We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Parmer's Resort(Little Torch Key)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Lodge(Sugarloaf Key)
Free cancellation until 23/05
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/05
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
101
52
17
20
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
52
17
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean roomkey deerhot tubkey westtiki hutbig pinebahia hondabird watchingsea breezebeach chairsdeer visitpeaceful spotdownstairs roombeach leveloff the beaten pathstayed nightsdeer walk
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We loved this place! Granted, we are folks who enjoy camping and nature. Eric is awesome and cooks a great, from scratch, breakfast. The views are fantastic. Key Deer, Iguanas and all sorts of awesome birds abound. It's the Keys so bugs and sea weed are what they are. We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary Kayaks (bikes too but we never got to that). We'll surely come back here when we next visit the Keys. Thanks Banacle family!!

Room Tip: Atrium area has the best view!! Love the open air garden!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tari Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April after a couple of nights in Key West. What a contrast between the two. The Barnacle offers peace and tranquility, and given that the other guests went out early on our first day (before breakfast time) it felt like we had the place to ourslelves. The place was very informal and several miles from shops, bars etc,.Our room had a superb ocean view and the key deer came up to our patio each evening. The deer are beautiful, gentle creatures and it was wonderful to see them at such close quarters.The sunbeds and loungers that were provided were very comfortable. We made use of the bikes and kayaks (with a bit of help from Eric as far as the kayak was concerned). We also used the hot tub. Our only criticism was that the wi fi signal was poor in the room we had but that was a minor issue and didn't stop us enjoying our time there.

Room Tip: The Ocean Room has a beautifull view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at the Barnacle in September 2012 and I believe this place is worth a review although six months on it is difficult to know exactly what to write, the mixed reviews about this place go some way to explaining how differently people will view this guest house.
Having visited the US on many occasions we have rarely stayed in bad accommodation, but we have never stayed in anywhere quite like the Barnacle. If you want 5 star accommodation or somewhere close to shops and bars this is not really the place for you. The Barnacle is situated several miles along a secondary road off the main overseas highway in what would be described as a quite residential area. I dont think you will find another building quite like the main guest house building it was certainly undertaken by a builder with excentric tastes.
You would have to agree that the buidling and grounds could do with a lick of paint but we expected that from previous reviews and it certainly added to the charm of the place. The small beach is very course sand and rock but it is lovely to sit there in perfect peace and tranquility with a cold drink and watch the sun go down especially when the diminutive Key Deer walk past looking for tit bits.
Eric who is the son of the owner looked after us during our stay and was very helpful and knowledgeable to any questions we had to ask, the breakfasts he produced each morning were pretty marvellous too. Breakfast is served on a communal table with other guests which might not be everyones cup of tea but we always think this is very pleasent to share conversations with others over breakfast.
The bedrooms were very large and matched the quirkyness of the building, with good air conditioning and bathroom facilities and although again some areas might be in need of repair there were no major issues for complaint.
If you stay at this guesthouse and enjoy a good beer I would recomend the 'No Name Pub' with some great micro brews and pub grub to write home about. Several bikers from the bikers 'poker run' had travelled back from Key West to visit this popular hostilery. Unfortunately you would need to drive there so someone will have to miss out on some unique ales.
On the negative side you cannot swim at the Barnacle the seaweed and very muddy sea floor dont make attempting to swim enjoyable. The sea weed on the beach has been mentioned before and it wasnt too bad when we arrived but had trebbled following an overnight storm there is really nothing that can be done about this so just enjoy the guesthouse for what is good. I would also add the worst place for sea weed was Bahia Honda which is the most higly rated beach in the Keys.
Alhough we got quite badly bitten in the Keys this visit, we love the Keys and will certainly return. (Eric does supply home made anti bug spray - a nice touch) Would we return to the Barnacle? when you need some quite R&R time after manic Key West or just a peaceful place to stay to enjoy a more authentic view of the Keys then I couldnt recommend a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoBuddyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We only spent one night at the Barnacle due to other reservations but we loved it. The Barnacle is an extremely quirky little Florida attraction but it is a great place to stay. The B & B is right on the ocean with it's own little beach area. Key deer wander around looking for handouts in the morning. The cottages are most unusual architecture but are fully equipped and very comfortable. Eric produced a wonderful breakfast in the morning that was more than most will eat and very tasty.

The place isn't fancy but it is very private and comfortable. If you want a good night's sleep and a great breakfast stop by for a visit.

Room Tip: All three of the cottages are wonderful. One on the upper level overlooks the beach. One on the lower level opens to the beach. One behind is open to the woods and the deer. It overlooks the parking lot.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Ocean View Room. It was fantastic, it was very peaceful, and a great location to do some bike riding or kayaking. We had a great time grilling out with other guests, that we just met. The manager Eric is great and will help you with anything that you need. If you are looking for a five star hotel, this place is not for you. But if you are looking for a great low key vacation, to meet some great people, then this place is for you. I will be going back every year to stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique in their own way. Make sure to look through all the pictures to pick the room that is best for you.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews