We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useppa Island - Day trip or Overnight to Paradise”
Review of Useppa Island

Useppa Island
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Bokeelia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
vickistrips
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Useppa Island - Day trip or Overnight to Paradise”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I've been to Useppa Island several times on the Lady Chadwick (captivacruises.com). It's a great way to spend the day with family or friends. We also took our exchange student from Germany for a day trip. She really felt as though she'd touched down in paradise, the island is so full of lush natural scenery. Great for camera buffs!

The boat ride over is easy-going and inspirational as you listen to the detailed and informative spiel about the history and geography of the area. Enjoy a cocktail or two, snacks and the stunning natural beauty of the area in shade, air-conditioned room, or top level - full sun.

You'll definitely get to see dolphin riding the boat's wake going both ways, so keep your camera ready. If you're lucky, you'll see pods of dolphin jumping with the wake, babies and moms leaping together in perfectly sequenced arcs.

Eat lunch, play by the pool, walk along the shore, play life-sized chess, and definitely (for sure!) take your time in the local museum. There will be surprises for the average visitor (who knew this was the training ground for the Bay of Pigs invasion?) - there are lots of intriguing stories going way back to the days when locals carved their own stones to spear fish for dinner.

Whatever it is you enjoy; good food, local history, tropical waters, natural scenery, or just getting away from civilization for a day...this trip will encourage you to slow down and relax.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank VickisTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fuengirola, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Natural Surroundings, Museum and Great Lunch!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The boat ride from Captiva Island narrated by a knowledgeable skipper was informative and enjoyable. We saw several pods of dolphins jumping the waves behind the boat which held us all speechless. (They respond to clapping with jumps and flips!) Pass the old fishing shacks in the middle of the gulf and hear tales of the surrounding islands. Try the grouper tacos at the Useppa Club for lunch then follow the pink path to the fabulous museum ending with a quick walk around the island enjoying the most beautiful natural setting surrounded by exquisite homes. We went to celebrate a very belated Mother's Day and it was the most memorable day! Share it with someone special as it is a truly SPECIAL place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Had the best time! so relaxing and laid back. Love the fact that there are only golf carts on the island. So many fun places to find. The wild life was also fun to watch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bahamian Like”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We put on a womens retreat there for a weekend and the staff were very helpful as was Jamimine. I loved the whole island. Just beautiful. We road the golf carts around which made me feel like a kid again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsychant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Duchess Cottage on Useppa Island”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

If you want the perfect getaway, rent the Duchess cottage! Place was spotless! The owners were very helpful and even gave us their personal golf cart to run around the island! Ate at the Collier Inn. The grouper, real grouper was amazing. Went and bought a bottle of wine, cheese and crackers at the little store on the island to watch a sunset at the marina. The island is very quiet which is just what we needed. The Duchess cottage had the most romantic candles for dining outside and a gorgeous romantic bedroom on the first floor. We loved the living room! The huge chaise chair couches were sooo comfortable! I would recommend this vacation if you want to get away and spend some quality time with your family!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Urgentbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Useppa Island also viewed

 
Southwest Gulf Coast, FL
 

Been to Useppa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing