We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff”

Loose Caboose Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Boca Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Favorite with locals and visitors alike, great sandwiches, dinners, homemade ice cream in a restored train depot. Friendly waitresses and great food. We have a large, outdoor, pet-friendly patio area for dining. Lunch served from 11 to 4:30 daily. We will be opening December 26th for dinners too. Dinner is served every night except Wednesdays from 6 to 9 pm
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I sat down at a table around lunchtime outside. There were at least 9 empty tables around us. We were ignored by waitress for 10 minutes then she came over and we asked for drinks. Very pointedly, she looked us up and down ( we are retired pensioners and my husband is Indian) and said "Well we might be busy so I don't know if I can serve you drinks"
We were so astonished at this prejudice that we just got up and left but wish now that we had asked for the manager and made a complaint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudha_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    124
    48
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunches”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fun place to have lunch in "Downtown" Boca Grande. Excellent food and great people watching if you can get a table outside. In March and April, your best chance of doing that is to arrive around 11:30 or even before.

Great crab cake sandwich, great specials, and superb key lime pie.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Boca Grande wrap is a MUST!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If visiting the island this is a great spot for lunch in the adorable downtown Boca Grande. The Boca Grande wrap is so good you will crave it in the future! The ice cream is delicious too!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank g8rchick1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh Catch was Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The fresh catch was fried grouper with french fries. Best fried fish I've ever eaten. It has both indoor and outdoor seating area. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazypinklizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stopped by for dinner one night. Made reservations but it was not that crowded. I guess the 'season' is ending. The atmosphere is a little less than what you would expect for the prices of the food, but the food was fantastic. We were there Monday and it was Fish Taco night. Yum! Delicious! Other people had the Chicken Pot Pie and the fish of the day and all were great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loose Caboose Restaurant also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Loose Caboose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing