We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We REALLY Enjoyed Our Cheeseburger in Paradise”
Review of Cabbage Key Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bokeelia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabbage Key Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bokeelia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“We REALLY Enjoyed Our Cheeseburger in Paradise”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

It was a long 3 hour boat trip from Punta Gorda to Cabbage Key and a record breaking heat day, however the cheeseburgers were better than my hubby and I remembered. Yum!
We ordered them well done instead of medium and they were served promptly and were cooked perfectly and at the perfect temperature. Our screwdrivers and rum punches were so good that we ordered to go drinks for the trip
home. A nice visit ...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it's nice to hear you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    79
    33
    21
    22
See reviews for
98
130
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We rented a boat and boated over to cabbage key for lunch...they are most famous for their burgers. The burgers were good but not the best I have ever had. Service was ok, we ended up getting stuck there due to weather and spent about three hours eating and drinking. No really much else to it.....

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tawnyat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Unfortunately, the rain this time of year can spoil an otherwise great day. We hope that you will visit us again to enjoy the nature trails and beauty Cabbage Key has to offer. Hopefully you enjoyed your Cabbage Creepers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Boated over with friends and family to a restaurant we'd heard good things about. Lovely trip over there.. The day was hot, so opted to sit inside. No AC, but overhead fans made it tolerable.
The place self-proclaimed itself as the original Cheeseburger in Paradise, claiming it is where Buffett was inspired and wrote the song. I wonder how many other places make the same claim.
Anyway, the food was mediocre at best and the prices were way too expensive for the quality of the food. The potato salad (an ice cream scoop of large chunks of potato, very dry and very tasteless) was especially bad. The other side, cole slaw, was bland but ok. I had the mahi sandwich. There was a small paper cup of "aioli" on the side, along with a slice of tomato and a small lettuce leaf. Sorry. Not worth the price.
Be aware: it's worth the trip just to be able to say you've been there -- once..

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Cabbage Key. The story that "Cheeseburger in Paradise" was written about Cabbage Key is a rumor started many years ago...something Cabbage Key, Inc. has never endorsed nor advertised. However, in the 1970's, Jimmy Buffett did spend time at Cabbage Key before he performed a concert in Ft. Myers. Some of the Cabbage Key staff, at the time, was invited to the concert and Jimmy Buffett acknowledged the staff and then played the “new” song, "Cheeseburger in Paradise.” I am sorry that your lunch did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I made our way out to cabbage key island on a beautiful sunny day. Before having lunch we grabbed a couple of cold drinks to walk around the nature trail. There's also a water tower that you can walk to the top and get a nice view of the surrounding islands. And a great breeze!! The kids got a kick out of the turtles and the heron 'Floyd'. Who is very friendly but will steal your food so watch out! For lunch we sat in the money room. Really neat, there's money on the walls from decades ago. Its never taken down, but whatever falls off is donated to a local charity. I had a blackened mahi mahi salad and a slice of frozen key lime pie. Which is made on island and one of their specialties. The kids had a cheeseburger and when we requested well done was no problem at all. They also shared a ice cream mud pie which is huge! All in all the food was wonderful and very quickly came out. The employees very friendly and upbeat. You can tell enjoy what they do. Our waitress answered all of our questions and told us alittle bit of the history of the island and surrounding islands. Great place to just get away and escape for a bit. We will return. Thank you cabbage key. Oh and try the drink the creeper,,you can also take drinks to go!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Odessa928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We are always happy when our quests leave happy! Thank you for the wonderful review, we are fortunate to have such a great staff here at Cabbage Key. Yes, you are correct some of the employees enjoy it so much that they actually live on the island! Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had lunch here as part of a day-long excursion we took out of Punta Gorda. We’d read lots of good things which maybe heightened our expectations a bit too much. While it is a quaint, laid back kind of place, we weren’t super impressed by anything we experienced. Service and food were ok but nothing special. The hand-packed burger was good but no better than anything I’ve made myself on my grill at home. Overpriced for what you get. After lunch we climbed the water tower for a beautiful view and walked the nature trail which was very peaceful, but there’s really not much else going on here. It was worthwhile to see a great example of unspoiled Old Florida but I wouldn’t go out of my way to go back. Maybe my feelings are tainted by the fact that the next day I got a call from my credit card company that someone had stolen my card info – and the only place I’d used the card in the previous 3 days was here. I can't prove anything but it makes you wonder. If you do go here, I’d suggest bringing cash.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dohligee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for writing to tell us about your experience at Cabbage Key. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch with us. Yes, the view from our Water Tower is spectacular and we are glad you enjoyed it. Cabbage Key does a thorough background check on all of our employees, and our Credit Card receipts are balanced on a daily basis. Again, thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We rented a boat for the day and my husband, brother and best friend enjoyed our day on the water. We wanted to try out the restaurant for lunch at Cabbage Key, we had heard about the "dollar" bar. We were not disappointed at all. The food was incredibly fresh. The freshest fish we have ever had, like they caught it out back! Don't forget to order a cabbage creeper from the bar...you gotta try at least one! This is most definitely a hidden gem. The staff were super friendly. Yes the prices are up there, but folks this is an island, it's paradise...go for it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotLass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks so much for your kind comments, we are happy you enjoyed the food and found the staff friendly. We look forward to you visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The food is good, and the atmosphere wonderful. If you are in the area, it is a must stop. Makes you feel like you are in the Caribbean, not FL. Cheese burger in Paradise, what more can I say. Have not stayed in the inn, but the restaurant is so much fun!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjwdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed the food and sounds like you had lots of fun too! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokeelia
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,348 reviews
7.5 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Boca Grande Resort
The Boca Grande Resort
#3 of 3 in Boca Grande
52 reviews
12.4 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
513 reviews
17.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabbage Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabbage Key Inn

Property: Cabbage Key Inn
Address: Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, Bokeelia, FL 33945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Bokeelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bokeelia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabbage Key Inn And Restaurant Hotel Bokeelia
Cabbage Key Inn Bokeelia, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing