see!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Winterthur. Thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    151
    46
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deale, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Trip from Northern Virginia”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The two and a half hour ride from Arlington was a small price to pay for the lovely day we spent at Winterthur! The estate was easy to find, parking convenient and the visitor center welcoming. We started with a lovely tram tour of the gardens, complete with history and information. We then went on a noon house tour. Beautiful estate and furnishings explained by a knowledgeable guide. We ate lunch in the cafeteria at the house, spent some time at the reflection pond, and finished with a timed visit to the Downton Abbey Costume exhibit. The exhibit is a must see for Downton Abbey fans, and any costume historian! Great commentary on the types of clothing wore for various functions at the time of Downton Abby, compared with the American counterpart! FInished our trip with a dinner at the acclaimed Back Burner restaurant in Hockessin, DE although any of the top restaurants in the area would work. Eating in the area eliminates the tangle with rush hour traffic in Baltimore and DC. Home by nine! Trip a success! We plan to go back in the spring to see the gardens in full bloom!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Joby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit. We are so pleased you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, even in April!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I traveled through Delaware on our 26th anniversary trip. We decided to stop at the Winterthur Gardens and Library not knowing how the gardens would be in April. We were very pleased that it was so nice and that there were so many flowers in bloom. The tour of the house was just amazing and the guides were very pleasant. My secret reason for going was that the costumes from Downton Abby were there. I figured my husband would have to suffer through it. Actually the historical explanations were extremely interesting and we spent quite a lot of time exploring and enjoying the costumes. We would recommend it to any history buffs!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VVMomNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit to Winterthur. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long anticipated - a bit disappointing”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

After hearing so much about this museum for years, I was really looking forward to being in the area and getting in a visit. It started out great, with a tram tour of the estate gardens, with a great and funny driver/guide. But when we got to the mansion, it was shrouded in scaffolding for a major window restoration project. Not much of the exterior was visible. Inside, we took a tour of one of the floors (the fifth, perhaps) where we saw extensive displays of beautiful painted china and period furnished rooms. The period collected by DuPont was from 1640 - 1840, and I guess my lady and I are just not into that period. For me, the highlight was the circular stair rising three stories. If you are into this period of antiques, this is a great place. Just wait for the window project to be completed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank architect_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your trip to Winterthur. We apologize that the window restoration project obstructed your view of the house. The project will restore the face of Winterthur closer to the 1930s vision of the home and provide a better visitor experience inside and out. Hopefully you can come back and visit when the project is completed. Thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

So enjoyed this visit! From the guest service to the beautiful grounds- it was great. The tram introduction was very informative. The docents were incredible and very sincere when answering question. I would do this all over again soon if we lived close by.

A true historical and botanical treasure!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Marketing Department at Winterthur Museum at Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Winterthur and hope you can visit again if you come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library also viewed

 

Been to Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing