We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotten Ralph's IS ROTTEN”
Review of Rotten Ralph's - CLOSED

Rotten Ralph's
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The food at this restaurant is horrible! I would avoid it at all costs! There are too many good establishments available towaste time and money at Rotten Ralph's. Go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lease123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reelerotten, Owner at Rotten Ralph's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

You have to love a person that just posts a mean spirited review that has no constructive criticism and nothing to offer other than insults.... If you have of substance to say then please feel free... I can't fix insults....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Rotten Ralphs is no longer in bussiness. Negotations are with another restaurant (family) to be going there....once the pilings are being fixed.....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ruthann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reelerotten, Owner at Rotten Ralph's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We actually ARE still in business but we are no longer on the Pier.. We are now in town at 34th St. W. and 60th Ave... 5942 34th St. W. is the actual address....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I worked in a Library for 10 years and there was a series of books called Rotten Ralphs, so I had to go here...This is a hole in the wall, or should I say a dive by the fishing boats...Anyway you look at it is a great place to eat...Once again, eating alfresco is my favorite way in warm climates...The food was great, staff was on top of it...Enjoyed it...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DramJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Rumor has it they are taking the "Rotten" out of the restaurant name, but after our visit there the other night, they need to keep the adjective because it fits perfectly. and let me say.. ROTTEN doesn’t quite cover it… it was FILTHY (the 2 previous proprieters NEVER kept the place clean... and each time we figured the new leasee would clean and do some sort of rennovations - not true of ANY of them).

THE SERVICE WAS ALSO FILTHY AND JUST PLAIN BAD…

2 SMALL EXAMPLES:
I could see each of the waitresses grabbing silverware for settings as people were getting their food... they were grabbing the silverware by the EATING END! NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ok… if you are going to do it that way.. AT LEAST don't let me see it... BUT your hands have been all over everything in the place and you are going to touch the part of the fork with which I eat! NOOO!

Even their clothes looked gross.

We also noticed that the waitresses all appeared to be very busy, always moving about, but never really seeming to be doing anything.. one walked around for 5 mins with 2 plates of food.. just walking around and around with it... and I kept hoping it wasn't our food because it went by every table in the place and had to be ice cold by the time it arrived at the right table, which, thankfully, was not ours.

The food was terrible...My husband said his fish had no flavor... and it was SWIMMING (almost literally because it didn't look fully cooked) - in GREASE... GOOD THING HE DOESN'T HAVE A GALL BLADDER ANYMORE! I ordered pasta with "Ralphredo" sauce... and veggies... i guess they considered a sprinkle of parsley would be considered vegetables...

Anyway... in addition to bad service, bad food, and disgusting conditions, they also charge island prices for a VERY non-island atmosphere. We love our tiki bars on the island and off... and don't mind paying the prices when they are warranted.. but in this case... they should have been paying us...

So when they call it Rotten Ralph's.. believe me.. IT IS!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ktbCA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reelerotten, Owner at Rotten Ralph's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

After 35 years in the restaurant industry I have come to realize that you can't please everyone.. You hate to ever here of someone leaving your place disappointed.... It is always much better to speak up at the time and let the establishment know there was a problem...

I have some real issues with this review...

First of all we are a brand new establishment and there are always things you need to adjust when you first open... Before we opened the doors here we pressure washed and painted the entire restaurant, it is not filthy as these people stated...

Secondly they stated that the fish was tasteless... We pay extra to bring in top quality Cold Water Haddock because it is such a good fish... This isn't the Pollack or Cod that most places use and it isn't frozen pre-breaded fish... We bring in a top quality fish at extra expense and we batter and cook it to order....

Thirdly, They claim the the servers were handling the silverware by the wrong end... We wash our silverware the servers then polish it to remove water stains and immediately roll it in napkins..

Fourthly they claim a sever was walking around with the same plates of food for 5 minutes.. That is ridiculous...

Finally I sent these people an Email apologizing for their bad experience, thanking them for taking the time to review us and offering to try and fix the problem, also I asked them for more information in order to address any possible issues... They didn't even dignify my Email with a response....

I really appreciate constructive criticism and any advice to help us improve... I don't appreciate people who post mean spirited reviews that have little or no basis in truth and make statements they aren't willing to back up or defend... This is the only review this person has ever posted... I have no idea what their agenda is but I am proud of my staff and my establishment and felt this review should not go without a response....

Thank you for taking the time to read this and form your own opinion... Dave Russell and the Crew at Ralph's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I made the trip to Bradenton to try out the new location of Rotten Ralphs located on 34th St West, Bradenton Fl 34210. I think they just opened over the weekend at this new place.
Its a charming old florida looking place with great food like the other location on the Pier.
I had the Blackened Grouper with french fries. Was a large meal and was very filling.
I think the owner, name is Dave, came by my table to thank me for the business and chatted with me about his early childhood of playing in a Rock Band ! Another employee, I think the cook named Eddie came over to the table to make sure my food was cooked ok...i said yes and I could tell he was pleased. These folks are really nice and its a great feeling eating at a family owned business.
Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank avenuedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotten Ralph's also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing