We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch of the Day”

Loose Caboose Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Boca Grande
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Favorite with locals and visitors alike, great sandwiches, dinners, homemade ice cream in a restored train depot. Friendly waitresses and great food. We have a large, outdoor, pet-friendly patio area for dining. Lunch served from 11 to 4:30 daily. We will be opening December 26th for dinners too. Dinner is served every night except Wednesdays from 6 to 9 pm
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
845 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 921 helpful votes
“Catch of the Day”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Here for lunch... Boca Grande what a grand town this is & Loose Caboose ideally located for a place to sit & watch the golf buggies waft by under the Florida sunshine!
Catch of the day was grouper so elected for the sandwich...really good lightly battered in a hoagie with slaw on the side...wife went for a cheese toastie.
Friendly service and thoroughly recommended when you are in town...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    118
    46
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, so-so service”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We took the boat over to Boca Grande from Fishermans Village in Punta Gorda. A coupon for 10% off at the Loose Caboose was given to each passenger. It's located quite centrally and has seating both inside and out. The burgers and turkey sandwich were above average, but would have preferred something other than plastic utensils and paper cups. It was very challenging to get the attention of the server, who seemed bored, at best, and quite impatient. Despite the ambivalent service, the location and food were fine. Maybe the server is just exhausted from snowbird season.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SM510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ice cream Dream”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Loose Caboose is a usual stop on the Island for lunch but this time we only made it out for a sunset & ice cream. Had a craving for a particular flavor of ice cream, which was not on the menu, so I opted for Plan "B". Blueberry cheesecake. Um, WOW. SOooo good, but then their ice cream does not usually disappoint. The only minor thing I would have to say about stopping in to get an ice cream is that little area is very small and kind of goofy b/c their is no definitive line . . .other than that . . .yum :-) love that they have outdoor dining . . who wants to sit inside on a beautiful day on vacation?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a highlight of our Vacation.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Having travelled to Boca most years since 2008, my family and I have grown to love the Loose Caboose.
Following a day on the beach or exploring the island, the Loose Caboose is a welcomed sight.
Plenty of space outside with hard working attentive staff who will always refill your drinks without needing to be asked.
Some previous posts have complained about takeaway cups and plastic baskets for the food. I would say that this laid back attention to detail makes this place so awesome. We have eaten here many times and have always found the place clean. The catch of the day fish baskets, always Grouper for us is amazing and well sized. The ice cream is a dream and I love the fact that it is always hand written as different flavours are made fresh every day. If you go to Boca, make sure you hit the Caboose for lunch! Eat outside and watch the rest of the Island pass you by! Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Skiskiskiandrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I finally made it to boca grande! Absolutely beautiful place!! Walking by the Loose Caboose and noticed it was a busy place on a Saturday afternoon . We waited only a few minutes for a outside seat and was greeted quickly by Patricia. Food was average for the price. But our server was awesome. Never waited for a refill on our sodas and we liked her so much we went for dinner on Saturday night. Once again , food was ok , nothing spectacular . And asked for Patricia. Still smiling after a long day and was very helpful with info about the island.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pickyboutfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanche1967, Owner at Loose Caboose Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'll make sure to share it with Patricia. She's been with us for five years now and is a wonderful person.

We love our restaurant, and my husband takes great pride in preparing his food. If you are here for dinner again, please feel free to ask him to come out and talk to you. He does like feedback on what he prepares whether it is good or bad. That way we can continue to improve.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write.

Sincerely,

Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loose Caboose Restaurant also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Loose Caboose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing