We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organising a visit”
Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Glenesk
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Organising a visit”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

It is April 2014 and I wanted to perhaps take the family. The Glenesk Retreat website has not been updated since 2013 September. Opening hours are therefore not available for this season etc. There are no examples of menus for lunch to check suitability for all tastes or an up to date of events/things to do. It's a long way to travel....so in this instance wil NOT be visiting!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Certainly not a dead end”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

To get to the Retreat, you need to turn off the road between Edzell and Fettercairn, and then drive about nine miles up a narrow road along Glenesk towards Glenmark. The road comes to a dead end there, but it's well worth making the effort. I discovered it twenty years ago long before the recent extension, when the tea room was at the south end of the building. Now it has a modern extension at the opposite end. Most of my visits are for a cup of tea, and they have a nice selection of cakes and traybakes, but I have also had meals there, including macaroni, steak pie, sausage bacon & egg, and also some nice fruit crumbles. There are several walking routes from further up the glen, either along Loch Lee, or up Glen Mark and on as far as the Munro Mount Keen. It's a lovely walk on a good path, which shouldn't take a fit person more than two hours to the top, so it can easily fit with a visit to the Retreat for refreshment afterwards. They have a little gift shop with some nice souvenirs. I have a tray with a painted map of Glenesk on it, which my keyboard is sitting on as I type. When the weather is fine it is a lovely spot to sit outside too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice food - even suitable for vegans!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have visited The Retreat twice in the last year, both times while we were out cycling up Glenesk.

We are both vegan so it can sometimes be quite tricky to find a place that caters for vegans. However, even though The Retreat is really in the middle of nowhere, they were able to offer us a delicious cruelty free alternative to meat:
The first time we went we both ordered the vegetarian burger - which is vegan if you order it without the cheese and coleslaw.
The second time The Retreat had a vegan nut loaf on their menu, served with chips and a side salad.

Staff have been really kind and happily enquired about vegan alternatives for us.

We shall be back again this year - hopefully to find the same excellent service and vegan food choices again.

Thanks very much.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skito_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Spoilt rotten by the staff on a rainy day”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We came to the Retreat to see their small but impressive museum, prior to hiking further up Glenesk. Unfortunately, the weather threw a spanner in he works and we found ourselves marooned, while waiting for the weather to change.
The staff were really nice, we had a wonderful breakfast with tea and scones(the toffee scones are much to be recommended) and on top of it free Wi-Fi and lots of advice where else to go and which routes to take for the afternoon hike.
A definite must return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank AngharadWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Staff at The Retreat were very welcoming. We were doing a demonstration of scottish country dancing and they were very accommadating. In fact some of the staff participated! Our refreshments afterwards were served with great enthusiasm and were gratefully received! Full marks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Retreat also viewed

 

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing