We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun place to try” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Backyard - CLOSED

The Backyard
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A fun place to try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stopped there with our 26 year old granddaughter the other night after picking her up from the airport. We tried the banana boat but there was a 40 minute wait.
We wanted to give her a Fl. experience.

Well did we pick the right place. !!! It was a beautiful, tropical night. The palm trees were all lit up and the tiki fires blazing. A magical way to unwind with good food and drinks. She even knew the songs from the band. There really is no other place like this around Boynton. Great Concept.

So, if you are a visitor and making the rounds of some local places, give this a try at night. If you live here and haven't tried it, make haste. If only once. Fun

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank magFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Visited the backyard after not having one in a year... Place was very much upgraded... Wait... It is a backyard atmosphere (sand, palm trees, music). Band was great, food was good (except the sliders were overlooked). Had oysters and fish dip for starters. Chicken fajitas were the highlight of the dinners...everyone tried the and was impressed. Frozen drinks were good as was selection of Due South local beer. Pleasantly surprised with the upgrades to the place. Will be even better when the weather gets a bit cooler!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pjvantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Laid back atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

It was quiet upon arrival yet was picking up once the not so good band began. Service from the bartenders was great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank malane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Went on a Saturday, around 5:00 p.m. as it gets pretty crowded later on. Took our dog, Sammy. He liked it there cause he go to sit on his daddy's lap and no one cared!

Whiteny, our bartender was really nice. She was so adorable and sweet. She made sure she brought us a bowl of water for Sammy before she even took our dirnk order! I like it when bartenders do that. I had the fish dip which was really good and my boyfriend had the wings which he also enjoyed.

It's a great outdoor spot. Nice size bar, with high tops in the same area, and a raw bar as well. Outside is a srage where they have entertainment later at night and an entire open air outside area with mor high tops, tables, and another bar. We sat in the "enclosed" bar "inside" although it's prettymuch all outside.

Nice little place that you wouldn't even know is there. It's open for lunch and dinner and it's a fn place for all ages, children a like. Don't know if they would enjoy the late night music, thought!

Will definately go back there. They had a good menu with lots of different choices, something for all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wendymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best local raw bar around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The place has only been open since last year and it just keeps getting better.

My husband and I are there a couple of times a month.

Its a great place to listen to music and have a few drinks on Friday and Saturday nights (the crowds can be entertaining). Reminds me of several places that I've been to in the Fla Keys.
We really have not had dinner there, but we have had many of the typical bar food items, like fish dip and hamburgers. Always tasty.
Sunday afternoons are my favorite when the weather is nice. A bloody mary with steamed shrimp and oysters is the best way to enjoy the day for me. The new raw bar has Not been a dissapointment at all. Very fresh seafood every time.
Ask your server about Due South craft beers. I am not a big fan of beer, but these are really good. Carmel Cream is awesome.
Things to keep in mind, its a little hard to find and it can be a little expensive, but not any more then most places around there. Its also ALL outdoors, so keep the weather in mind. We have been very luck the last few weeks and enjoyed the place many times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Backyard also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing