We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average To Me: I desired a little more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Resort at the Port
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
NC
1 review
“Average To Me: I desired a little more”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This Radisson Resort at the Port (Port Canaveral) left me with something/s to be desired..But did provide a roof over my family's head prior to our cruise.

Pros:

- Good Location: places to eat, shop, Express mini-mart/gas all nearby.(many places in walking distance)
- Check in/out went well
-Shuttle service to/from port
-Parking about $40 for the week.
- Pool with waterfall and Tiki Bar
- Free Wi-Fi offered (I used 4G)
-FYI: Paid $120 (Expedia)

**No complaints about customer service, they all did a good job-Thank you.
*Probably more amenities offered that I did not take advantaged of.

Cons:
-The room needed updating. (maybe update carpet, paint/wallpaper/furniture, update to flat screen tv

-Cabinetry available for refrigerator and microwave with electrical outlet, BUT those two items were not in the room. (It was obviously available one time in that room. You may want to rip it out if you are not going to use the cabinetry/space).

-one of the "Number Beds" did not work. (maybe I should have notified them to give them a chance to remedy the issue, but I didn't-I did have a roof over my head :-) ).

-the bed/mattress was adequate, but pillows were not firm enough for me. ie. very flimsy like a towel


*I did no due diligence prior to my reservation. This Radisson was recommend by a friend. There are more + than -, but I did expect a little more from a Radisson.
*I did look at Radisson Resort at the Port webpage following my stay. The pictures and description are accurate. (pictures are most likely their most upgraded room, my room was not upgraded.)

**I will look for alternatives, but this Radisson Resort At The Port may be the best choice/value. (many good reviews overall, just giving others some info on what I thought)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikespine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    1,040
    473
    214
    138
See reviews for
1,601
974
65
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The room was clean and had a big bathroom. We had a king size bed, ceiling fan, and easy to set and control central type heating and cooling system. Great pool and a fair restaurant. For an added fee you can park your car there and take a shuttle to the port for a cruise. We have stayed here three times in the past. Will stay here again. Our only complaint was the lady that controls the shuttle was short, rude to people and kept an attitude. That is not the job for her.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123manipulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were looking for a hotel to relax and get some quality sleep after flying into Orlando the night before a cruise. Unfortunately for us this Radisson seemed to be better suited for partiers planning on staying in town for the weekend. It had an active party atmosphere (live music) with lots of people packing in cases of beer and a pool jammed with adults and kids. I'm sure those folks had fun but unfortunately it was a bad hotel pick for us.

That is not to say there were not hordes of folks staying here who cruises, in fact they had tons of them. The hotel did a good job of organizing the chaos on departure day. But if you plan on taking a taxi as we did, just ask them to order one for you when you check-in, they'll do it right then. You can also pay for their shuttle service and they'll organize you into groups, just remember to schedule that before you arrive.

Our room was interesting. We reserved the "Non Smoking (Guest) Great Deal Save 15%" through Travelocity. Unfortunately they needed that 15% to pay the maid. The room had plenty of trash behind the furniture and refrigerator. Our room had Sleep Number beds and we discovered they were difficult to sleep on, they reminded me of waterbeds without the wave-proofing. Adjusting them is a pain if another person climbs in with you or gets out later. Suffice to say they were difficult to sleep on.

After arrival, hotel maintenance had to replace 1 missing bed remote and replace the security lock on our door. I should mention that all of the staff, including the maintenance guy were very cheerful and pleasant.

They gave us a free breakfast because of our room issues. Unfortunately we should have listened to our taxi driver and eaten next door at the family restaurant. To be frank, it was nasty. The bacon was cold greasy and undercooked, the sausage was flavorless, the mini waffles were doughy and undercooked. There was possible mold cooked into my wife's french toast. They tried to give us another free breakfast even though we were checking out.

This is a good time to mention the lava cake from the previous night was cold (yes cold, not cool) on the inside and crispy on the outside. The bright spot was the sushi/Thai place across the road. It was very good, I'd be a regular if I lived in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Displaced-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAdams_FOM, Front Office Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your room and with our breakfast buffet. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our service and product. We will use your comments to further instruct our staff in these critical areas. We hope that you will return to give us another opportunity to impress you the next time you travel to Cape Canaveral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriman, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

July 5, 2014; party of 8 with two room reservation; Arrived at about 11:30 am on a Saturday; check-in time not til 3 pm. Although their primary mission at this time is to be cleaning and getting people out...they graciously, expediently, and courteously got two rooms ready for us to move into. Especially accommodating was a young lady named Ishi...she was smiling and cutting up with me as I did so with her. When I mentioned I was a Veteran and showed her my credentials, she immediately gave me a significant discount on both rooms. One room assignment was changed four times due to better accommodations - and with a smile. The amenities were great as well. If there is a negative, it might be the quantity of eating facilities outside the Radisson, but all are within walking distance. Long story short (I could write an essay) This is THE Place to stay at the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Omg. This hotel rocks. We had a one night at this resort- unfortunately; we were only there to stay for one night as we were leaving for a cruise at Port Canaveral. This is an an awesome place to "layover". We were able to catch the shuttle directly from the Radisson to the Port in less than 10 minutes. They made me feel super comfortable about leaving my car there over 2 nights. Overall, we are happy we chose this hotel and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 800's close to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha7274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had booked an overnight room for a friend from out of town who didn't show so we decided to use it ourselves since we are locals. We hadn't been there in a very long time but were so pleased that the employees are still Awesome. Jack at the check in desk was wonderful and upgraded us, then followed up to make sure all was as we expected. Jace in the bar/restaurant area was also awesome, making different drinks for us and helping out in the restaurant too. The food was great and the drinks were great, and we LOVED the stay. Will recommend this to friends/family when they visit. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. Sushi, Pizza, McDonald's, even Greek. They also have a Park and Cruise program - for the ships out of Port Canaveral. Highly recommend trying - also the restaurants at the Port itself are great too. Seafood, etc and lots to see.

Room Tip: The suites have two rooms and a hot tub and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Cathy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice hotel, close to cruiseport, nice restaurant in the hotel.
Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable.
I like the fact there was free internet.
Free shuttle service to the port was nice, and the shuttle was there when we got off the ship to take us back to the hotel. We did not have to call and wait for it.
Would definitely stay there again.
We drove down and were able to leave our car there as well while we cruised.
Staff was friendly and courteous and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Resort at the Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Resort at the Port

Property: Radisson Resort at the Port
Address: 8701 Astronaut Blvd, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-4310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Resort at the Port 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Resort at the Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort At The Port Hotel Cape Canaveral
Radisson Resort Cape Canaveral
Radisson Hotel Port Canaveral
Radisson Cape Canaveral Fl
Radisson Resort Port
Cape Canaveral Radisson
Radisson Hotel Cape Canaveral
Radisson Resort At The Port Cape Canaveral, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing