We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but”

Pueblo Viejo Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 128 Restaurants in Brooksville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, but”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The last two times we have gone they have been closed. We just tried last night and there was a padlock on the door?!?! This is actually getting ridiculous. They had just closed for moving and now again? We have no clue if they will reopen, which sucks because this place has great food!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dmama1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is a great place for Mexican!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've eaten here several times and each time the service and food is great. Never had a complaint and the prices are very reasonable. Fresh ingredients and potent drinks. Try the bubbling hot Mocajete bowl. It's a volcanic rock mortar and pestle bowl heated to a high temp with your choice of chicken seafood or beef along with cheese, peppers, potatoes, sour cream and guacamole.....just scrumptious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCpadron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Enchiladas Verdes”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Best green chili enchiladas I've had since I left Tucson in 1969. My companion's taco salad was great also. Crisp shell, not at all greasy like some we've had. Not much atmosphere but that's better than annoying Mexican music that some restaurants have. Enthusiastic server who checked on us fairly often but wasn't annoying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brookhaven
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Three of us went to this restaurant 2 months ago hoping that we could find some decent Mexican food within 30 minutes of our home....NOPE!!! Its just not good...not the salsa...not the fajita's....not the burritos...not even the margaritas...Not sure how you take flavor out of re-fried beans but somehow they cracked the code!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chillin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Real Mexican Flavor”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Ever since leaving El Paso, TX, my wife (a native El Pasoan) and I continue to search for the flavors we both love from northern Mexico and the area around El Paso. Pueblo Viejo comes pretty close and for now is the best we've found in this part of Florida. Plus, while speaking with the manager, they are willing to make a few modifications to the presentation which would enhance the flavors for us. in the meantime I'll order my chiles every spring from Hatch, N.M., and after roasting and peeling freeze them and make my own chile rellanos, enchiladas,, chile verde con carne and salsa at home. That's not to say we won't go back when not in the mood to spend hours in the kitchen doing it myself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Greatauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pueblo Viejo Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pueblo Viejo Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing