We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hare & Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very warm welcome Kerry and staff are so friendly and helpful.Room was comfortable,clean, lovely. Bathroom fabulous! Bed was very comfortable good nights sleep every night.Food and drink excellent each meal brought a new favourite. Good location for touring the area.The pub quiz night is great fun.[Thursday] Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: As said before very helpful ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Staying in Crosthwaite for the week, we were spoiled for choice with several excellent pubs serving good food and drink close by, ie the Punch Bowl, Masons Arms, Brown Horse....and the Hare and Hounds! We had a very enjoyable evening meal in this friendly pub - I had the lamb hot pot and my wife had the trout potato cakes as a main, both very tasty. With 2 rounds of drinks and 1 dessert, this came to £40.60. The only negative was being given a gate-leg table next to the door of the busy and noisy kitchen, though to be fair they did move us to a better table when we asked. This is however a lovely pub in a great setting serving good food and real ale- 'would recommend'! (To confirm I reviewed this as a restaurant as we didn't use it as a hotel).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PVilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are very lucky to have so many good places to eat in the Lyth Valley ! I'm glad that you were moved to a different table and enjoyed your evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped off here for Sunday lunch with a group of friends. Lovely place in a lovely setting. When we arrived there were many empty tables inside but we were told there wasn't any available for us to eat inside due to other reservations. I was a little disappointed about this as whilst nice weather it was windy at times so got a little cold, there were still plenty of empty tables inside for over an hour from our arrival so I felt we could have been given the option to finish our meal by a certain time inside, however saying this the food was great and we enjoyed our visit so would definitely go back - I think we'd just book first next time.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I'm sorry we were not able to seat you inside, I will look into this matter
we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited here with my husband last weekend and had a wonderful time. The weather was glorious so we were able to sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the world go by! Our room (4) was one of the newly refurbished and was so nicely done. The bed was comfy, bathroom fabulous and the views were spectacular. The food was superb. We made the mistake of ordering starters before our hotpots. Big mistake, the portions were huge. The breakfast was equally good. The staff were very friendly and also so helpful. All in all a great break which we shall be repeating, hopefully in the near future. Kerry your staff are a credit to the Hare and Hounds.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 733Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I'm so pleased you liked our new rooms, and I have passed on your compliments to the staff,
we do hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were passing here today and as we were all hungry, we thought we would give it a try.....we are very glad we did. The food not only was amazing value, but of first class quality, taste and presentation. Can't recommend highly enough.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 53BLOSSOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The Hare and Hounds is a lovely place to stay. Very rural setting but easy to find. The room was very small but well furnished, clean and modern. The staff were all lovely - helpful and friendly. The food was very good - well cooked and plentiful and the service was efficient. Would recommend staying here - really close to Bowness but away from the hustle and bustle. Would look to go for a bigger room next time though!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ADWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for you great review, The larger rooms really are lovely and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff were very helpful and took our bags to our room, the one we had (5) was really lovely with the excellent bathroom that others have reviewed so well, and despite being over the front of the hotel, was not as noisy as I had expected, though we didn't return to our room until about 2300hrs, we'd been told that the front door was locked at that time and we weren't offered a key!! The bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, fresh and well presented with no rush or pressure
So, why the BUT, well to be a little picky, when you're paying the prices charged here, there is a level of expectation that on the night of our stay was certainly lacking.
We would have expected things like: Bathrobes, slippers, shampoos and conditioners, a box of tissues in the room and perhaps a small fridge with some fresh milk for that essential first cup of coffee or tea.
We have stayed in a number of B&B's and Pubs in the 5* range at prices a good £20 to £30 less than we were charged and the items I've named above are generally in place.
As I said earlier, this is a lovely pub with great rooms in a fantastic location, regrettably very overpriced, though hopefully this review will spur an improvement in either service or price, let's hope so.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for your review, I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially our new rooms. They are very popular with new and returning guests!
All our rooms do have Bath house products including, shampoo, body wash, hand wash and hand cream, we did provide robes to begin with however as they kept disappearing we changed that policy, I'm sure you will understand our reasons for doing so. I do think that a box of tissues in each room would be a lovely touch and will certainly implement that idea thank you! We really try to provide a high level of customer service and do keep an eye on the competition to make sure our pricing is in line with similar establishments in the area.
Our information book in each room does state that if you wish to stay out later than the pub is open we are more than happy to provide a key for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brown Horse Inn
Brown Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Winster
503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,401 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bowland Bridge
Price Range: £92 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing