We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE the resort, but need to do something about bugs and bees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Coconut Plantation
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Bonita Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We love the HYatt Coconut PLantation resort and the Hyattt Regency Coconut Pointe...........BUT, the no see ums or Biting Midges are out of control on the west coast of Florida. The bees and wasps were also a very BIG problem. People were actually swatting at the bees/wasps with their shoes and whatever they could find.
Being a Hyatt property, I would think that these issues could be corrected. Children and adults with allergies are especially susceptible.

Other than the bug and bee/wasp problem, this resort was amazing. The front desk and reception personnel are very helpful and accomodating.

Our unit was suberbly clean. Housekeeping was great except for the one day they took our dirty towels and forgot to leave clean ones~~~But, that was resolved quickly when we called and asked for new towels to be delivered to our room.

One more issue I may ask the management to correct, would be the cleaning of the pools prior to 10am. The pool pumps were not working in the morningswe we arrived at the pools and there were LOTS of dead bees and other debris floating in the pool and clogging the drains. We did see someone with a skimmer cleaning the pool prior to 10am at one of the pools, but that only lasted about 2minutes!!!!

If you are looking for a clean updated room at a resort with great customer service personnel, this is a great place to go. There are pools and activities for everyone.

The food at the veranda Grill is really good. The waiters and bartenders are very friendly, personable and helpful.

I would give this resort a 5 star rating if only they could correct the bees/wasps/no see um bug problems:)

Room Tip: All the rooms are good:) Every room has its own screened in porch......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MomWifeGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

My family of 4 just returned from a 7 night stay at the Hyatt Coconut Plantation. We were there from July 14th – 21st in a 1 bedroom unit. We were on the 1st floor (actually 1 flight of stairs up they don’t consider the ground a 1st floor)of the #51 building which is the first building on the right as you drive into the resort. This building was a very short walk to the lobby and pool area and it appears that any of the 3 buildings have a very short walk to the amenities. If you walk by the pond in the front keep your eyes opened for a little alligator. We saw its head resting on the bank a couple of times during our stay.
The unit was clean with very nice furniture and appliances. It certainly didn’t give me the feeling of cheap quality like I have had at some other places in the past. Our unit had 2 screened in balconies (master bedroom and living room) and we enjoyed sitting out many times in the morning or later afternoons. Good thing for the screens because you will certainly see some interesting critters out there.
Pool area was amazing! 2 big lagoon style pools with waterfalls, adult pool (which becomes a family pool after hours) and the most amazing lazy river. Keep in mind they don’t allow any coolers at the pool so put any food you want in a plastic bag with a couple of ice packs. Also keep any food covered up tightly. The squirrels are brave and we witnessed them take a towel off of a purse to get at some food. Also while on the pool deck keep your eyes opened for Armadillo’s and raccoons. Couldn’t believe it but we saw both of these during the day. An employee told me a few raccoons live on top of the rock formations going around the pool and lazy river. We even watched one climb up a palm tree. One other tidbit, the sand fleas or biting midges (whatever you call them) are out of control. Not sure if it is the time of year but bring bug spray!! Especially if sitting outside after 7pm or while waiting for the boat to Hickory Island. They are tiny but they hurt and can drive you insane! We tried to roast marshmallows one night and lasted for 2 minutes. They were kind enough to light the fireplace inside so we roasted in doors.
Hickory Island is nice. It certainly isn’t like some of the other public beaches you can visit in the area but they provide umbrellas, chairs, and bathrooms which is a nice perk. Also boat ride over is fun. Keep your eyes opened for dolphins. Make sure to bring some kind of water shoe or flip flops. There are a ton of shells to walk on. One complaint I have is on a busier day at the beach they brought in a bigger 2 deck boat to pick us up. It couldn’t be docked at the pier so they put the front of the boat on the beach and put a ladder to the ground. You had to climb a completely vertical ladder to board. Coolers, strollers, etc… Everything had to go up this very small I will say “pool ladder” for lack of a better description. This seems like an accident waiting to happen.
The Hyatt hotel next door is also very nice. Went over twice to walk the grounds and also had a dinner at Tarpon Bay which was expensive but very good. The Ceviche was fantastic!!
My biggest issue with the resort is the quality of the drinks. Food was good and what to be expected at a pool. However if you are going to charge $10 for pool drinks they should be top notch. The Mojito seemed like something you can buy already prepared at the liquor store just poured over ice, and the other frozen concoctions we tried were also very poor quality. Lower the prices of your drinks or you need to upgrade your ingredients/bartenders.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 73Swid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've been to this hotel multiple times. My kids love this place! It's very relaxing....the grounds are very clean, the pools are awesome...they have a kiddie pool at just 2 feet deep, 2 huge pools with waterfalls and my kid's favorite - lazy river (a river pool). They also have an adult pool which is nice! The food at the hotel was good, but pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed there the first week in June - my husband and I and our 17 & 18 year olds. We have taken many family trips and have high expectations and this place was one of our favorites. The grounds were very clean, as well as the room and a great size, the location off the main road was wonderful. The hotel was very quiet except in the early morning when they were cutting the grass. The pool and lazy river were amazing. The pool food was good, but like all places, a little pricey. We took the trolley over to the boat landing and went to the beach. We borrowed a cooler from the hotel and brought snacks, the water was only 3 feet high and we really enjoyed ourselves. The small ponds on the property said "do not feed the alligators" and we thought they were kidding - on one of our last days, we did see a litlle gator (about 2-3 feet long) in the pond. The only thing I didn't like, was on the last day, there were a group of people with lots of boys from the hotel at our pool and they took up a hugh space of chairs and the boys were wild in the lazy river. I did tell the front desk when we were checking out and they apologized and said I should have told the pool attendant. We are planning on going back next year, and my teenagers want to come back as well!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom is great - we have a boy and girl, both teenagers who didn't want to share a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank made13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We are HVC owners, and have tried to make the rounds to all the properties. This was our first visit to a Florida property, and the Coconut Plantation did not dissappoint in the least.

The staff was extremely helpful and very nice from beginning to end. And the room we requested was granted. We stayed in a corner, one BR condo on the 3rd floor. Our screened balcony allowed great views of the lake and golf course. The room itself was, clean, spacious, and well appointed.

The property itself is kept immaculately clean. The pools are large, as is the lazy river. Our boys couldn't get enough of them. But what we really liked was the access to the private island, which is about a 15 minute ride from the hotel. Never more than 15-20 on the beach at any given time. Great way to spend a quiet day with the family. Went seashell hunting with the boys, and there were plenty to choose from.

Also, liked the secluded location...about two miles of off Hwy 41. Very quite back there, yet not too far from shopping and dining. Also, pretty close the the Hyatt hotel, which we visited to use their pools and waterslide.

Overall, I'd give the property an A. Would reccommend to anyone, and will hopefully one day visit again.

Room Tip: Building 53 had great views from top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

stayed only one night for a quick local qetaway. when i made the reservation i requested an early check-in. However, when i arrived twenty minutes before normal check-in i was told the room wasn't ready and had to wait in the lobby for 30 minutes for my room to be ready, watching people come and go with their room keys.

the next morning the maid knocked at the door at precisely 10am. when i apologized for running about 10 minutes late she didn't say anything but stood there looking at me like i had committed an awful crime.

the pool is great, which is why we chose this location. the lazy river is very shallow, especially in some parts.

i think if you own a timeshare or are wealthy you probably get treated a little different than i did. i was asked to pay $200/night and did, shouldn't the same courtesy and respect be delivered?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of October. We stayed in a 2bed 2bath unit that was beautifully decorated with high end fixtures. The beds were very comfortable and the unit was large with a very large screened balcony. There was a jacuzzi in the master bath and wall safes in both bedrooms. October being off season we had the run of the house as it was very quiet with the kids being back in school

The resort itself is off the beaten path, secluded and surrounded by golf courses. We especially enjoyed watching the golfer in the morning while drinking our coffee. The grounds are beautifully kept with small lakes and fountains. Alot of wildlife to watch while sitting on the balcony.

The pool is large with a lazy river connected to it that was alot of fun. They also had two pool bars, one served food for lunch and dinner, Reasonably priced with daily happy hour drinks. The food was good as far as bar food goes but the menu was limited. We ate lunch there a few times and dinner one night. They also have a fire pit that many people could sit around at night when it cooled down and have a drink etc...

While the resort itself is secluded you are in close proximity to Fort Myers, Fort Myers beach, Sanibel and Marco Islands and Naples. All within a 15-20 minute drive and if you wanted to eat close by there are several restaraunts within 5 minutes...

We also enjoyed the amenities such as the private beach and the Hyatt Hotel that was around the corner. We had full access to their restaraunts and pools including the 2 waterslides that we spent the afternoon enjoying one day.

We were really happy with our stay at the Hyatt Coconut Plantation and would love to go back in the near future. Remember this is a timeshare and does not have daily maid service. Also we were not bothered by the timeshare people once we told them we were not interested but here just for the vacation. The service and amenities here were excellent!

We really like having our own kitchen to make coffee in the morning and not be rushed to get dressed for breakfast. Also to come home and chill for a while in the afternoon, making our own snacks and drinks before going out to dinner at night. I also love having a washer and dryer in the room. You can pack light and save money on checking your bags. Timesharing is a different kind of vacation but we loved it!

Room Tip: If you have children you may want to ask for a room close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bpsmith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonita Springs
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Coconut Point
18.8 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Trianon Bonita Bay
Trianon Bonita Bay
#7 of 15 in Bonita Springs
476 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
553 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bonita Springs Naples North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Coconut Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Coconut Plantation

Address: 11800 Coconut Plantation Dr, Bonita Springs, FL 34134-7263
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Bonita Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bonita Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bonita Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Bonita Springs
Price Range: £211 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Coconut Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Coconut Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Coconut Plantation Hotel Bonita Springs
Hyatt Bonita Springs
Hyatt Hotel Bonita Springs
Hyatt Coconut Plantation Bonita Springs, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing