We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm.off night?”
Review of Sushi Ray

Sushi Ray
Ranked #301 of 814 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
248 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hmmm.off night?”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Been to Sushi ray a number of times. The food and service has always been good. However, the other night was an exception as far as service was concerned and recommendations. Other than the fact that we were seated promptly , we were then forgotten and we had to get up to remind them that we were waiting to be served. Our waitress seemed very frazzled and impatient. To top it off, the sushi did not arrive at the same time so we could be eating together. The food was very good though. Off night, I sure do hope so. http://www.sushiray.com

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank havingfunagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Best shusi I had

great service

Ate outside in this beautiful Florida weather

A very pleasant place to visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank linda1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“average sushi, service is marginal”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

much better choices in town for quality sushi, romantic night rushed from marginal service rolls were about the same nothing special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mully1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food and theatrics, pricey.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We are visiting the area and went for dinner at Sushi Ray's based on a recommendation from the hotel staff. We decided to try the Hibachi dinner. The service was friendly and efficient; the food was average at best.

We collectively ordered combination platters of steak, shrimp, lobster and scallops. Fried rice and stir fried vegetables were cooked first and were fine. The meats were all cooked to the correct temperature (scallops were perfect). Unfortunately all of the meats were completely saturated in soy sauce and therefore were extremely salty and each one tasted exactly the same. This ruined the meal - especially when our entrees ranged from $40-50. The meal was vastly overpriced for such average to poor taste. I would not eat here again or recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EthanMeleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Sushi Ray!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Beautiful restaurant in an active, opulent strip shopping mall. Parking is tough but Sushi Ray makes it all worth it. A wonderful assortment of Sushi, Stir Fry and Hibachi dishes, (including the family-style Hibachi Grill with the highly entertaining, shrimp-flipping chefs) there's something for everyone at Ray's. Lots of families at the Grills, couples in the low-light, comfortable interior, and a mix at the outside table. Strangelys, eating outside is not affected by the parking lot circus. Service is excellent, the food is excellent (the sushi rolls are huge! Order one dish at a time!) Try "Ray's Dream", it is wonderful! Ray is there himself looking over the operation, making sure everything runs smoothly. Prices are very reasonable for a high-end sushi restaurant in a location like this, but I only had Sushi and drinks. Also, the bar has one of the most comprehensive Sake menus I've ever seen! The bartender, Kobe, was very helpful in making my choice--if you know about Sake, you'll find a great selection here; if you don't, you may want to study up on Sake!
Comment on the negative reviews:
I saw none of this when I was here, however, do understand the LOCATION and REGULAR CLIENTELE of this Shopping Center and you will understand why the staff may be under pressure at certain times in the year (like "Season"). Ray's does not take reservations, so be prepared--pick your day and time wisely, and be prepared to wait or maybe not--I did not have to wait and I was enjoying my Sake lesson from Kobe at the bar!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Ray also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing