We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke of Germany

Duke of Germany
Ranked #87 of 422 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated. Susen (owner and chef) has been indulging her guest since 25 years. Since march 2010 we serve German dishes in Cape Coral.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We wanted something different and good reviews led us here. We are not very familiar with German cuisine, but enjoyed our meals. Karl, the owner's son, was very helpful with suggestions and the Grillhaxe was cooked perfectly, crispy on the outside and juicy and tender inside. The beef goulash was very good, and even better the next day as leftovers. I did notice the goulash dish especially seemed to be seasoned pretty liberally with salt.

Dinner was a pricier than we expected, with two entrees, sodas and a split appetizer coming in at $60, but for an occasional splurge, we will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelShae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    52
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous German food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food at The Duke of Germany. The helpings were large and the food was as good as any we had eaten in Germany! We will go here often when we are in Florida!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katweave54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The restaurant's interior is nice, with German music videos playing in the background. We got a free German draft beer because it was the restaurant's 4th anniversary. Their food is very good, with a wide selection of schnitzel and bratwurst dishes (along with some other menu items). The sides are also authentic, where you can choose between side dishes such as sauerkraut, potato pancakes, etc. (with the exception of french fries). The price can go up to $20 a person, not including dessert, but if you want good, authentic German food, come here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
“Must Appreciate Home Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

first time having German Cuisine food was fresh and tasted homemade
Goulash soup Saurebratan Jaeger Schnitzel Bratwurst all very good
toss in a couple of German Drafts and of course the apple strudel

Give It a Try

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeAreborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“JUST LIKE BEING IN GERMANY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fantastic food and atmosphere. Here you can enjoy great German food and have conversation in a quiet atmosphere. The decor is reminiscent of Germany with the food to go along with it. This was our first time here and we will definitely make our way back. The owner speaks German so if you're in the mood you can also practice your German. GREAT PLACE.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddddpppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of Germany also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Duke of Germany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing