We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Flair..”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at this quaint European style hotel for a week and it was calming, lovely, immaculate, on the beach and accessible to everything. You can walk across the street to Bal Harbor Shops for great dining and "expensive" shopping or you can rent a car be anywhere fairly quickly. Easy access to and from airport. Be sure to visit the South Beach area for a treat...fabulous restaurants, people watching from the Clevelander is fun...This is our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: As for room location, try to get a room facing the beach...it is lovely. You will feel special. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbi1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear Barbi1526,
We appreciate the fact you keep returning to our hotel and giving us your feedback as well. It's paramount for us to know our guests are being treated well and you have confirmed this.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and thank you again for staying at The Sea View Hotel.
Regards,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I've reviewed this hotel on a couple of occasions...and now, we...my wife and I...were back again. I suppose that returning again and again as we do is a good review in and of itself. It remains a quiet, unpretentious place that we find nice and comfortable. Our room was spacious and both the room and the bathroom were immaculate. I like the bar, where the bartender was always very friendly. On nice days you can sit at the outside bar but inside in the evenings is also very pleasant. All in all, I still recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice....though not glitzy...hotel that has a fine pool and beach. The only one thing that irked me was the hair-dryer that is mounted on the wall above the commode. The hand-held unit wouldn't sit in the wall-mount well at all and I notified the desk about it in person. I know that someone did give it some attention while we were out, but didn't correct this at all because it kept falling out of its place during our stay and, on one occasion, it nearly fell right into the commode. Now, this isn't a big thing, but I feel that it should have been repaired properly or we should have been told why it wasn't. I hope I'm not being petty but this alone prevents me from concluding that the Sea View is an "Excellent" hotel. I guess we don't necessarily need an excellent hotel when visiting South Florida to see relatives. If it were one of our genuine vacations, I'd be more disappointed in this omission. C'mon owners...pay some more attention to the details!! because you do have a nice place, there!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avrumeleh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear avrumeleh,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at The Sea View Hotel and continually do so as you keep returning. We are most appreciative of this. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip and have addressed your concerns with informing management to correct this issue. Hopefully, when you return, this will not be an issue any longer. It's nice to know we are at the top of your list when it comes to the hotel of your choice.
Many thanks from the management team, as well as, all our staff.
Regards,
Rene Lopez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband & I stayed here for the convenience, however, now we simply love this grand hotel!! The restaurant, the bar, the service...hands down best on the beach!! We have stayed in September and November, looking to return in March.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank GuestservicesGenetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear Kathy T,
Thank you much for that feedback as it's most appreciated!
We look forward to your return and hope we exceed your expectations.
Happy traveling.

Regards,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed at the Sea View Hotel for the first time in January 2014 for three nights. Have usually stayed in chain hotels in South Florida, but decided to give this independent hotel a try based on a recommendation. The Sea View Hotel was recently refurbished and could best be characterized as "old meets new." Was glad to see owners kept the best of the old while incorporating the best of the new. Location is ideal - close enough to South Beach, but far enough away to avoid the congestion and craziness. The beach is first rate and there are superb restaurants and shopping opportunities nearby. The location offers easy access to freeways and points north and south. I found the staff very helpful and courteous. It's not the St. Regis next door, but it's not trying to be, nor does it offer the St. Regis price tag. My experience at the Sea View Hotel does not mirror several of the earlier negative reivews on this site. Any question or concern I had was promptly and effectively addressed by the staff.

Room Tip: Hotel is located on the beach and offers unobstructed ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARLAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear ARLAJ,
We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us during your stop over in Bal Harbour, Miami. Comments like yours confirms we are heading in the right direction at making our hotel the best it can be. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit.
All the best,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a superb location (we were there on Christmnas Eve and Bal Harbour is beatiful to behold). It has everything you would expect from a top class hotel in this location. Its just, well, tired. You can't name a single thing that should be there but isn't; its just worn out, needs a refurbish and a shot of Red Bull. No doubt about good value but if you are going to be in the area and can afford a bit more then it will be money well spent.

Room Tip: They have a huge parking lot 3 mnutes from the front door. You don't need to pay for valet! Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank perryburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear perryburns,
We appreciate you staying with us at The Sea View Hotel and the comments you provided us as well. We take them seriously and have under gone a renovation in several phases. The new air conditioning system is being installed now then onto the next phase. We think you will be pleasantly surprised when you return. We always want to strive to be number one and that happens from guests, such as yourself, informing us what you would like to see changed.
The location is superb with the Bal Harbour Shops across the street accompanied by fine restaurants.
We hope to see you again real soon and as always appreciate your patronage.
Best,
Rene Lopez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My family had an apartment next door and I have had several opportunities to stay at the Seaview and St Regis 1 building south. This hotel has a nice 1950-1960's charm to it with modern in room fixtures. Staff and service are top notch. Book well in advance for the best rate. On many occasions I had a high floor ocean front room with breakfast for $150-$180 night. Much cheaper than the ultra modern St Regis.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank PipeDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear PipeDoctor,
We are please to hear you have a wonderful stay with us at The Sea View Hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again real soon and thank you for your patronage.
Regards,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I came to Bal Harbour for a conference at the St. Regis next door--and as a cost-saving measure, stayed at the Sea View. That was a big mistake. Especially compared to the St. Regis, the service was horrible--the concierge was outright rude to me. The breakfast was greasy and unsatisfying. You have to pay $12 to use the gym. The pool looked uninviting. Overall, the vibe was depressing and lonely. The only plus is the beach, but again you have to pay to use the beach chairs. The inside and outside desperately need updating. If you can afford it, I highly recommend staying at one of the many other beach side hotels in the area. Also note, there are few affordable eating options if you do not have a rental car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Andrea S,
Thank you for your comments and we apologize your needs were not met while staying at the Sea View Hotel during your business trip to Miami. The Sea View Hotel is reviewing many of its policies and we are hopeful to implement many changes going forward. Should you have to return to Miami, we would hope you will give us another try and see how we have changed. Good things are happening here and I am sure you would be impressed. Your concerns are taken seriously and shared with not only the GM but also the management team to assure we are all on the same page in reorienting our staff. We hope you will give us another try at meeting your expectations.
All the best
Rene Lopez
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.6 mi away
Bal Harbour Quarzo
Bal Harbour Quarzo
#4 of 5 in Bal Harbour
310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.3 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: 9909 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range: £152 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is a deluxe European style, full service beachfront Hotel best known for its exceptional personalized service. The Hotel features spacious designers appointed newly renovated Guest rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Biscayne Bay. An intimate private oasis of luxury with an awe inspiring landscape and breathtaking sunrise provides a personalized ambiance to our Guests whether sunning, swimming or jogging down the shoreline or beach jogging path at any time of the day.Located directly across from the World renowned Bal Harbour Shops. Equidistant(18 miles/30 minutes), from the Miami International Airport and the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Within walking distance of fine shopping and dining, just minutes from South Beach, Aventura Mall, South Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, Haulover beach and the Art Deco District, Downtown Miami and four superb PGA Championship golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bal Harbour
Hotel Sea View
Sea View Hotel Bal Harbour, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing