We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but artificial”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bonita Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is very nice: it's huge and has all the expected amenities, several outdoor pools that were not too crowded...the neat thing is that it has its own island that is a short ferry ride away from the hotel. The little market inside the hotel is pretty nice and convenient. However, it is not close to the beach. It feels artificial and isolated. You can't walk to any restaurants or shops outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bamboo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCPSocialMediaMgr, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort. We're very glad you enjoyed the resort amenities including the pools, tropical island and our new coffee bar, Cool Beans. while we provide an assortment of restaurants, bars and shops here at the resort, we also provide scheduled trolley service for all of our guests to enjoy the shopping and dining venues located one mile from the resort. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a tropical escape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,919 - 1,925 of 2,986 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Overall we had a nice two-night stay at the end of April. There were 3 pools, one of which was an adult pool so the kids tended to stay at the other pool with water slides although not always. One family allowed their kids in the adult pool even though the sign blatantly stated "Ages 17 and up" but no one enforced the rule. We took the 10-minute walk to the preserve to catch the boat to the beach; while we were waiting, we watched as they fed the manatees fresh water. The boat ride was very nice and we enjoyed watching the dolphins follow in the wake. The beach was very nice with lots of shells and not crowded at all. There were restrooms on the beach inside a big building which had lots of tables for dining but no concessions for purchase - that would have been a nice amenity and we might have stayed longer. The one disappointment was our room (Room 920). It was a standard room and the beds were comfortable. However, the safe did not work - after fiddling with it for a while I called the front desk and was told it probably needed a new battery - this should have been tested before we moved into the room. We didn't want to waste time waiting for a repair man to come so we didn't get it fixed. The bigger problem was that there was hardly any place to put our belongings. I've never seen such poor use of space. There was a relatively small closet with hangers and a two-drawer dresser between the beds which were sufficient for my husband's things. So that meant I had to use the small, flimsy, half broken, 3-drawer cabinet (not hotel-quality furniture or even close) that was barely useable since the drawers were nearly impossible to open and close. Otherwise, there was a large desk (with no storage), a cabinet with a TV on top that had narrow shelves (for electronic equipment) that could not fit many belongings, and another cabinet that had a refrigerator within and some more shelves. The bathroom also had hardly anywhere to put our toiletries - the counter space around the sink was very small and there was no other storage other than some hooks on the wall - no cabinet under the sink or shelf over the toilet - these small improvements would have made for a more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCPSocialMediaMgr, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for writing a review of the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort. We're very sorry that we fell short of your expectations with room size and storage space. During our most recent room renovation, all of our guestrooms were updated with a modern design, guest conveniences and eco-friendly features. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our rooms staff so that we can better meet the expectations of all of our guests. We hope you would consider staying with us in the future to give us a fresh opportunity to delight you with a truly memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

About a 20 minute drive from Ft. Myers Airport. Easy via the GPS. The hotel lobby is very luxurious. Quick and easy check in. Was assured of a water view - I had verified this twice before arriving via my travel agent. Was disappointed in size of room. Had asked for king bed but got 2 queens instead. I can handle that, but the view was very disappointing. We had a water view to the right, but actually looked over a couple of swamps and construction to the left. We paid extra for the concierge floor and a view, but that's not what we got. After a dissatisfying response from check-in to get a better room, we settled in for the week. Pools, beach, and spa were great! Food and drinks were incredibly expensive...better to eat elsewhere if you have a car and want to save some money. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Travel over to Coconut Plantation for the lazy river...we hit it on a very quiet day and virtually had it to ourselves. The trolley can take you there and to the beach dock for the 15 minute trip out to the beach area...captain of the boat was great! Saw some dolphins and different birds. Beach is nice and private...plenty of umbrellas and lounge chairs. All and all I'd recommend staying here if money is not a problem. Head down to the Everglades for a fan boat ride...we had a lot of fun doing that!

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view. Ask for over the pools so you can get a good water and sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCPSocialMediaMgr, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Rosemary,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort. We're very happy that you enjoyed the resort amenities, pools, island, beach and Stillwater Spa. We're sorry we did not meet your expectations for accommodations. Our internal teams have been provided with your comments. Thank you for the recommendation to readers. We hope you will consider our resort again for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel and grounds were beautiful and very well kept. The staff was very friendly and service was great. There are 3 seperate beautiful pools. We really enjoyed the pool area with the slides for our child and could also appreciate that the adults only pool was available so we didn't have to worry about bothering people who didn't want to be surrounded by kids on vacation.
We will be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubalilly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCPSocialMediaMgr, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you very much for reviewing the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort. We're thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make every guest feel welcome with resort amenities suited for families, couples and children. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and can't wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Was a great end to a family holiday! We stayed 2 nights and were more then pleased with the staff and the property. We were able to get wristbands for the Hyatt residence hotel and use their lazy river pool which is just beautiful, reminded me of being in Hawaii. The private island and the boat ride over is very unique and very well set out. We ate at the pool bar and it was very good, didn't eat at any of the other restaurants. The residence dogs were the highlight for our daughter who played with them each day. The rooms are spacious maybe abit too modern in furniture however we spent all our time at the pool. We had a nice balcony however there was a hornets nest so we couldn't use it. We will definitely stay here again if ever in the area. Lovely hotel resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RB&WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCPSocialMediaMgr, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you, we're delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our canine concierge, Hoss and Honeybear are a delight to our guests, we're so glad your daughter had fun with them. Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel,clean n comfortable stay. Friendly staff n guided me a lot and very helpful. Would recommend to stay. Pool was good . Ejoyed the stay it was a wonderful experience for me staying here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank habeebullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCPSocialMediaMgr, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review of the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort, we're very happy that you found your stay comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the United States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here over the Easter weekend with my granchildren for our third stay in the last 2 years.

For the first time however, we had the opprortunity to meet the 2 Newfoundland dogs and their owner/trainer in the lobby and what an incredibly unique thing that is. In the 45 years since I took my first trip abroad in 1969, I've been fortunate to stay at some of the worlds best hotels on every continent and never had I seen anything like this. More gentle creatures you will never find and I enjoyed their presence as much or more than my small grandchildren. My hat is off to the hotel's management for making this great decision to have these creatures who add so much to the unique experience of staying at the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point!

There are so many features of this resort which I appreciate like the nightly turn down service and the free self-parking. When I stay at a hotel in downtown Miami I expect to pay for parking but too many resorts from the Marriott in Marco Island to the Ritz Carlton in Naples, both in suburban locations hit you with their hefty self parking fees which I don't appreciate.

My only criticism of this resort would be with regard to the food and beverage option, Service is quite slow throughout every dining venue in the resort. Breakfast is my favorite meal and the buffet breakfast continutes to go downhill from what I first experienced two visits ago. Little things most would enjoy like a choice of fruit yogurts are not offered, just one small bowl of non-fruit flavored. Many items that were once offered at the buffet breakfast have been pulled and the area reserved for displaying things now looks spartan. The food and beverage manager here needs to take a trip down to the Marriott Marco Island, their competitor about an hour south and he or she will see what a real buffet breakfast can be.

But despire the slow service and the less than stellar food and beverage operation I am likely to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steelmuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRCPSocialMediaMgr, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Steelmuscle, thank you for sharing your experience at the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort. Our canine mascots, Hoss and Honeybear have been a joyful addition to the guest experience here at the resort. These gentle giants are loved by all who meet them. We appreciate the opportunities you pointed out in your review and will address them with our upper management to ensure we provide the best service our guests deserve. We look forward to welcoming you and your grandchildren back to the resort very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonita Springs
Hyatt Coconut Plantation
#3 of 15 in Bonita Springs
486 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
914 reviews
Trianon Bonita Bay
#7 of 15 in Bonita Springs
476 reviews
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa

Address: 5001 Coconut Road, Bonita Springs, FL 34134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Bonita Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bonita Springs
#1 Green Hotel in Bonita Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bonita Springs
Price Range: £193 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa... where tropical gardens, warm breezes and sparkling waters of Florida's gulf coast create a casually elegant retreat for leisure vacations, business conferences and any occasion. Your aquatic adventure is here with extraordinary resort amenities including five waterslides, four pools, a lazy river, beach on an island offshore, wildlife preserve and more. Watersports rentals, kayaks, fishing and day cruises are available. Five restaurants and bars including a coffee shop and marketplace, seafood restaurant, American restaurant, cocktail lounge and outdoor restaurant and pool bar will satisfy your cravings throughout the day. Rejuvenate at Stillwater Spa, a full service spa with massage, facial and body treatments as well as a full beauty salon. With 82,500 square feet of flexible meeting space, two ballrooms, numerous banquet rooms, and abundant outdoor locations, we can accommodate gatherings from 20 to over 1,400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Hotel Bonita Springs
Hyatt Regency Bonita Springs
Hyatt Bonita Springs
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort And Spa Bonita Springs, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing