We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pelican Post
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$207
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Beach Resort(Bradenton Beach)
US$311
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Gate Resort(Bradenton Beach)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tortuga Beach Resort(Bradenton Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Time Inn(Bradenton Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
63
34
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
34
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfall breakold style motelfree bikestwo blocksbridge streetmin walkking studiowindow unitrestaurants and shopsper nightmain roadnext yearget awaypost officeperfect locationfull kitchenanna maria island is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

No, it's not glamorous, but it was spotlessly clean (I wish Shirley would visit my house!), the beds were comfortable and the beach was close enough that my two-year-old easily made the walk. The one-bedroom suite had everything we needed, and there were enough restaurants and convenience stores nearby that the car stayed parked most of the trip. We were hoping for a laid-back beach weeekend getaway, and found exactly what we wanted at Bradenton Beach/Anna Maria Island. We will visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peabee0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

When we arrived, we were told that our prebooked king room was being refurbished. We were given a suite instead at no extra cost (of course). Owners were helpful and friendly. Suite was clean enough and had what we needed. Bed was very comfortable even though it looked like it was about to fall apart.
The only small issue with our stay was that the ac was pretty loud and just barly kept the room cool enough.
The location is very good, 10 min walk over the bridge to Cortez. There are bikes free of charge at the "motel" and we used them frequently. AMI is close paradise, people are laid back and friendly, that goes for both the tourists and locals. We will be back to AMI/Cortez for sure and will certainly consider the Pelican Post again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmellyApearms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

My first visit to AMI was in 2005 as a single parent with my little son- I knew nothing about the island, had limited internet access & had a strict budget. So I booked a room - and when I got there Alistair welcomed us -showed us to our efficiency room, told us about things to do & see. Our room was nothing fancy but a place to lay our heads at night. After two days Allistair said a family that was staying in one of the one bedroom apartments had checked out, and he wouldn't mind if we stayed there for the rest of our stay since it was not booked and he thought we could use the more space. And no extra cost. I'll never forget that kindness. Its getting harder & harder to find people who are willing to be nice without getting something for it. It was great to have a kitchen to cook and not have to eat out every meal, which left us more $$ to do activities. My son had a great time catching lizards in the yard. We have since come back almost every year - however a friend bought a place that we can stay in, otherwise I would be right back at The Pelican Post. I have great memories every time I pass by.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frezncoldnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Arrived to cooler weather than normal for this time of year, but still warmer than where we came from.

Check in was quick, entered 1 bedroom unit, was clean, tiled floors, newer updates to kitchenette, and older tiled bathroom.

Since it was colder, we had the run the AC unit as a heater the first night, but not needed the rest of the stay.

Enjoyed stay, and if we return to the area will not hesitate to stay again...compared to other condo rentals, a very good deal.

Pros:
Good location, 1 minute walk to Gulf Side, 1 minute walk to Bay Side (Bradenton Pier)
Outside Patio Furniture for lounging
Close to Post Office
Clean Room/Kitchen/Bathroom
Very resonable price for time period
As close to beach as other higher price condos

Cons:
Old bed, a little noiser, not overly comfortable...we were in Unit 7
Toilet runs a little long, had to jiggle stopper a couple of times, not a issue that was bad, just a little annoying after a while...

Some things to remember:
Tile floors, don't forget some slippers (socks dirty up fast..)
Visit Publix on North end of island for supplies...
Use the bikes available to tour around
Don't feed the birds and they will eventually try not to get into your room...lol...

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bundy316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Booked two rooms last minute. Very happy that we stayed there. Great convenient location. Could walk to beach, restaurants, etc. Passed the cleaniness test by the fussiest person in party (age 80). Youngest member (20) enjoyed seeing something different than generic chain motel. Everyone wished we could stay longer. We hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank emh115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews