We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bradenton Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smugglers Cove by EVRentals
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We visited the smugglers Cove resort first 3 years ago and liked it so much returned the following year and purchased a weeks timeshare. It is not a top of the range timeshare resort, but the location is brilliant. For anyone that likes peace in a lovely location Bradenton is the place for you. Lots to do, if you like fishing, this area is great. Lovely restaurants around the area. Beach is great, dolphins normally seen daily. All in all a great place for a vacation. Returning again I September, can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the Smugglers Cove through a timeshare rental. We have rented many timeshares in the past few years and really enjoyed them. This resort is average. We tried to check in a few hours early and of course couldn't. So we went and ate lunch out. On our return back the unit was still NOT ready. Very frustrating as it wastes your whole first day. Check in was to be 3 and I think we got in around 4. Not too late but anytime we have done this before on Sanibel Island or Madeira Beach we were always welcomed to come in @ noon drop our bags and used the pool or beach. Our room was older style t.v and the one in the bedroom was so small you couldn't watch it! Not enough closet space to store out bags out of the way. Towels we received on exchange mid week were smelly. The pool here is shared with another on the property (Gulf Stream) and most times there were no lounges available for use. Nicely heated and the hot tub was great. We would head over to the beach across the road and no lounges were available there either as regulars would towel block them yet were no where to be found. You could carry some other chairs over from the shed but they were so old and rickety. We didn't bring our regular beach chairs as they said it wasn't needed. The Room itself was very clean and kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need to cook. There are no balconies to sit out on. It is a converted motel. The back of the resort has a wonderful garden that has the intercoastal to view. Really nice to fish out on the deck and also watch dolphins. Gas grills are there to use and we did BBQ 2 or 3 nights. There are rooms on the back that have balconies and those would have been a lot nicer if you can get one. The beach here is gorgeous and the water crystal clear. The searays were just a foot off shore and sometime jumped out of the water. Amazing! We met some very nice people here that are timeshare owners and they made us feel welcomed. Would I stay here again? Not likely. Very disappointed in the price for this unit as other years we had 2 bedroom , 2 bath private Lanai at a top notch location (Sanibel Island) for same price and just felt this location was not worth $$$$ I picked out another location down the beach for next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dyzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife , 12 year old Daughter and I stayed here as an RCI timeshare exchange on Thanksgiving week 2012.We really enjoyed our stay here and also enjoyed all of Anna Maria Island.The resort is older but very well kept. Our condo was very clean and decently spaced,we had a 1 bedroom with a full kitchen. on the bayside .There was a very nice tropical garden with walkways ,plenty of picnic seating and multiple gas grills for your usage ,there was a wooden pier also that you could sit on loungers on.We had a banana tree right outside our back door with bananas growing on it. there is good fishing on the Island and great restaurants.The white sand beach was right across the street,and the resort provides nice beach loungers for you which is great. Be sure to visit Bean point at the north end of the Island, it is a wide powdery white sand beach that actually looks like drifted snow,really beautiful with excellent sunsets also.There is a free trolley which will take you around the Island and this resort provided a free historic and informative tour of the Island on the trolley,courtesy of Louann who works for the resort,she'll let you know all you need to know about the Island ,where to visit and where to eat. All the people we met here were very friendly as were the staff.A lot of British and Scottish people own timeshares here and are very nice folks to get to know and talk with. We really liked it here and definitely would'nt hesitate to stay here again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deanroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rose, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

They meet my priority in clean rooms! They even came in to replace towels, sheets and amenities even soap for the dishwasher! Large screen TV and spacious Kitchen is a must for families. They had activities each day that you had options to attend or not! Keep you busy or leave you to a quiet vacation. We enjoyed the heated pool even in December! It is so near the downtown we could walk anywhere if you wished. Free shuttles take you anywhere on the island and bring you back! The beach is a short walk across the road! The laundry room was large and even had a large folding table! Plenty of shopping and lots of beach!

Room Tip: We had an upstairs end room. Was very satisfied, don't know about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StoneHutFosilShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We actually stayed in The Penthouses at Gulf Stream, which is on the same property as Smugglers and is its sister resort, and it was fabulous.
2 bed apartment was beautiful with a view of the pool and the beach, smaller friendly family resort with a great beach side location.
Lots of great restaurants near by, Anna Maria island is simply fabulous! And we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyke9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Smuggler's Cove together with its on-site sister resort Gulf Stream offer both quiet, peaceful, laid back vacation retreats that have both timeshare and general rental accommodation available. They have their own private beach access across the slow trafficked road plus a private fishing and boat dock on the intra-coastal bay side. Gulf Stream resort looks towards the beach and over the pool areas and Smugglers overlooks the car park and the intra-coastal waterway bay.

Smuggler's itself is an older 1-bed unit resort which lies alongside its newer larger 2 bed/2 bath resort called Gulf Stream, both share the same site and common facilities and both offer excellent accommodation to suit a variety of cost budgets and unit size preferences. Smugglers Cove offers studios and one bedroom units, some of which overlook the bay-side gardens and inland waterway. Gulf Stream offers larger 2 bed 2 bath units with in-situ laundry in each unit. Both Smugglers and Gulf Stream units have fully equipped kitchens and extra supplies are available from the front desk.

There is a good sized heated pool and an excellent hot tub on site. Books, DVDs, videos, games and much more are all freely available to borrow from the front desk. Beautiful bayside gardens where BBQs, tables, chairs and loungers are set out and along the fishing/boat dock. Free WIFI is also available at the resorts.

The whole resort offers seasonal activities and a weekly welcome breakfast where the week's activities are explained. Most activities are free or at very little cost and are good fun for all ages. Tables and loungers are already provided on the beach and beach umbrellas, folding chairs, bicycles and other items are freely available from the front desk office.

The Island's free trolley bus (which also has a bike rack on the front of each bus, so you can cycle one way and bus back) stops very close by, two or three times an hour every day, so although a car is essential for trips further afield, the trolley is a free and fun way to travel round the island, hop-on/hop-off whenever you like. The island has several shopping and interesting areas and piers laid along its length and is itself linked to the mainland by two main bridges and causeways towards the north and south. At the far southern tip at Coquina beach it is linked by another bridge to the neighbouring island of Longboat Key, which in turn is linked at its southern tip to Sarasota and fashionable St Armands Circle.

We started going to Smugglers and Gulf Stream (from England/U.K.) for part of a two week Florida holiday, including the Orlando parks for one week and the beautiful Gulf Coast for a second week, many years ago and kept coming back until eventually we bought into the timeshare offered (very low key sales, the resorts are pretty well sold out and there is no heavy sales pressure at all, it doesn't need it) as it suited our vacation plans. Since becoming retired and having more time available, we have added extra weeks so we can enjoy this little piece of paradise for longer vacations. But equally many folk just book a unit in the normal rental way, whenever there is space available.

We have known this quiet part of Florida ever since we spent our honeymoon on Longboat Key island a long time ago and can happily recommend this part of the world to anyone seeking a gentle, peaceful, relaxing vacation with beautiful sunsets, and free trolley transport to all the island shops, other beaches and places of interest, and to be close enough to visit the wider cultural attractions of Sarasota, Tampa and of course Orlando, any of which are within a day's outing.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a Bayside Smuggler's unit available and chose one of those, only because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JayStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield(UK)
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The location is perfect. Beach is within 10 metres. Restaurants are within walking distance or the free trolley bus. Staff at the resort are very friendly and well informed about the local amenities - especially the restaurants.

The uints were dated but contained everything you needed for a good vacation. The air conditioning was 'just' sufficient. I am not sure whether it would have coped with peak summer temperatures.

Publix supermartket was close at hand.

Sunsets awesome, you must take a camera. Sunrise bayside is also something to behold. The bayside gardens are a delight.

I would holiday here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.1 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
674 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#6 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#2 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove by EVRentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove by EVRentals

Property: Smugglers Cove by EVRentals
Address: 1501 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2324
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Number of rooms: 279
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove By Evrentals Hotel Bradenton Beach
Smugglers Cove By EVRentals Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing