We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; questionable staff. ”
Review of The Kokonut Hut

The Kokonut Hut
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location; questionable staff. ”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The setting is perfect, the food is good, but the service could be improved- and it seems to stem from one waitress who feels the need to boss the rest of the staff around when they are in the middle of a conversation with patrons/taking orders. Seriously, no less than three times out waitress was talking to us and another felt the need to interrupt and bark orders ( which seemingly we're not important and could wait...e.g., I think your other table is wrapping up now). Ditch this anchor and the place would be improved instantly.

Helpful?
Thank T8ntboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    18
    17
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch with a great setting”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This has to be one the easiest reviews I have written. This place is very, very good.

The setting is fantastic - right on the beach as you drive down into Bradenton with parking opposite.

We (family of four) waked in for lunch and we were met by Lauren and Megan who looked after us throughout our time.

After lunch we played on the beach before returning for a late afternoon drink.

Food was good, location and service excellent. Sadly due to wanting to try other places we have not been back but when we return to AMI it's in the top three for us to come back to.

I have no idea why some reviewers have not the same experience we had - although on hearing how some guests have spoken, since arriving for our holiday in the US, to waiting staff you do wonder if this has anything to do with it?

This is a great place for lunch, I'm sure you'll enjoy it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JW1000M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Last place we visited on our vacation. We wanted to see a beautiful sunset. This place delivered. What an amazing sunset. The food was also amazing. Sitting on the beach we ordered the calamari and shrimp and scallop pasta. Both were phenomenal. Yes and both were a little pricey! But they were both well worth it. Highly recommend this place to all visiting Bradenton beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank susann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced cheap diner food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

$8.25 watered down mojitos served in plastic cups, 5 slices of fried green tomatoes priced at $7.00, A small bowl of mediocre clam chowder for $6.25 and coconut shrimp entrée that had 10 pieces of very small shrimp and over-fried waffle fries for $18.99!! Everything that was fried was a dark brown color, suggesting that their fryer's oil was well overdue to be changed out. For 2 appetizers, 2 drinks and one share entrée, the bill came to $60! Definitely not worth that price, and one of the worst meals myself and my grandmother had. Unfortunately, this was her birthday dinner and I was embarrassed that we decided to come here. On top of it all, the service was slow and we had to repeatedly ask for things such as refills, silverware and napkins! Ridiculous. Please, do yourself a favor and avoid this place altogether.
HIGHLIGHTS: TERRIBLE SERVICE, OVERPRICED, AWFUL FOOD, AWKWARD SERVERS WHO FORGET TO BRING YOU THE NECCESITIES AND DISGUSTING WATERED-DOWN BEVERAGES.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ALEX F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Fantastic view. Good food.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed cocktails as the sun set. The view was incredible and you could see it from pretty much every table. Food was fine and so was the service. Grouper sandwich and fried oysters were especially good. Family said the desserts were exceptional and there was a large selection. It was a lovely evening on the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PennWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kokonut Hut also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to The Kokonut Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing