We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice getaway!”
Review of Pelican Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Post
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Reviewed 9 July 2014

So I read the reviews and such... so here is my 2 cents worth :)
I stayed here one night- needed a reason to get out Orlando.... we Orlando-ites don't get to the beach as much as we should. Anyway, I drove over in the morning and spent it on the beach. About 2 I went over the the Pelican and they were able to let me check in early. So shower, a rest and back out again. Spent sunset and the next morning at the beach too. Check out is at 11 so I had time to shower before leaving again :) and miss morning traffic.

So Ill make this easy for you: PROS
Price, location, VERY CLEAN, has mini fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, TV, Free WIFI, Very quiet, comfortable bed, close to the trolley, a little handbook tells you what you need and it was full of brochures, Shower is strong enough that it is nearly a massage, Beach is a 2 min walk... did I mention Very Clean...

CONS: (What people may consider cons and more 2 cents)

No ice maker--- Circle K is a 1 min walk if that, AND the mini freezer had Ice already waiting for
me
A few splits in paint- yeah well so does my garage
No pool--- Um Im here for the beach who cares...
AC is a wall unit -- so the room was warm for all of 20 min when I first checkin, turn on the AC and
fan and you are good to go.. I mean I just spent all morning on the beach, Im
already warm. - it give off some white noise-- again so what
No bathtub - I dont have kids no matter but the shower edge is almost 12 inches so if you lay a
stopper on it you would get a mini bath that would work for littles
No mini shampoo stuff- I always have my own anyway

I saw some post about furniture being dated..this is like a mother in law suite or the furniture you grab from you parents your 1st year of college. It functions. :)

Other:
I took the trolly around the island it stop every 4 blocks or so, so if you see something just pull the cable and back track a little. It passes a Walgreens and a Publix and run about every 20 min. Its AC.

The 2 places I ate were Island Time - good food good prices look for the daily specials.. and Joes Eats and Sweets..or is it Sweets and Eats.. anyway they make everything so they good if you have allergies of any sorts... (dessert place)

The beaches are scallop shells mostly, saw lots of birds, some dolphins and a couple of stingrays :) The sand is powered sugar... soft soft and everywhere not sure it will ever leave the car :)

Anyway I will be back it was a pleasant stay, no issues. I didn't give it a 5 cause most people like me won't read the 5's :)

Room Tip: I was in 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Second time at the PP.I just love this place.Got the king studio this time,just perfect everything you need and nothing you don't.No pool but a great place to relax before or after the madness of Orlando.3 days of doing absolutely nothing,not that theres much to do on Anna Maria.If you want lots of bars/clubs,chain hotel, shops,Restaurants and starbucks then this place isn't for you.but tranquil quiet surroundings/beach a few quaint eateries and a couple of bars then your in heaven.Theres a great pizza place a couple of blocks away.
If you do decide the PP is for you then don't tell too many people this place is the best kept secret in Florida.
Just remember PP isn't a motel its a state of mind!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sja.red10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at this Motel this past weekend and absolutely Loved It! Very clean, quiet and cozy! Close to Everything! Felt very safe and welcomed! I had guests that visited during my stay and they were so accomodating and provided extra parking spaces as there is only 1 space per room. Was so awesome to walk out of the room and know the beach was a minute's walk away!! Highly recommend Bridge Street the next block over.....especially the Bridge Tender on the water for Sunset cocktails! I will definately return; in fact cannot wait for my next getaway to Bradenton Beach :.) Hats off to the Owners and staff for this Gem of a Motel!! C. Reese, Palm Harbor, FL

Room Tip: I stayed in the studio which was plenty of room for 2 adults. A/C kept the room very cool and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reese0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Loved the pelican and the staff! Also very clean they definitely take pride in that we saw then cleaning 1 room and they probably spent all day! Super close to the beach, food, and gift shops! A friend of ours stayed in a different hotel that looked a lot the same and paid at least twice the amount! I would definitely stay there again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emallly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very cute and cozy, not the hilton but great place to stay. Could use a pool but only 2 blocks to the beach and 2 blocks to the pier. Great value for the money. Centrally located, walked to several stores and ice cream shop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Heading north from Naples we made a last minute decision to stop here for the night on our way home. We were originally supposed to spend a week in the area but due to family needs we had to cancel. We arrived tired and were not disappointed. The beds were very comfy and the sheets clean and crisp. We were in a small studio room with kitchenette and 2 double beds. The room was a very good size with plenty of room. Walk in shower and and window unit a/c that worked perfectly. We were very sorry to leave the next day mid-morning and were so please we were trying to figure out how we could stay longer. We loved the location. VERY easy walk to the gulf beach and restaurants. We explored the island a bit before heading home. I was trying to decide between 3 or 4 star and decided on 4 because of cleanliness, location and charm! Would definitely return to the Pelican Post.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreemscometrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Pelican Post. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. We liked the location (if not directly on the beach.) The room could have been stocked with more items. Not like a hotel where you get soap, shampoo, conditioner in case you left yours at home. We had to ask for a few other items (which were provided.) We had the King Deluxe and appreciated the separate bedroom and the kitchenette. There is only an air conditioner in the bedroom though so when the door is closed it get warm in the living area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
1.4 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#1 of 15 in Holmes Beach
1,006 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
175 reviews
3.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
0.1 mi away
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
BridgeWalk a Landmark Resort
#1 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Post

Address: 202 1st St N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range: £119 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Post 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Post is just what you need for an easy, relaxed and affordable beach vacation! Just 150 steps from the gorgeous Gulf beach in the charming little town of Bradenton Beach on Anna Maria Island, you'll have a pleasant ground floor studio, apartment, or suite near not only the beach, but the fishing pier, and little shops and restaurants. You can count on a nice, clean, cozy room or apartment, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pelican Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Post Hotel Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing