We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stày”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hare & Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely stày”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

An excellent place to stay. Good food and beer. Friendly welcoming staff. Smoked haddock bake was delicious. Great breakfast. Only points stopping 5 star score was tiny room (room 3) Lovely, clean and comfortable but VERY small. And my husband doesn't drink tea or coffee, usually can offer a hot chocolate even if only Instant Break but no option so he had to make do with a glass of water. So only minor quibbles and would recommend still.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gcook68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    58
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
58
230
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here for my birthday with our 2 labrador dogs - Bobby and Daisy. Our stay was excellent in every way. Our room had been recently refurbished to a very high standard. We're used to being accommodated in tired dog friendly rooms well away from everyone - not here. This was a boutique style room in a delightful, characterful hotel/pub/restaurant set in the stunning Bowland Valley with Windermere just down the road. The food was excellent too. Nothing was too much trouble, all four of us were made so very welcome.Kerry, and Murphy, your pub/hotel is to your credit. We will be back!!
Elizabeth and Barry Ayres

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have stopped at Hotels up and down the UK but this place puts the rest to shame. The room, the food and the friendliness as far as we are concerned cannot be beaten. For once we left feeling that we had had true value for our money. Cannot wait to return.

Peter Alderley Edge

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Called in for late lunch on Sunday before checking into our hotel lovely welcome..we both ordered off the Sunday offer menu 2 courses for £12 I think ....I ordered goats cheese wrapped in Parma ham & salad my husband soup both beautiful soup came piping hot with 2 big pieces of homemade bread, we both opted for roast lamb dinner amazing the gravy was the best I've ever tasted just enough potatoes & perfectly cooked veg. Absolute bargain for 2 courses we decided to share a pudding & the sticky toffee pudding was to die for. Lovely wine too, we ended up calling in again the next day for an early bite to eat & again everything perfect I had goats cheese salad & hubby game platter starter both outstanding.
We've already said this is definitely worth the hours drive to get to & will frequent again x

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful establishment for a midweek break. Greeted by a very pleasant young man and were given the chance to upgrade our room due to a late cancellation. What a beautiful room, just refurbished and would put some 5 star hotels to shame. If we could have taken our ensuite bathroom and shower home we would have!!
Service was just first class. Nothing was any bother and the food both breakfast and dinner just top notch.
The establishment is just perfect to explore the South Lakes and there are plenty of walks just on the doorstep. If in any doubt the staff will only be too willing to advise and assist.
If you can make a Thursday evening the quiz night is great fun!
Cannot speak highly enough of this place.
Will certainly be back.
Warm thanks to everyone for making our stay so pleasant.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stoatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We visited the Hare and Hound for 2 nights and had with us our dog. On arrival we were welcomed warmly and were shown to our beautiful top floor double ensuite bedroom including beautiful stand alone bathtub. The decor was traditional but sophisticated and had a lovely homely feel to it. We were offered maps of local walks on our arrival and set off straight away to enjoy one of them.

Dinner was so good here the first night (beef and ale pie and lamb hotpot) that we had no choice but to eat there again for the second night (trio of mutton chops and sea bass). The dinners were sensational, exactly what we needed after a long day's walking. It was lovely being able to have our dog with us in all areas of the hotel and he sat beneath our table as we dined.

Breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was equally as good. Orange juice, freshly ground coffee, fresh fruit and yogurts, cereal, pain au chocolat, croissants AND a choice of a fantastic locally-sourced cooked breakfast, or lighter cooked options. Just brilliant!

I will be recommending the Hare and Hound to friends and similarly do so to any one looking for a quiet and authentic Lake District experience. Looking forward to visiting again. Thank you

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank keightfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very friendly welcome, delicious food, lovely bedroom with roll top bath and separate shower. Very rusitc and totally charming interior.
Yummy cooked breakfast too. We had an all too short one night stay here and loved it!

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,191 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brown Horse Inn
Brown Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Winster
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Property: The Hare & Hounds
Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bowland Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing