We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A waste of our time and money.”
Review of Chicken Pantry Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chicken Pantry Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A waste of our time and money.”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We are confused by the good reviews for this biker dive, that enticed us to drive 30 miles for their famous fried chicken. The deep fried pickles were too salty to eat, the chicken was dry, the batter was thin and unseasoned, and it was so noisy that we couldn't hear ourselves think! The restaurant only had about a dozen customers while we were there, but they all seemed to be yelling. My husband had to cup his hands around his mouth and yell to speak to me, and I was right across the table from him! Even the waitress had cotton in her ears to limit the noise. I will say that the waitress was very friendly and helpful. Any chain chicken restaurant has better chicken than this place. Not a good experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Danewfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Fried Chicken”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The best fried chicken ever. Not greasy, nice and juicy~The sides are good, as well. Very inexpensive, too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mizloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nothing fancy but delicious chicken”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is the best fried chicken you will get anywhere at any price. Great sides go with the chix. Everything is good but for a first visit don't go with anything except the southern fried chix.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
570 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Southern Fried Chicken”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

They have a varied menu but as soon as you open the door you know what dish this place is selling. You are engulfed by the aroma of fried chicken. This is not a bad thing. The chicken is very good. Of course, the dinning area is smaller than the kitchen so you're practically eating in the kitchen anyway. The dinning area is dominated by a 14 chair table so during any rush period you will probably be sitting at the same table with a dozen strangers. For most folk this works. Besides the fried chicken the "speciality" of the house is their coconut cream and banana cream pie. They sell out of these often. Call ahead (386-437-3316) if you're hoping to sample either.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“The fried chicken is some of the best I've ever had!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

You can't miss this fried chicken if you're in the area. It was super! Crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. The hush puppies and coconut cream pie were also outstanding. The staff were very friendly and handled our party of 9 including several kids without missing a beat. I look forward to returning!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicken Pantry Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing