We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in a King suite w/ a preserve view. It was simply amazing. The balcony was so enjoyable. If we had a choice, the boat harbor view would have been nice too. We were on the fourth floor. I'm sure we could have seen further with a higher floor, but could watch the wildlife activity in the water at this level. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Corner room had more of the pleasant breeze on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Connie W,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our one bedroom suite and the views from the private screened-in balcony. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and enjoy another great stay relaxing in our tropical paradise soon.

Be Well, Eric Ashton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    352
    97
    30
    16
See reviews for
526
563
35
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed this weekend at the resort and was SO looking forward as we typically stay with family when we come to Cape Coral. When we booked there was only a 1 bedroom suite available - way more than we wanted to spend but really wanted a little weekend stay cation so we went for the $300+ per night. We also brought our mini poodle along since Westin is pet friendly.

The hotel lobby is beautiful, clean, modern, and the staff very welcoming. When we arrived, our room was ready but the girl checking us in was wondering where my daughter was sleeping since we booked a king suite. I assumed sofa in living room opened into a bed - it doesn't. Ok well maybe she can sleep on the sofa. If not, we could have a roll away for $25 - ok cause I'm not paying enough for my room I guess. We decided to see the sofa to determine which she would prefer.

We got to the room which was on the 2nd floor (suite 216). It was fine since we would have to take the dog out to do his business regularly, figured would be more convenient. The room consisted of a full kitchen, dining area, living room and a separate bedroom with a king bed, walk in closet and bathroom with washer and dryer.(not sure why this is necessary since there's a guest laundry down the hall - not that I would EVER do laundry on vacation)

The first thing we noticed is that the bedroom carpet is filthy. Like old stains, dirty. The sofa, lots of old stains (so we promptly ordered the roll away bed). One of the chairs in the living room had a white drip down the side of it - like someone spilled milk or icecream and it was just there (see photos). My dog kept trying to get under the piece of furniture next to the couch. I finally had to look under and there was a ball under there (from a prior guest child or dog). We then went out of the beautiful, long screened in patio. There we found old pre lit tea light candles (guess from the previous guests) and the screening had holes throughout so we couldn't sit out there at all since we were on a preserve which has millions of bugs.

We then showered for dinner to find the bathroom had only 2 bath towels to use. Really? Is there a towel shortage in Cape Coral? Also, there are two sinks - one near the walk in closet outside of the bathroom and one inside the bathroom yet there was only one bar of soap and one bottle of hand lotion. The only trash can was in the water closet, nowhere near either sink. There was only a shower, no bathtub. I assumed in a suite I would get the Westin bath.

I called and got more towels and had to call maintenance to figure out how to turn on the tv in the master bedroom. Apparently there's a switch on the front of the tv that turns it off completely (some type of energy saving thing) OH and the remotes are these cheap universal remotes that you cannot operate the sleep timer and this morning, with the time change, were not even functional - we couldn't change the channel at all just turn on/off on both tvs.

My dog had us up all night sniffing the carpeting in the bedroom - it was obviously full of past dog scents and god knows what. We wound up leaving him at my moms the next night so that we could all get a good nights sleep.

We ordered room service for breakfast on Saturday and their menu, especially for kids, is rough. My daughter doesn't eat eggs so we ordered her pancakes made with Greek yogurt (yes this is the only type of pancake you can get here) - it weighed about a pound and had this horrible orange flavor that she had to drown it in maple syrup. I understand the need to offer healthy options but not everyone has the need or desire to eat gluten free, Lo fat or Lo carb. Oh and we ordered a bakery basket. I asked the girl on the phone what was in it - definitely a bagel or English muffin but she didn't remember the rest. Perfect - we wanted either a bagel or English muffin to put our unhealthy sausage on. Except the basket came and there wasn't a bagel or English muffin - just a croissant, what we think was a cheese Danish and two blueberry muffins. I did have a delicious yogurt and berry parfait.

There were other issues - like I don't think the tile floors had ever been really mopped. In the bathroom across from the toilet the dirt is so obvious on the floor - I thought maybe it was the design in the tile but I took the washcloth and rubbed the dirt which easily came up. The lightbulb outside if the master closet area is blown out. The front door looks beat up on the inside like an old apartment building. We finished the tissues and they didn't get replaced. As a matter of fact, nothing was moved on the bathroom counter and the counter felt sticky like hairspray so there's no way it was even wiped down when they serviced our room.

Oh and someone needs to clean out the ashtray garbage bin that has been overflowing since we got there Friday afternoon. Checked out on Sunday and it's still full - which is what I believe is causing the whiff of something you get when you get off the elevator.

I really really had high expectations but was woefully disappointed. And please don't use pets as a reason for the filth in this room - if you allow pets, you should clean accordingly and really should have the room all tile versus carpeting.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank perfumegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear perfumegirl,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed our beautiful lobby and welcoming staff, however extremely disappointed to learn about some of the negative experiences you had during your stay. We take the utmost pride in providing our guests and their pets with an exceptional experience and the cleanliness of our rooms is most certainly one of them. Thank you for providing us with incite regarding the tv remote, amount of bath towels in the room, kid menu food options, and other areas for improvement. Your feedback is truly essential in our effort to learn about the areas were we may have missed the mark. Please know your comments have been shared with all departments. Again, I am terribly sorry to hear your experience with us was not a normal representation of our property, and hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and be well.

Be well, Eric Ashton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Me and my sister in law spent 4 nights at the hotel, front desk service and concierge were both great! We were booked to have a 2 bedroom suite, when we got there, they upgraded us to a 3 bedroom suite. We ended up on the 17th floor with a gorgeous view of the marina! Room was wonderful, had a full kitchen (we bought groceries on our way from the airport and ate breakfast everyday in our room), spacious bathrooms and bedrooms, everything was clean and comfortable. We ate at the Nauti Mermaid and Pincher's Crab Shack that are on the property, both were great for a relaxed type meal, good food and service at both. Took the complimentary ferry to the beach one day, wonderful ride to the beach, just be sure to reserve your spot on the ferry the night before. Also did the sunset dolphin cruise, great experience!! We packed some snacks and drinks to take with us too. I would definitely recommend renting a car as it is a little out of the way, but with the car, we had no problems getting around. We will definitely be staying there again in the future!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Marina, they may all have that, but I am not sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear jhmars,

I am excited to read you enjoyed our staff and they were attentive to all of your needs. It’s also a pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning all of the great amenities our resort has to offer such as our fully appointed kitchens, spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, along with great on-site dining and our complimentary water taxi to Fort Myers Beach. I can’t wait to welcome you back to The Westin Cape Coral for another wonderful stay.

Be Well, Eric Ashton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel was very nice, room was best part. We had a 1 bedroom suite on the 15th floor that looked at the river, living room, dining room, kitchen add a half bath and i could have moved in. The room really was the best part of the entire property. The pool was small and had limited chairs so very uncomfortable and over crowded. Restaurants were only fair and since the hotel is off the beat and path in a residential neighborhood we didn't spend much time on the property. There is no beach and unless you own a boat or rent a boat, no activities on the water. No place to just chill outside, we were disappointed by the service which was only fair. We arrived early and although our room wasn't ready we left bags with them and were told they'd be put in our room and we could just pick keys up at the desk when we returned. Spent the day out and had dinner in Naples, back to our hotel only to find we need to check in again and our bags had been sitting behind the desk all day which made us very uncomfortable. All in all if your looking for a hotel to dock your boat and stay in a clean hotel this is it, otherwise not the place to stay if your looking for anything else.

Room Tip: All 1 bedroom suites face the river and all 2 bedroom suite face open water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Chill2014,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our hotel and spacious suites. However, we are extremely regretful to hear you did not feel there were enough outdoor amenities to do near the resort. We offer some great outdoor amenities such as our tennis courts, complementary bicycle rentals and water taxi to Fort Myers Beach, along with direct access to nature trails, kayak and paddleboard rentals, sunset dolphin cruises, and much more. Next time, be sure to check out our two additional pools located at the social pavilion. Thank you for also mentioning your check-in process regarding your baggage. We most certainly want you and your personal items to feel like you are in a safe environment and are very sorry if you felt differently. Please understand we are extremely grateful for your feedback as it allows for us to review and enhance our offerings in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Be well, Eric Ashton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Westin Cape Coral and enjoyed every minute. The resort is a bit off the track but it added to our ability to kick back and relax. We are Starwood Platinum members and they did a great job recognizing our status with a nice suite upgrade and amenities. All the staff members we encountered were helpful, friendly and gracious. The running paths were a little confusing to follow even with the maps but the gym overlooked the pool and water and was nicely appointed. The boat to Fort Myers beach was great but be sure to call and book it in advance of your arrival as we tried to reserve the night we arrived but had to wait until our last day for a spot to be available on the boat. If you want to use the boat daily to get to the beach be sure to reserve before you get there. The restaurant was good and we enjoyed happy hour at the Nauti Mermaid. Fort Myers and the surrounding area is a bit sleepy but we did enjoy a nice day trip down to Sanibel and Captiva island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMarieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear LMarieF,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for being a loyal SPG member! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room upgrade and thoughtful extras. Thank you for also mentioning our gracious staff as well as giving TripAdvisor readers some helpful tips. I will be sure to keep your suggestion about the running maps in mind for future enhancements. We hope to see you again soon!

Be well, Eric Ashton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Upon check in found our shower was not cleaned. Housekeeping needs some work, very sloppy. Also WORST toilet tissue of any hotel ever stayed at in America. Bar is also confused. Asked for a glass of Kim Crawford that was on wine list. They search for twenty minutes, never found it. Great pool complex, nice gym. Menu too fancy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliotmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Elliotmz,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are extremely sorry about the difficulties you experienced at our resort. We are appreciative of all of your feedback as this is very helpful in our efforts to improve our services. Overall, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed some of our on-site amenities such as our pool and gym and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.

Be well, Eric Ashton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Westin three nights for Business meetings. Exceptional service, from the bellman, front desk, servers, to the bartenders, all were attentive, polite, and fun. The rooms are excellent, great views, screened in balcony, all the amenities you need! (At least in the smaller suites, living/kitchen/bedroom). The lighting, climate control, and TVs are not the easiest to figure out but don't worry about it, you're smarter then me!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robbob212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Robbob21,

It is a pleasure reading how much you enjoyed your recent visit to our resort. I am thrilled to hear we were able to accommodate all of your needs during your business trip. Thank you for mentioning our exceptional staff; I will be sure to share your praises with them. I hope to welcome you back to our property again soon.

Be well, Eric Ashton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
3.6 mi away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#5 of 6 in Cape Coral
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
12.0 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Property: The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Address: 5951 Silver King Blvd, Cape Coral, FL 33914-8054 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Cape Coral Resort at Marina Villageoffers you all the amenities of Tarpon Point Marina including four star waterfront views, plus resort luxuries such as room service, housekeeping and concierge services. Experience flawless service in our sleek tower of guest rooms and suites with sweeping views of the Caloosahatchee River, San Carlos Bay and Gulf of Mexico. Our traditional rooms and our 1, 2 and 3-bedroom suites range from 445 square feet to 2,195 square feet, with grand rooms, master suites, guest suites, and dining terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Marinavillage Hotel Cape Coral
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing