We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but friendly atmosphere”
Review of Shrimp Boat Grill

Shrimp Boat Grill
Ranked #4 of 302 Restaurants in Brandon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Small, but friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Food is good; it is a small place in strip mall, but the staff and servers have always been pleasant. We have used them on several occasions to entertain out of town guests where you want to have an intimate discussion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    109
    43
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our kind of place”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Local kind of place, food is good, service prompt and friendly, prices reasonable--great place to gather with friends. Never felt pressured to move on, even when we kept talking well after we had finished meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonGramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good lunch or dinner spot”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We've had dinner and lunch here, numerous times. The food has always been good, from appetizers to dessert. Full bar, too. Ask for Chris, he'll make sure you have a great meal!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not yet sure about the new location”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Shrimp Boat in it's old location was a long time favorite. We love oysters and theirs were the best no matter how you had them prepared. We have been to the new location only one time. It happened to be the day the they opened the doors at the new location on Bloomingdale. The atmosphere is tastefully decorated with the bar area separated for the main dining room which is more spacious and open than the previous dining area. There was a long wait so we ate at a small table in the bar area. Service was slow and the fried oysters were fresh and well prepared but not as hot and right out of the fryer as they had been when ordered them at the old location. We are hoping this is just "growing pains" and plan to go back to give it another try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Location!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Trying to get a reservation for a large party was not very welcoming when I called to reserve. However, my experience at this restaurant has been pleasant. Food was great! Potato pancake my splurge! Crab cakes are good ceviche is good. Music was nice addition to the overall evening.I would recommend this establishment!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1savvygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shrimp Boat Grill also viewed

 

Been to Shrimp Boat Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing