We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a magical place, the most amazing service, Deer on your doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Big Pine Key B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In getting ready for what was to be a very busy few weeks, we were looking for a relaxed quite stay to unwind before the craziness began, and this could not have been more perfect. Our room was spotless and cozy with an amazing view. I called the day before hoping a special something could be done for my girlfriends birthday, and I was not let down. Waiting on the bed was the most delicious cake and it was Vegan as well. With the perfect accompaniment of a bottle of white wine. It was so fantastic, we had many great chats with Harry. The breakfasts were AMAZING. Jen is just such a talented chef and baker. What do Vegans eat? Well let me tell you, what Jen put out for us would rival any gourmet offering at any 5 star resort. Having the deers roaming so close and the quite tranquil environment made this the perfect relaxation stop in a beautiful, quaint and friendly setting. Finding like minded souls in this crazy journey we are on is such a welcome treat. Adding that to a most enjoyable stay could not be better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We originally booked this bed & breakfast for its outstanding oceanfront location right outside our bedroom suite. What we received was so much more. The endangered Key Deer roam freely on the beach right next to your lounge chair. Innkeepers Harry Appel and Jen DeMaria provide a tropical oasis in the best of the Florida Keys. Jen's organic breakfast will leave even the most die hard carnivore feeling full and happy. She is an outstanding vegan cook. Our beachfront accommodations were first rate. Well done Harry and Jen!

Room Tip: All 4 choices in this B & B are lovely. It just depends on your preference of water or garden vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is just the most peaceful relaxing place. There was lots to do but we didn't do much apart from sit in the shade and gaze at the sea and the wildlife and the stars. We had the Atlantis room which was right on the beach. We are not vegan or vegetarian, and enjoyed the delightful and filling breakfasts each morning overlooking the ocean. Harry and Jen are very welcoming. Lots of great restaurant choices within a short drive. We wish we had stayed longer.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lambo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Jen and Harry operate Deer Run B&B in keeping with their convictions to care for the earth and all its inhabitants. With recycled materials everywhere, low-water toilets and landscaping, and a completely vegan kitchen, Jen and Harry offer a little bit of guilt-free paradise for a peaceful getaway. Harry greets guests and cheerfully provides entertaining stories and useful info. Jen, while less visible to guests, works MAGIC in the kitchen with bountiful, vegan breakfasts at 8:30 daily. The meals are healthful, nutritious and delicious. She even made wonderful gluten-free muffins, cupcakes, cookies, waffles and pancakes for me! Passes to the nearby Bahia Honda State Park are available to guests at no charge on a first-come, first-served basis. If you intend to snorkel there, use masks/fins/snorkels from Deer Run, rather than paying to rent them at the park.

This was our second visit to Jen & Harry's slice of heaven. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Of the 4 rooms, "Heaven" is the most special and romantic. Upper level, corner room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you want quiet and comfortable surroundings this is the place to go. We have been guests at Deer Run twice; Jen and Harry provide all their guests a bit of paradise. A delicious vegan breakfast is served promptly at 8:30 am. You will be full till dinner time, so save the muffin starter for a snack later in the day. Deer Run is totally eco-friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mantamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My choice was between paying a lot for a standard hotel in Key West or still a bit more for Deer Run B&B which seems like paradise. And it really is paradise! Upon arrival, two delicious cupcakes were waiting for me in the Eden room (although I was only one), the sea was perfectly flat, the sun was setting, a shark was passing by, as were ibises and a frigatebird. And then of course the key deer were passing by. Breakfast is a treat, even for non vegans and non vegetarians like me. And the room is great as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MD76_ASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

This B&B was so great that we actually extended our stay there. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was delicious. (Travel tip: save the muffin/scone for late morning snack.) The breakfast is so big we normally skip lunch. This B&B is for someone who is vegan or environmentally conscious. Being upset that it's vegan would be like going to see a romantic comedy and being upset there is kissing.

If you can afford one of the rooms facing the water, take it, it's beautiful and worth the extra money. Harry and Jen were great at suggesting things to do, places to eat, and helping us arrange activities. Their recommendations never dissapointed. We really liked having breakfast with the other guests, talking about what we're doing. We even got another couple to split the cost of a dolphin/snorkeling tour with us. It's really nice to feel like you're making friends with the owners and other guests. Playing with their bird was fun and it was a joy to see so many deer up close. Go on a ''night hermit crab tour'' by bringing a flash light to the bird cage. If we come back to the keys, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ilana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
16.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
22.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
16.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Big Pine Key
205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
916 reviews
13.3 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Run Bed & Breakfast

Address: Long Beach Drive, Lower Keys, Big Pine Key, FL 33043
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Big Pine Key
Price Range: £170 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Run Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Caribbean-style eco-friendly home is a State of Florida Certified green lodge. Nestled in lush native trees on the island of Big Pine, down a private, dead-end street. We’re 2 miles off the highway, directly on the Atlantic Ocean…You won’t find us unless you're looking. Come relax at our amazing oceanfront B&B, feast on our organic breakfasts, and let your worries melt away. All our amenities are included: bikes, kayaks, park pass, aquabike, snorkle equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Deer Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Run Hotel Big Pine Key
Deer Run Bed And Breakfast
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing