We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS USUAL”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Bushnell
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have eaten at this Sonny's & others in different cities. Food is predictable and good. Ordered the Senior Special of the sliced pork. Tender, juicy and a great bargain as it also comes with your drink.
Only negative is that I watched another waitress across the aisle who was refiling ketchup bottles. She dropped the top on the floor. It landed upright ( with the side that fits onto the bottle) ON the floor. Yes, you guessed it. She picked it up, put it right back on the bottom portion of the container. Didn't even wipe it off. NOW if you believe in the 3 second rule, then you are okay but if it kinda creeps you out that lots of people walk on that floor and all that went back onto the bottle then YEGADS!

Thank SAYT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Sharon T, thank you for your great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our sliced pork. We're sorry that you witnessed a ketchup bottle being dropped on the floor and not wiped off by our server. Please let us help. Send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with these details, including the location, so that we can address the issue you mentioned. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family and I love going to Sonnys. Some of the best bbq that I have ever had. Anything you have here will be wonderful bit make sure you try the sweet tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Amanda L, thanks for the great 5 star review! We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our BBQ and sweet tea. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This location is just off I-75, but they have ample seating and a large parking lot. Inside the décor is the chain decorations, with several TV's turned to sports. They have a large salad bar and they also serve beer. The barbecue is quite good. I've had the pulled pork and the ribs and both never disappoint. A selection of barbecue sauces are available at your table, along with plenty of napkins. None seem to be of the "strip paint off the walls variety", but I like a good flavored sweet barbecue sauce and Sonny's delivers. There's a good selection of sides to go along with your BBQ and I was appreciative that the corn was a full ear. The service is generally pretty quick. At this location you pay at the register up front. Good value and good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank homemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Mhoder, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your pulled pork and ribs. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for more BBQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I'm from Owensboro Kentucky so barbecue needs to be cooked just right.The ribs were a bit dry but the sauce help put it in the right place. The steak was tender and juicy but no seasoning. The 3 way pork was the best, tender, juicy and flavorful. Garlic bread great. Work on keeping in the juices and the seasoning less salty and you could be the best around.

Thank tigsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Tigsue, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ. If you would like to share any ideas with us about our menu items, feel free to email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com. We would greatly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The food was wonderful on our "travel south eating BBQ" roadtrip. Our server was very sincere and friendly. I loved the Sweet Tea shirts.

Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Julia C, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ and hopefully we're added to your list of places to eat BBQ while traveling south. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Bushnell, Central Florida
 
Bushnell, Central Florida
Bushnell, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing