We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gulf Drive Cafe - They could use more staff”
Review of Gulf Drive Cafe

Gulf Drive Cafe
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gulf Drive Cafe - They could use more staff”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Ate there twice during our trip. Once for breakfast. The service was entirely too slow and our server was overwhelmed with too many tables. The breakfast food was average.
Because it was walking distance from our hotel, we gave it another chance for lunch. Again the service was slow. We sat for 15 minutes with no acknowledgement and my husband finally sought out help. We ended up getting a server from another station to step up and take care of us. Once he did, the service was much better. We watched other tables around us have to look for their servers and wait a long time. I had the fried grouper sandwich and it was very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    263
    183
    153
    251
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You really only go here for the view!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

You cannot beat the view! It truly doesn't get any better. From a local's perspective this is where you take out of town visitors it is not the place to have fantastic service, with to die for food. We have been coming here for years even before the major renovations. We were in the mood for a fantastic sun set and at with the encouragement of a good friend decided to give it another try!! The service at this place has always been an issue, and let me just say nothing and I mean nothing has changed. We had to flag down a waitress after ours walked right by us for about 20mins. When she finally stopped by it was "what are we drinking?" my wine showed up in a plastic cup when everyone around us had a wine glass.....not a big deal we were sitting on the beach after all......we had to ask to order food. Menu's showed up, mine was not gross it was DISGUSTING. Had been left in the rain or something was moldy inside the plastic......not joking. We flagged her again and asked if we could order. When we did so, her response was and I quote "K", not would you care for something to start or would you like to order a salad.....nothing. Food took for ever about 40 minutes, good job we were enjoying the view.
When it showed up someone else brought it. No utensils, no extra napkins, had to ask for both. Waitress showed up halfway thru asked if we wanted anything else.....we got another round of drinks. So 3 drinks each and 2 entrees bill was $115.00.....yikes! Don't waste your money...go for a drink and an app for sunset. or a drink at the bar, soak in the amazing view and go to a real restaurant for dinner!!! We won't be doing this again! This is a fantastic location....to bad they are catering to tourists who usually don't have a choice or won't be back and don't care cause they are on vacation!! Shame on you Gulf Drive Café......you should have spend some of your renovation money on training some decent service staff!!!!!!!!!!For the record in reading the reviews, you need to promote COLIN, and have him train all the other staff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank britgirl1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Colin was the best server we have ever had!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I with a group of our friends decided to seat our selves in the large open tiki room due to the number of us. The hostess said we would have to belly up to the bar for our drinks but to oursurprise Colin came out and took care of us, running our group drinks through a rainstorm and all. Thanks to his hospitality we closed up the place and put a good cap on the end of the memorial day weekend. Oh yeah and the owner George should come out of his shell a little more often!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Excellent Service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My friend and I have been to Anna Maria Island several times over the past few years. We've had breakfast at Gulf Drive Café a few times and it's always been delicious. Located right on the beach on the Gulf of Mexico, the scenic view and location is breath taking.
We spent this 2014 Memorial Weekend on Anna Maria Island having breakfast one morning at Gulf Drive Café. Our server, April, is wonderful. April was very attentive, friendly and just awesome. My friend and I chose to have dinner there that same night because of April. We had never had dinner there before on any of our previous visits. We were not disappointed. The dinner menu has a nice variety and selection to choose from.
The hostess, Stephanie, was also friendly making us feel very welcome and special to have chosen Gulf Drive Cafe' to have dinner. Breakfast was also as nice as dinner.
We definitely recommend Gulf Drive Cafe' for breakfast, lunch or dinner or all three.
Thank you Stephanie and April for making us feel so welcome. We will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cc4aud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After reading some of the negative reviews, my husband and I went to the Gulf Drive Café with fairly low expectations. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food and the fantastic service by our server, Collin. You can't beat this spot for fantastic views,cold tropical drinks and a warm and friendly environment. We are locals and will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulf Drive Cafe also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Gulf Drive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing