We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hare & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hare & Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
the lakes
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had lots of Sunday dinners here as they are normally the best, but what happened this weekend 5 new potatoes 3 roast potatoes and 3 pieces of parsnip, there was 2 of us and roasties that seemed to be left from dinner ( we ate at 6.30 carrots and carrots and swede mixed ( and not that great either ) + a yorkshire half the size as usual ( the main reason we love there roast ) We will definitely try once more and hope this was a one off.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rodandnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Im so sorry that you didnt enjoy your lunch with us, we are very keen to be consistent with our high standards and welcome comments and feedback , I do hope you mentioned this to a member of staff on the day.
As you stated you have enjoyed many great Sunday lunches with us and I hope you will continue to do so in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    57
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
227
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The room was great and very spacious. Very peaceful with some lovely views. After having a generous full English breakfast we did't eat much until dinner! Food was freshly cooked and well presented. A very relaxing, peaceful and pleasant stay. Service was excellent and very friendly, Thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Superb location, good quality country pub serving excellent food. The cheese soufflé is a masterpiece, perfectly cooked with good delicate flavours. Steak & ale pie was a winner with 4 of our party - who ate it all despite the size of the generous helping - there was talk of trying to buy a whole one to take home....
Good, helpful, relaxed service combined with excellent food makes this place highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartanarmy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Than you for your great review, We really love it when people have enjoyed their time with us, we could certainly make a larger pie for you next time!
hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We are here on Saturday night, early with our young daughter. The pub was very busy and full of a nice atmosphere by 7pm when we left. Really enjoyed the meal, as with all of the pubs in the lake district it was slightly more expensive than "chain" pubs in our local area but so much nicer due to the lovely atmosphere of a country pub. Steak was delicious and the "Duck and Damson burger" special was absolutely massive and apparently extremely nice! Nice staff, lovely location, we will be back next time we are in the Lyth Valley

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dollydaydream84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! our burger is a very popular choice and I'm pleased it was enjoyed. we do hope you will visit again next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just come back from the most beautiful place, the hare and hounds has got everything a country pub should have excellent food, a lovely welcome and the most friendly staff. unfortunately we only stayed one night, but the room we stayed in was gorgeous, roll top bath included!
this is the second time we have come here and again could not fault it. The only very small thing I could say on the down side, there could be some comfy seating, if you have finished your meal there isn`t anywhere really to get up from your table to sit just for a drink.
Our breakfast was cooked to order and just what we love, a great full English.
Highly recommend this lovely pub to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, i'm so please you enjoyed another stay with us, we did discuss a great deal when we took over the pub about an area for people to be able to just sit and relax on a sofa or lounge chairs, but unfortunately the pub really is just a bit too small for this kind of furniture, we will keep this in mind and if its ever a possibility we would certainly like to implement this idea.
we do hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for one night on a lovely sunny weekend. Lovely room, large bathroom with a very nice bath and a separate shower. Friendly staff. Relaxing. My husband loved his meal - 'best steak pie ever'. My starter (a soufflé) was delicious (presentation could be improved with a little green salad), the roast leg of lamb and the sticky toffee pudding were both a little dry and I was quite disappointed. We did eat quite late so perhaps that was why. Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: I think the bed was a double which seemed small, but I slept very well all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thankyou so much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights b&b which was fantastic the staff could not do enough for us,we also took our border collie dog Charlie who they made very welcome.
The rooms are beautiful and very well equipped with everything you need.
The evening meals are fantastic and large portions(we would recommend the steak & ale pie-beautiful) could not fault anything about The Hare & Hounds,apart from the rain everyday,we will definatley go back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie123R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Property: The Hare & Hounds
Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bowland Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing