We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tortuga Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I have to say I was a bit skeptical going in but the reviews were all so good. I ended up booking only a few days before our stay and since the villa was booked I ended up taking the regular hotel room style room in the Palm Court South building. I figured since this was the lowest end room I would not be terribly impressed but I was wrong! It was a perfect size for my husband and I, a short walk to the pool and had a little shared courtyard outside. The shower was great, good pressure and double shower head option and it was all open (no shower curtain). We had a small refrigerator and a microwave which was all we needed but if you want a full kitchen you can step up to the studio room. It was so homey and warm and nice touches to the room itself. The pool was great...heated and lit at night but not with those annoying bright lights but more turtle friendly yellow lighting. It was right across from the beach and what a beach! The white sand and the blue waters made me feel like I was in the Caribbean and you could snorkel really well. There were no waves and you could stand pretty far out. In fact we saw dolphins pass right by us!! Lots of sea life and crystal clear water to view it. They also have a great dock off the bay side behind the villas that you can walk out on. The free trolley stops just outside the hotel. Very convenient although it was a slight wait for it to show up. Tip: if you want to go north to Bean Point area there is no parking and so the trolley is a great option. We didn't do that and got stuck not being able to park. Lesson learned. I will also pass on a towel tip: you can exchange your beach\pool towels if they are wet or dirty in the lobby and I recommend the striped towels...they are nicer and the yellow striped ones were nice and big. They also provide beach umbrellas!

This place was so peaceful and quiet too. Close to restaurants and you can even walk to the BeachHouse restaurant which had amazing food and was right on the beach a bit south of the hotel. The beaches right there are just stunning and although my husband and I did explore the beaches of Longboat Key and Lido I have to say the best was right by the Tortuga Inn. My only complaint (more of an aggitation than a complaint) was that they had a guy gathering up the beach chairs at sunset and he made us get up so he could "lock up the chairs" for the night. The sun wasn't even fully down yet and there were like 10 chairs maybe on the beach...all occupied, so I suspect he had to disappoint several guests. We were enjoying just sitting and watching the sunset. But it didn't spoil my enjoyment...you can always sit in the sand.

Overall...you cannot go wrong with this resort. The only thing I wish it had was a jacuzzi. They do have a private one for the people who rent the villa but not one for the rest of the hotel so if you really insist on enjoying a jacuzzi definitely chose the villa!!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HollyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    144
    43
    19
    11
See reviews for
380
328
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I took my mother to the Tortuga Inn to celebrate her 75th birthday. It is hard to say enough about the Tortuga Inn. It definitely deserves its top rating on Anna Maria Island. The rooms are spacious, impecably clean and the furnishings and finishes are high quality. The tropical grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained. The staff is upbeat and friendly.

Our room, the Bayside Vills North, second floor has an incredible 180-degree view of Sarasota Bay and shares a private pool with the villa below. It has without question the best view at the hotel. The huge balcony was an incredible place for breakfast and evening cocktails. The semi-private pool was so peaceful and beautiful that it was hard to tear ourselves away from the pool to go to the beach!

While there is no restaurant on the property almost all units have kitchens. This is the case all over Anna Maria. So if you need a full service resort this hotel and Anna Maria are probably not for you. There are several restaurants within walking distance and many more a short drive away. A Publix is five minutes away for you to stock your refrigerator.

Beach chairs , towels and umbrellas are provided free of charge to all hotel guests. The hotel is very pet friendly and charges only a nominal fee.

I cannot recommend the Tortuga enough. A charming inn on a charming island

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhtpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The staff is great,(especially Tim & Katie) friendly & courteous. The accomodations are immaculate (definitly a prequisite for me) and has all the comforts of home. Their beach is beautiful, uncrowded & peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCP555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrah, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Two families converged on Anna Maria Island for a wedding. It was my granddaughters long time dream to have a beach wedding. We had a marvelous wedding planner and we stayed at the Tortuga Inn. Perhaps the best comment came from my granddaughter and her new husband that the whole week was "perfect, even better that she had dreamed."

As we sadly left to rejoin the real world, we all agreed that we would come back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oklah0magma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We live in Sarasota but like to go out to the beach for a couple of days. This was our third visit to the Tortuga and it is as great as ever. We always get in one of the second floor suites facing the Gulf. The suites are just perfect for the two of us. The decor is very comfortable and we like having the little kitchen and particularly love the jacuzzi tub. The inn has a great laid-back atmosphere and you just have to walk across the street to be right on the beautiful sugar white sand beach. I like that the Tortuga furnishes beach loungers and unbrellas. We spent one day on the beach and the other by the pool. A great mini vacationi.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelTufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Went with a group of 14 other girls, and we rented 3 suites. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff came in every day to clean, which was nice. Kitchen was well equipped. The place is definetely not cheap for what it is, but overall it was fine. I liked the fact that it was right across the street from the beach, very convenient. My only complaint is that there is no cell phone reception in the rooms, but they have addressed this issue by providing free and unlimited long distance calls from the rooms.
Overall, it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snshn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Where do I start? I mean this place is so amazing, it’s hard to even come up with the right words to describe it…but if I had to chose one, it would be pure PARADISE!!!

My boyfriend, his parents, their little dog, and I were only really supposed to go down for a quick 2 day getaway, instead we ended up staying for 5! Now if that doesn’t tell you how great this place is, then well let me go on. I’m from NJ, and his parents live in Tampa, so we decided to head down a bit earlier than them and hang out at the beach before the 4 pm check-in time was. Well we got down there at around 1 or so, and went into the office to let them know we were in town and to see if they could contact us when the room was ready. Not a problem of course. They even told us to go ahead and grab some towels from them and start using the facilty right away! Awesome, we hung out around the pool for an hour and before we knew it, our room was done and we could go ahead and check in. We stayed in Unit # 154, which is a 2 bed – 2 bath, condo on the bay. BEAUTIFUL!!! (see my pics) we walked in and were completely taken aback by the beauty of the place, and not to mention for clean it was. Right off the bat, we were in love with the place. Even down to the crown molding on the ceiling gave it the upscale, classy look. Just gorgeous! Dolphins, pelicans, herons, and all sorts of beautiful wildlife love it there too. (could ya blame them)

I can’t say enough about the staff…from the maids, to the groundskeeper, to Tom in the front office, everyone was just a delightful! The Tortuga makes you feel at home, so much so it’s hard to leave! We can’t wait to go back, it’s definitely a treasure we found in paradise!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena_N81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Resort

Property: Tortuga Beach Resort
Address: 1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2315
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuga Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beach-to-bay resort on Florida's unspoiled Ann Maria Island. Tortuga Beach Resort offers a wide range of truly fabulous vacation rentals, many with Gulf or Bay views, plus a private white sand beach just across the street, three heated pools, pet friendly, and a 14-slip boat dock. Enjoy our new Le Petit Cafe and Tortuga Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tortuga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Inn & Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tortuga Inn And Beach Resort
Tortuga Hotel Beach
Tortuga Motel Beach
Tortuga Inn Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing