We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tortuga Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$220
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Beach Resort(Bradenton Beach)
US$311
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Gate Resort(Bradenton Beach)
US$202
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Post(Bradenton Beach)
US$218
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Time Inn(Bradenton Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveller rating
714
150
47
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
150
47
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courtanna maria islandacross the streetgarden apartmentfull kitchenpartial viewbedroom bathhotel roomfree trolleywasher and dryernext yearget awayhome away from homelaundry roomrestaurants and shopslounge chairstrolley stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 941 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Once again, we stayed in the Garden Apts, fully appointed condos, so beautifully decorated a la Tommy Bahama island style, very spacious with a full kitchen, dining area, living room, and jacuzzi tub. We were welcomed back with a lovely note from the management, a nice touch. Everyone on the staff is very friendly, professional, and genuine. There are two pools, one semi-private right outside our door in our building. They have almost completed a big gazebo on the beach, perfect for a romantic rendezvous or a big party. The location is perfect if you want to bike or drive up and down the coast, to Longboat Key, for example. There is plenty of covered, complimentary parking. There are wonderful restaurants and bars within walking distance, too. There is a little gift shop and light bites spot on the property. Only issue was a very loud wedding party, there for the two nights we were there, in the building across from us. Unfortunately, there is no staff on at night, so, had to deal with it ourselves, but, not awful. Returning in February, we will be staying in the Palm Court South, want to see what that's like, but, you cannot beat the Garden Apts, for romantic getaway or for the whole family. Beautiful sunset spot!

Room Tip: LOVE the Garden Apts!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights the week before Christmas, and had a wonderful stay overall. I've been coming to AMI my whole life, but having to move out of the state we now have to find places to stay when we come down for vacation. This is our first experience with this resort. We stayed in a Palm Court South Hotel Room, on the second floor. It was very quiet, though I don't think they had a lot of people staying there at the moment (the "flock" was not in full swing yet.) The room had all the basics plus some, and was clean. It was nicely decorated, and seemed fairly up-to-date. There was free wi-fi and phone service (cell phone signals are weak on the island). There was a mini-fridge and microwave, but there were also plates, utensils, and glasses to use. The bed was okay, the mattress was a little firm for my preference but not unreasonable. There were lots of pillows to choose from. My only suggestions for improvement, which are extremely minor, are to find a way to hang the "do not disturb" sign as the door handle was not a knob (maybe I missed a hook or something else?) and to invest in some larger bath towels (currently has the old style small, white hotel towels).

The property itself was great, with the pool and location/access to the beach. The beach chairs were on the beach and easy to access. You can pick-up towels from the front desk each day. There was a covered deck with tables/chairs on the beach as well, if you want a little shade. It is a good location on the island as well, and within walking distance to some of our favorite restaurants. The front desk was very friendly during check-in and check-out. May try a different category of room next time, but would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rxbecca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Tortuga is a lovely place with access to both the beach and the bay. Unfortunately, our stay was only for one night, as we were attending a wedding. It has a variety of room options, and we chose a studio. It is obvious that the staff takes pride in their facility, keeping it clean and in good working order. The kitchenette came with standard appliances, minimal dishes/pots/pans/etc., and coffee with the coffee maker. There is a Publix grocery store less than a mile away. The bathroom had small soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion bottles like you would find in any hotel. You could easily spend a relaxing week here. There is a garden courtyard separating the two buildings. The beach is literally across the street, and a marina on the bay is at the back of the property. It was a very quiet, calm atmosphere but that may be due to the time of the year we were there: mid-November. The staff makes every effort to anticipate the needs of their guests. In addition to WiFi, there's computer in the lobby that I used to check-in online with my airline and print a boarding pass.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at the resort for a wedding. The resort did an excellent job coordinating with everyone for the wedding to make sure we all got rooms. The resort offers a number of room options from single beds to 3-4 bedroom units that allowed us to stay with family. The rooms were very clean, the staff was very friendly and they made sure our visit was enjoyable.

The resort is located within walking distance of restaurants, shops and most importantly the beach. All you have to do is walk across the street and you are right on the beach. The resort allows you to take chairs and umbrellas over to the beach where most places would charge you. I would recommend the resort for anyone looking for a great beach spot that has a small, local feel rather than a chain hotel/resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayReardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Brought my friend here! She lived it but then, I knew she would! Everything was perfect. Rented a hotel room this time. Just as nice as the 2 bedroom full kitchen. The cafe had great food. Pet friendly, quiet just perfect. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Every room us special!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews