We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp Mexico!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Drove all the way down to the keys for this?? Unbelievable and total misrepresentation of what the park really is. Pulled in with our 42 ft 5'r and was greeted by front desk stating our deluxe site reserved 6 months earlier was not available (found out afterward that this was a good thing because it would have been right beside the sewage treatment plant that wasn't shown on map.....go figure). Was told they would give us a comparable site, so navigated around the golf carts driven by under aged kids and poorly identified streets only to find our site crammed beside what appeared to be a hobbit and backing onto a weed infested bay with floating beer bottles. Garbage dumpster reeking of dead fish right in the middle of out site. I could go on and on and on but unless you want to ghetto camp with a bunch of homeless transients, I would pass on this dump. I have seen better places in 3rd world countries. At least the blaring Latino music was fun to listen to.

Stayed: August 2014
16  Thank Cycloner3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Office personal very nice, appearance on arrival looked nice. Go to camp site, (tight roads due to many vehicles parked in roads) some sites had two -three cars, stench of sewage, children driving golf carts, they will run you over if you don't get out of there way! The campgrounds looked like a ghetto overcrowded sites due to campers with 10x20 tents next to them with fencing around tents, leaving nowhere to park there cars,storage trailers, boats. This is not a resort, it is a GHETTO!!! If this is a representation of Encore resorts I do not want any part of them. By the way, I was booked there for eight days- seven nights, we left after the first night! WHAT a DUMP!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
9  Thank Sun4funcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this RV park in July 2014 for a week, it was definitely not on my list of favorite RV parks. The RV sites are very small and close together and not paved. It is a fairly large park and very full at the time of year we were there. The weekends are more noisy and rowdy with people playing loud music and generally being loud and abnoxious. The key to this park and in general of all parks is your neighbors since you are right up on top of each other. The marina is convent in the fact that they have a bait shop and gas there but it's pretty tight. The pictures of the beach look nice but don't expect that you can swim in there as it is mucky and muddy bottoms. The fishing in the area is good and the water is gorgeous for snorkeling. Bahia Honda state park is close and very beautiful, Key West is 45 minutes away and has tons of things to do. My overall review is... as far as RV parks go, very average. Things to do in the area and close by, thumbs up. I recommend another RV park closer to key west called " Blue Water". Happy camping!

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank Robin747474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at Sunshine for 8 days. We had an elite spot by the marina. The site was pretty and during the week the campground was quiet and nice but starting Friday afternoon the refugee camp feel was back. Golf carts driven by kids flying around everywhere, Spanish being yelled constantly, music blaring, rude people walking through our campsite at all hours of the night, teenagers hanging out outside our camper being loud at 2 am...it was ridiculous! If we asked them to not walk through our site we were given attitude like we were the rude ones. When we got to the campground and checked in, we were sent on our way to find our site, we had two sites and both were FULL of golf carts that didn't belong there.

The campground could be great but like others mentioned, there are a lot of permanent residents so the place is probably 90% full all the time so the visitors Luke ourselves aren't really taken care of. The rules should be enforced and some privacy between marina and sites would help. We will not stay at Sunshine Key ever again. I did not feel safe during the weekends at all!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Funinthesun2922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Everything was excellent. The manager was very professional and helpful. The pool was great. The front dest staff were very helpful and always smiling. I would go back anytime. The manager has a great operation and staff working for him. Great job Glenn..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHORTMUFITO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Well we made our biannual trip to the Keys last week. Needless to say we did not stay at Sunshine Key Resort this year but in all fairness to Encore we did go by and through Sunshine Key RV Resort on two occasions to see if they had made any improvements since our horrible experience there last Summer.
We checked many of the areas that we had issues with last Summer but of course without staying there overnight it was not possible to get the full experience to pass on. From what we did see and check I am so glad that we did not stay at Sunshine Key RV Resort. If anything this place was worse than last Summer. Encore continues to allow the Refugee camp atmosphere to continue. The outdoor tents, living rooms and kitchens have been expanded. There are even more personal outdoor porta potties set up. They don't even try to hide them anymore, they are everywhere. Mutliple vehicles in every site with anywhere from 6 to 12 people staying at many sites. Music was loud and coming from every direction all playing different songs. Bath houses were filthy and still have waste baskets beside each toilet for the locals to throw their used toilet paper into because they wont flush it. Smell in bathrooms was horrible. Fish cleaning station had many undersized fish carcases in garbage can. No surprise based on what we saw last Summer. What was a big surprise was that there was a non English speaking guy at the fish cleaning table cutting up a small tarpon for what appeared to be chunk bait. Could not believe what I was seeing and we tried to tell him the fish was illegal to keep but he did not understand us. There were a few lobster carcases in one corner of the marina basin where someone had caught and cleaned them out of season of course. The swimming pool had about 50 people in it all yelling in spanish and another 50 or more around it. Very loud and unruly. Pool water appeared just as dirty and cloudy as last time we saw it. Game room was gutted as they have torn up all the games so management just left a big empty room. Basketball courts had about 20 people playing and another 20 or more standing around. The entire facility was totally overcrowded as the residents all bring their entire family and friends down to stay with them.
Sunshine Key RV resort has become the laughing stock of the Keys. If you mention to anyone that you stayed there once they just laugh because everyone down there knows how bad it is now.
I can't believe that Encore would have their name associated with this place. So disappointed in them for allowing this place to decline as it has, that we will never stay in any other Encore facility anywhere. Its very obvious that they are only looking at the $$ generated through Sunshine Key and not on family values, the enviroment or the law. Shame on them for destroying a beautiful piece of property and shame on the State of Florida Fish and Game for allowing the continued blatant violations of rules and regulations to take place.
To change the topic, the place we did stay was wonderful and will be posted on another review as I would never want their name associated with Sunshine Key.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
17  Thank SKBFLorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This place holds its on charm. Its not for everyone. Being located the the florida keys, a well known area for travelers to come through, it has its transition of guest cliental. Depending on the time of year the residents range from locals to transit persons. The atmosphere varies along with it as does the turn over in staffing.
I find many things are in need of new updating. Most buildings are not marked and the street signs are lacking in opposite end of the streets exit/entrance roadways. Causing confusion when looking for places.
The public bath houses/restrooms are in need of much updating as most of this facility. There are many guests that use these and the building themselves look very old as does the insides. It would benefit the guests to have better facilities to bathe in.
For the public laundry area is really ghetto style broken down. Most of dryers are broken and out dated. This wash room could use cleaner friendlier enviroment to wash clothes plus newer updated machines. Its flithy looking most of the time. Really a waste of nice building.
The gym is very nice looking. It still looks like its under repair. Not bad to get a workout in. Equipment looks decent.
They have what they call a gameroom but its not much of anything. The building is very old and this room has broken ping pong tables in it. There is much to be repaired in this area. The bathrooms are located in there and its for the guests to use from the pool area. This area should just be closed of for updating or construction. Really needs improvement. Not much of a gameroom at all.
They have tennis courts which look decent but not used much if any. Its locked up unless someone asks for it to be openned.
The pool area is very nice. Love the island feel landscaping around area. Great use of area. Could use some improvements. Better signs maybe for guests in better viewing location. Really need picture signs for some guests since pool does have minor issues with rules but nothing better signs could solve.
The basketball court and volleyball area are great gathering area for the family and friends to enjoy some playtime.
Overall this park is lacking in things for younger groups of families who visit like a playground area for kids. More picinic tables and benches out in this area for people to sit and chat since its the prime location for all the gatherings in the park.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful with all questions. The manager has made many improvements over the last few months and looks to be upgrading most of the facility.
The grounds in landscapung could use some improvement but over all clean on week days. Its tge weekends and holudays this park has major issues with trash.
The noise level is decent on most weekends not going into holidays. Otherwise its music and parties during the summer hours which is managable for keys living. Its only bothersome if you expected quiet island weekend. This park has special weekend program for the summer so that explains the excitement going on most weekends and holidays. Its gotten much better since last few years.
They do have list of rules which just got updated but not soon enough. They have many rules which are not clear. Most visitors follow but the previous guests who have been coming for years seem to try to rule the park if they could. This needs addressing.
The golfs carts cruising late nights can be bothersome. Rules are not clear on this matter.
I do notice atmosphere change among the residents in this park. There is a very strong national divide with the guests and residents. This i seen causes much of the problems within the park.
As with most vacation destinations everything has plus and minus sides. The location of the park is great. Just 45 minutes from Key West. The sunset views are outstanding on the beach. The nature views and adventures can be interesting as can the people who live and visit here.
If this place got much of the needed care and updating it would be great place. There is no real big beach area for public guest use. Most beach around the island has limited access. The swimming pier is not even useable so accessing the ocean is limited. Since the fishing bridges having been closed puts fishing pretty much off limits for most guests unless you have a boat or want to walk into the ocean.
I could not say its the best place to visit or worst place to stay. It does have its seasons for sure. You just have to find your comfort zone among the seasons.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank ButterflyBLEUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine Key
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
14.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
8.9 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
921 reviews
8.9 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina

Address: 38801 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043-3518
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Big Pine Key
Price Range: £19 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 409
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Key Rv Hotel Big Pine Key
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing