We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around..& we will do it again!”

Tropic Star Cruises
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Bokeelia
Certificate of Excellence
McDonough, GA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Second time around..& we will do it again!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Two years ago we took the Tropic Star ferry to Cayo Costa. We come back to Sanibel every year and decided we would use them again to visit the park.

Happy to see Captain Bruce is still piloting the boat. He gave lots of historical information, much of it I hadn't heard before, so it was interesting. Joe, his "mate," was personable and very accommodating.

The boat ride is about an hour long. We were so lucky this time...dolphins galore! Several swam along side of the boat (within 18 inches), and one breached twice within a foot!

Offered passengers cold water on the way back. It's a fun, inexpensive way to get to Cayo Costa. We WILL do it again next year!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieannL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    30
    7
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have used tropic star 2 times now. Both times for dropping off and picking up on cayo costa state park for overnight camping trips. The captain and deckhand are great and so friendly. On the ride to cayo costa, the captain gives some history on the area. Very interesting. I have no reason to ever use anyone else when I'm there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome trip to Cayo Coasta”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked through Tropic Star and will do again. The people are very friendly and helpful. They even honored the price I found online even though it was a mistake on the web page. Great captain with lots of knowledge of the islands around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ssharp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing beach day”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Thank you Tropic Star for the lovely day. The cruise to Cayo Costa was fun and comfortable. Captain and crew were most accommodating. Fortunately we had a rehearsal drive to the dock the day before as sign pointing to Tortuga St. is poorly positioned and easily missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Deerfield
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“friendly captain Mike & first mate Billy”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We wanted to see 'Old Florida' in a comfortable way. The open flat 'Jungle Boat' was perfect. We enjoyed the history lesson on our way to Cayo Costa as well as the dolphins swimming alongside the boat at times. The boat was pretty full when we started but some folks go to Cayo Costa for the day...others are just going to Cabbage Key for lunch....we chose Cabbage Key and then a couple of hours at Cayo Costa. Our trip home at 3:30 had less than 10 on the boat. An interesting day. Cabbage Key lunch OK...loved the state park & beach walk...would highly recommend the company and tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropic Star Cruises also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Southwest Gulf Coast, FL
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tropic Star Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing