We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chain but awesome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houston's

Houston's
Ranked #9 of 802 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Chain but awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I usually stay away from chains but this is my exception. The food is awesome. The steaks are always juicy and full of taste. The sides are excellent. This location is very nice and the bar is a cool spot to have a few drinks with friends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scottmoney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    195
    60
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It's not about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This review is about the service. The food is great. Had the ribs... delicious. Had the Artichoke App... the best in the world, gotta figure out how to do that. Baked potato Loaded. The best. Alcoholic drinks.. small.
But on this night.. it was the service that drew the 3. First of all, as a yacht captain I usually go to the Houstons in Pompano Beach, FL on the water so this was a change from the ordinary.
The hostess and person seating us were great, efficient, friendly. The waitress was, I think, attempting to be good.
Because of a medical procedure I lost my saliva glands so liquids, particularly water is important to me. When we ordered drinks we requested water also. Only after just about 1/2 through dinner, that is after the appetizer and after 3 requests from both the waitress and a server who replied to the request with "right away" and never delivered and a final grabbing the waitress and letting her know that I was getting ready to ask for the manager did I get water. After that everything was fine. Servers took care of us, really didn't see the waitress much and had to hunt her down to clear the table and get our check. In addition we needed to discuss business and had paperwork. it took almost 15 minutes to get someone to clear the table. The very small table also made a business meeting hard although not bad for a couple to enjoy.
The tip that night reflected the service... still around 15% but is usually around 20%.
Will always go back but this night made me realize how spoiled I am at the Pompano Houstons.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Capt Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some chains are more equal than others.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Houston's Atlanta, Houston's Boca Raton--man the service is unequaled and the food is just so good it is almost indescribable. Not the little foofoo foolish food that liberals love in their little overpriced pestholes--really good fresh well-prepared food. The fish was fresh--yes it is very easy to tell without a lot of crap all over it which masks the nastiness of old fish. I was afraid to try the kale salad as kale can be...not so much, but we did try it and it was terrific. The grilled artichoke was a nice change from pressure cooking that we do at home. Memorable meal and superb service from a very attractive mature lady instead of the pubescent little girls in so many restaurants these days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LtRogerWilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Houston, We Have A Problem!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Reservations were made for 8pm. We waited up at the bar for our table. Nobody came for a while, so someone in our group checked. Poor system for seating... no beeper or announcement. Nothing.
Finally we were seated and got our order in. Overall the food was decent. The Yellow Tail and Hawaiian Rib-eye were very tasty. But someone at our table ordered a burger that was well overdone.
This is where the issue was. The person who took our order disappeared. Trying to get someone for a fix on the burger took quite a long time. Finally someone in a jacket, presumably a manager came by. We informed her of the issue. She waived over a waiter and walked away. No apology on her part or real involvement in fixing the issue. Actually we saw a few manager types aimlessly walking around. What was their job function?!?
By the time a replacement was offered, a great deal of time had passed. It was pointless to wait any longer.
Would consider lunch here in the future, but the lack of management was obvious during prime time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgdbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Mighty are Falling Partner! T'Aint What It Used To Be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Little bottles of coke $2.50, Firehouse Chili that is thin as tomato soup and missing all the onions, meat and most of the beans it used to have. Order a veggie burger with no bun and it's thrown on a plate with a side of veggies that's limp and overcooked. THIS is a far cry from the Houston's I used to enjoy. No wonder there was no crowd on a Saturday night. Is it greed? Does the owner care anymore? All I know is for the prices they charge at Houston's, in my opinion there are a lot of other local places with more and better choices that really want your business. BTW, check out the ingredients in the veggie burger. Veggie does not mean Healthy! Buyer beware! The menu is limited. Salads are very pricey and are treated as entrees. Sides are $6.00 Ribs $29.00, Steak $35/Prime Rib $36, forget about bread or rolls and of course, the free soda refills are replaced by small plastic bottles of coke products

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FishFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houston's also viewed

 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing