We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French food with a flair”
Review of Le Rivage

Le Rivage
Ranked #41 of 811 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Skokie, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French food with a flair”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Best meal we had in Boca Raton. Fairly priced and delicious and very good service. Would definitely go back next year. Kind of a strange location in a small strip mall but that doesn't seem to deter their business, every table was filled and people were waiting, go early if you can.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sph8333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We chose this from the reviews here actually and it was very good. We went for lunch. I had a crepe, with ham and cheese and béchamel sauce, salad with good dressing. Friend had sole. Very good, food is nice sized portion- not too much, not too little. Definitely will return. Well priced for what you get.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent French food in Boca if you have the time”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Friends told us about Le Rivage a while ago, and we finally got there this week. From outside it looks like it might feature take-out Chinese. Once you step inside though, you realize that this is a comfortable, adult restaurant. The decor will probably set you in mind of 1950, but hey, the fifties had some charm.

After several minutes a waiter came to give us menus. After several more minutes he returned to take our wine order. We were too slow in responding, so he went away. This leisurely attitude continued throughout the evening. The four courses were separated by lengthy waits. Tired of waiting for our entrees, we told a passing waiter (not ours) that we were getting hungry. The dinners appeared a few moments later. From start to finish the entire meal required two and a half hours -- and no, we did not linger over coffee.

The food was excellent. Three out of the four of us ordered from the $35 side of the menu. The slim-one among us knew ahead of time that he would not want dessert, so he ordered items al la carte. The appetizers were in fact appetizing and well presented - escargo, scallops, a salad and the soup de jour. Be aware though, that the scallop appetizer consists of ONE scallop. Next, the house salad. Definitely okay, but hardly anything to rave about. The entrees were tasty and again beautifully presented. We had two different duck dishes and the scallop dinner. All excellent. Three desserts were shared -- the creme brulle being the best of the bunch.

All in all. Good food and wine. Pleasant surroundings. Lackluster service. We will try it again and hope for a server who more interested in serving.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootsie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Price Fix Perfection”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Best Dinner ever for $35 with upgrades raising the prce but so worth it.

The perfect Owner-Chef french Restaurant but without the snooty waiters and attitude.

The food was sublime. Paid $14 for the upgraded goose liver appetiser but only in Europe have I tasted real Goose liver slightly crisp luxuriously fried with a delicious port wine reduction.

Entry was Duck made extra cispy with a wonderful Cherry sauce.

Whoever is the saucier here as mad mad good skills and that is so important for a true French experience. Every sauce and soup was superior from the salad dressing, to the extra garlic on the Escargo to the steak all great.

This is a highly reccomended place for French Food exertly and correctly prepared.

Jim

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1,520 reviews
867 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Very Good French”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A charming storefront restaurant with very good French cuisine. They have a prix fixe menu for $35 with an appetizer, entrée and dessert. I had the escargot which were very good and duck a la cherry. The duck was a little dry. My wife had the onion soup which also was very good, not salty like so many restaurants and the Fillet of Lemon Sole Meunière. Both were accompanied by an excellent carrot soufflé and mashed potatoes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rschagrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Rivage also viewed

 

Been to Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing