We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wooded Paradise”
Review of Sandy Point Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kabetogama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Point Lodge
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I spent four days at Sandy Point in August. The resort hosts Jennifer and Gordon are very accomodating to your requests. My cabin was perfect and clean. The views of Kab were excellant. The lodge's food is prepared by Jennifer. She is a master of creating cuisine that is top shelf! Gordon handles the customers out front. The entire staff is dedicated to making your stay a memorible one. Fishing the Kab was awesome. Our guide Travis took us to places that never let us down. We caught our limit besides releasing more than enough. This is my place in Nothern Paradise. I hopefully will return again next summer for a week with what I call my second home away from home. You will not be dissapointed when you stay at Sandy Point!

Room Tip: Cabins 1 and 1 A are winners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

We just spent a week in cabin 1 and had a great time. We have been to Sandy Point before to eat in their delicious restaurant and this year decided to try out a cabin. We had no complaints. If you like home-cooking this is the place. We caught some great fish on Lake Kabetogama. We will definitely be back next summer- hopefully this winter too!

Room Tip: Cabin 1 was nice and quiet but yet still close to the beach and dock for fishing and swimming. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TASimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Excellent dock service, fresh delicious food, and ambiance. Favorite hidden gem. Highly recommend! Kabetogama is beautiful for fishing and water sports. Family owned, makes you feel welcome and like family.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snomadracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Sandy Point Lodge is located on Lake Kabetogama in Voyageurs National Park (a well-kept secret jewel of the US). The hosts (Gordon and Jennifer) are the easiest people to be with, very accomodating, informative, and comfortable. We have stayed in cabin 1 and in 1a and have found them to feel like our own private cabins. Friends who go at the same time have stayed in cabins 8-11 and we look forward to trying those out as well. Anything that may have been needed was provided by our hosts, including evening chats in the lodge, a delicious meal when we didn't feel like preparing one, having our fish cleaned by one of the dock staff, getting directions for paddling to an island, etc. I paddled to a nearby group of islands in one of the provided kayaks several mornings and was thrilled to see so much wildlife! We also had island picnics and hikes many days. Besides all this, the fishing is great on Kab. Our family looks forward to returning to Sandy Point Lodge each year, and it always feels like coming home. Thanks Gordon and Jennifer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Last time we were able to join my brother and sister in law was after a beautiful wedding, what a wonderful time our family had before coming back to the cities. I'm always amazed at the beauty of the area, the eagles flying around and nesting, never go without a camera for the great shots of wildlife, birds and scenery. Jen and Gordon are warm and loving people ready to make their guest feel welcome. They have done a beautiful job of refurbishing the cabins, they are charming. clean and the fresh air is to be enjoyed. You will not want for a better meal in their restaurant! I really want to go back this fall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelby94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Spent a long weekend at Sandy Point Lodge with our family. The kids loved the cabin we stayed in - Warm, roomy & cozy! Gordon & Jennifer have a great spot, excellent food, and a game room in the main lodge; beautiful views and great hikes! We could have stayed for weeks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This was our 14h year staying at Sandy Point. That should be review enouch for a reason to visit for the first time. Set in legendary Voyergeurs National Park, there is so much beauty to enjoy. Gordon, Jen and family provide the most warm and relaxing accomodations. Cabins are well appointed, very clean and nostalgic, not to mention home-made quilts on the beds. Food in the lodge is superb. From fresh salads with locally grown veges, hot fresh soups, yummy sandwiches to great steaks. The Friday night ribs are unbeatable and the freshness of the Sandy Point Salad with original home-made dressing is so refreshing. The bar is smartly stocked, and the wine selection very surprising. Start the morning with Gordon's awesome coffee and a friendly game of cribbage. Watch out! He's a shark! Gordon and Jen are knowledgeable in the surrounding area and happy to share. Dock service is immediate and Rhace is so helpful. The whole staff at Sandy Point could not be more friendly. When you get there, just take a chill pill and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. You can hurry and get all stressed out when you get home. Sandy Point is a quality product. I only hope you make the trip to visit.

Room Tip: Check out their webside, or Facebook for a virtual tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sandy Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Point Lodge

Address: 10606 Gamma Rd, Kabetogama, MN 56669-8047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Kabetogama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kabetogama
Price Range: £123 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sandy Point Lodge: A four-season ResortA classic Northern Minnesota resort vacation on Kabetogama Lake in Voyageurs National Park. Here is a border-lakes getaway that has many ways to enjoy your hard earned vacation including: fishing on a top 10 Walleye lake, with Northern Pike, bass, and big crappies with summer dock service •relaxation • learn about Minnesota's only national park, Voyageurs National Park • swimming • kayaking • sailing • see the northern lights • listen to loons • birdwatching • hiking • snowmobiing •skiing • snowshoeing• spearing • icefishing • and fabulous meals in our lodge's restaurant. Stay in a comfortably furnished cabin or one of our spacious lodgerooms. We are wireless and our cabins have DVD players. Read a book, do a puzzle - There is always something to do at Sandy Point!Call us for more information or to make your reservation today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing