We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Don't bother about the cyclists - they can wait"!”

Bolton by Bowland Tea Rooms
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Don't bother about the cyclists - they can wait"!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is the comment we heard from the kitchen when I turned up with 3 friends up for a bite to eat today (Sunday). I thought that this attitude to customers was confined to Fawlty Towers - clearly not. We didn't wait.
Looking at the other positive comments, perhaps he was just having a bad day - but with the friendly welcome we received at the 'Delicious Deli and Café' just four miles down the road in Gisburn, I'm not going to bother to risk coming back.
(Sorry, have clicked 'Food' and 'Value' as terrible when we didn't have a chance to find out.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What every village needs!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Great food, service and excellent value for money.
Homemade food (soup fantastic and well filled fresh sandwich)at its best and a real cup of tea, will be back for a full English very very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorris700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friendly service, excellent food and drink”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This has become a fairly regular dropping-by place for my wife and I on our way to and from various places. First thing to note is that there is always an excellent cup of tea served in a generously-sized pot, with hot water in another pot that doesn't have to be asked for. Unusual quality of service in itself, and at a very reasonable price.

Whether you want a scone with jam and cream, some home-made soup, a sandwich or even a full English breakfast, you will be accommodated, and you will certainly not be ripped off. Good quality food at a very fair price.

Service is first rate and very friendly. All in all, the place is almost too good to be true, and it's set in a delightful village, which contains a very interesting medieval church.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkrington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Continuing the excellence”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We called in to this place again whilst visiting the Trough of Bowland. As last time, the service was personable, friendly and helpful. The food was really good. It is always a pleasure to attend here and today was no exception.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suparef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Lovely spot.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a lovely tearoom in a beautiful area.The owner greeted us and suggested we have our drinks in the garden area which was secluded and a real sun trap.
The drinks were served in china cups and teapots and the toasted tea cakes with jam were delicious.A perfect place to relax if you are exploring the village particularly with the connection to Henry VI and The White Queen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolton by Bowland Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Sawley, Lancashire
 

Been to Bolton by Bowland Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing