We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the midrange”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very good value for the midrange”
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Got this hotel via Priceline for a 1-nighter in May. PL grades it at 2.5 stars, which I think is about right. The pool is a nice value-adding attraction, in that they have a bar and, on the weekends, entertainment. The pool is average size, but the 104-degree jacuzzi is comparable to what you see at 3 and 3.5-star places. Many guests appreciated just being able to hang out around the pool for hours, getting drinks and food there as well.

There's a single Internet terminal in the lobby, which is nice when your budget doesn't allow for laptops, wi-fi and all that. The room was well-kept and had a strong air-con. The bed, pillows and sheets were consistent with a 2.5-star place. Standardizing a frig and a microwave is a nice touch, especially with these things likely made inexpensively in China anyway these days.

Having an 11 AM checkout is a slight ding, IMO. Noon is better.

All in all it's one of the better "value" propositions I've seen in the area. Too many "legacy" places on U.S. 1 have lazy managements that stretch out renovations, let the places get tired, but still charge "market" rates based mostly on location. So you pay too much and get too little. This one, though, appears committed to delivering value in return, and for some travelers is a worthy alternative to paying a lot more to be on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 18 May 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites. We would also like to thank you for filling out this honest and kind review since it is important to us and the many TripAdvisor readers. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    247
    132
    74
    56
See reviews for
269
240
103
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Babson Park, FL
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

The Boca Raton Plaza had clean rooms, comfy beds, and had all the ameneties we needed for our weekend getaway. The restaurant had wonderful food and there was even live entertainment out at the pool! The hotel was close to other restaurants as well. One down-side was they did not have any complimentary shuttle service to the beach or to the rail station. Another thing that was a bit unfortunate, but I realize they cannot control, was the loud screaming kid in the room next to us at 11:00 at night. I guess the walls are not soundproof and you have to realize that when you travel stuff like that does happen. One final difficulty was the a/c did not seem to cool well. The thermostat said 60 but it felt more like 80. I was wishing I could just keep the fan on to drown out the sound of the kid next door crying but that was not possible. Overall we would stay here again and would recommend to others who would like a clean, friendly hotel with a bar, restaurant, and nice location.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rplove5662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2009
Thank you for your nice and understanding review. You're feedback is important to us and the many TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad that you're an understanding traveler and we hope to see you again soon. We always want to make sure that our guests leave satisfied. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth england
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2009

found our room very dank and musty, bed linen not as described on web site neither was the bathroom, couldnt wait to check out. Didn't fancy trying the pool or restaurant because of the state of the room

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrskipling424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plaza1richard, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites. I would also like to thank you for filling out this review since your feedback is important to us. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have a very nice property with all different kinds of amenities for guests to enjoy. We wished we could've moved you to another room if you felt the one you had was not satisfactory. Hate is a strong word.. We want all of our guests to have a pleasant experience with us. Maybe next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We booked this hotel as an alternative to expensive Fort Lauderdale and the Rough Guide to Florida painted a good picture of the town, which was true. But this hotel lets down the town. It is, as we expected, a motel and this was good because we wanted to bring in all our suitcases on our last night of a 4 week trip in order to sort them out for the flight the next day. However, our room was very tired indeed and did not appear to have been thoroughly cleaned for some time. It had a nasty feel about it. I do not like bathrooms that only have a lavatory and bath/shower in them, and then you have to come through a door before you can wash your hands, leaving all the germs on the door handle. Because of an extended happy hour, the Tiki Bar was a loud and noisy place. The web site that I booked through said that the restaurant had tablecloths and served such delicacies as red snapper. In truth it is simply a bar, with no tablecloths, serving adequate bar food which involved different specials on different nights ie every Thursday has the same specials. My chicken was perfectly tasty but when I requested a potato instead of pasta, I was told I would be charged an extra dollar. Fair enough, but a bit petty I though. Like all the hotels in Florida, I found this place to be very overpriced for what we got - in the UK we would pay half of the price - and we certainly enjoyed the standards and prices in Texas to Florida. The room had obviously not been checked thoroughly before use, otherwise the squeaking door etc would have been noticed. I reported this at reception when we left, but staff should be trained to look out for this sort of thing. There was no plug for the sink, so it would have been easy to have dropped something down there. All in all, not a pleasant experience for our last night in the US.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 12 March 2009
Thank you for filling out this review. Unfortunately, everyone is different and we cannot make everyone happy. I'm sorry this guest thought we were overpriced and thus maybe the bad comments. Most of our guests enjoy our rooms, our bathrooms with a door (for privacy, not germs) , and the great food and service that you will find in the hotel bar and restaurant. The tiki bar has always been a great asset to the hotel and people do seem to enjoy it as they sit poolside. Some people think it's great and very few think it's loud or annoying. I guess that all depends if you want to enjoy the hotel amenities or just stay in your room and pack. Most reviews do mention the tiki bar and restaurant but all have been positive. Read next review. All in all, we are sorry this guest did not have a good stay and we wished we could've worked a better rate for them since that seemed to be the bigger issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This was our second stay at the Boca Raton Plaza, and it will certainly continue to be one of our regular stops during our annual winter pilgrimage to south Florida from frosty upstate New York. Our room was comfortable and clean. Contrary to what's been said in some other reviews, we never heard any noise from the adjoining rooms. Our room was quiet, and the television worked great. We even rented a pay-per-view movie. The private balcony was a plus - what a great way to enjoy the morning sunshine. The hotel is in a great location - not far from the beach and right on Highway 1 which is a direct route to many fine restaurants north and south of the hotel. This is a great central location for many of the south Florida attractions - Fort Lauderdale/Las Olas Blvd., Palm Beach, Peanut Island, Hard Rock Casino, and, of course, Miami, which is less than an hour away. All of the staff at the hotel were friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Housekeepers Hailie and Geri were eager to help when we needed more towels. Manager Otto was friendly and cordial and made us feel welcome. We ate dinner in the on-site restaurant one night, and we weren't disappointed - the roast beef sandwich (apparently their specialty) was quite tasty and the macaroni salad was one of the best I've tasted. The pool was clean and at a perfect temperature and the surrounding area was clean. The pool-side Tiki bar was fun and convenient. Overall, this hotel is a great value and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to our friends and fellow travelers.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites. Thank you for filling out this review since your feedback is important to us and the many TripAdvisor readers. We appreciate the honest and detailed review of the hotel and surrounding area. Hope to see you for a 3rd time and many more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Our room had old polyester bedspreads, a fiberglass enclosed shower and a carpet that had not been cleaned recently. When we first entered the room we were greeted with the overwhelming smell of cheap room deodorizer. I cannot comment on the pool since we did not use it. Our strategy was to spend as little time at the hotel as possible during our two night stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ja333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2009
Sorry we couldn't meet the standards of this guest. We have designer bedspreads in every room and use the latest in dedorizing and cleaning chemicals for the comfort of our guests. We have a beautiful pool area with heated pool, spa, and poolside tiki bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. We had to pay for breakfast in their restaurant but it was good and the price was reasonable.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AloraDanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites. I would also like to thank you for taking time to fill out this review with TripAdvisor since your feedback is important to us as well as the many readers that use TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here as well as the service and food in the restaurant. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boca Raton hotels
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Boca Raton
Wyndham Boca Raton
#8 of 27 in Boca Raton
1,436 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#9 of 27 in Boca Raton
415 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waterstone Resort & Marina Boca Raton, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Boca Beach Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boca Raton
Hilton Garden Inn Boca Raton
#6 of 27 in Boca Raton
663 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boca Raton Marriott at Boca Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites

Property: Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites
Address: 2901 N Federal Hwy, Boca Raton, FL 33431-6701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites is a lush, tropical oasis nestled in the heart of exclusive Boca Raton. Completely renovated and re-opened in 2003, the Plaza offers luxury resort exclusivity at surprisingly affordable rates. The Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites is a short distance from many favorite Boca Raton and South Florida attractions and things-to-do. Florida Atlantic University and Mizner Park are ONLY 1 1/2 miles away! If your passion is world class shopping, golf, performing arts or just relaxing on a pristine beach, you will find that and much more only minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel Boca Raton
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel And Suites Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing