We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost opportunity - Good rooms but hard beds and awful Breakfast”
Review of Dolphin Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Key Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lost opportunity - Good rooms but hard beds and awful Breakfast”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed March 14 - 22

That they STILL get an average was due to the fact that the rooms BREATHE. Good place to relax. By the way - this is not a place for kids - there is a lot of bar and beer drinking, which is ok for me - but not for families with young kids. Dolphin key should stop advertising that they supply breakfast. This is NOT breakfast. I had to go out every day.

Rooms: VERY GOOD - tile floor, careful use of chemicals. If you have sensitivity to such
things they are very good about this.

Bed: POOR Bed was newish - but very cheap. Hard.

Staff: Great - good people doing what they can.

Breakfast: FAIL - just awful. This was not a breakfast. It was boxed sugar junk, white bread
and awful coffee. Why do this do this? They have the foundation for a really good
and they cheap out on offering nutritious food to their guests. Come on Dolphin!
get your act together on this.

Coffee: I could not get over how bad their coffee was. The in room coffee was just dreadful.
Time to get another supplier!!

No exercise facilities.
Slightly over priced - but it was high season. They all over priced

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Donald,
Thank you for your advise. When it comes to beds, it is hard to please everybody, people with sensitive backs would prefer them to be harder, and some like yourself would prefer softer.
We hear both.
As far as breakfast goes, we are about to change it up a little. We only say that we offer a Continental Breakfast for free: bagels,toast, muffins,danishes vegetables,ham,turkey,cream cheese,peanut butter,jam,cereals,eggs,orange juice, milk tee and coffee. If you choose to come back i wish to let you know, that the resort offers three different strengths and types of coffee, since again the guest's preference varies. But I think we nee to display that better.
A full american breakfast is served all day and evening for guests who prefer that, at a cost of $7.95.
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    123
    68
    26
    25
See reviews for
87
156
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Dolphin Key for 17 days had the best time,Fantastic Staff..Tiki Bar Bands 5 nights a week great food.Local Beach five minuets away.Walking distance to other restaurants,there is over 300 restaurants in Cape Coral.Sanilbe,Captiva,Ft.Myers Marco Island,and the Red Sox all minuets away.I also think one of the nice things about this resort is that it is not to big never had a problem getting chairs to sit by the pool.We will be back.Thank you again to the Owners and All the People that work at the Dolphin Key for making our stay such fun.. Joe and Jeanne

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Joe and Jeanne,
Thank you for your review. It was very nice and informative! We all enjoyed having you here and look forward to see you next year.
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Dolphin Key Resort. I booked this place as the rate was very reasonable and the reviews were great.We were not disappointed! The staff were all so pleasant and helpful.
Also, the rooms were newly renovated and clean. Pool area was well taken care of and the greenery, especially the Hibiscus were beautiful. The pool itself was extremely clean!
The music playing was a nice added touch as well.
The owner Magdelena, actually arranged for us,the transportation from the airport.
This is an all round lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was so nice to meet you. As the airport is 25 minutes from the hotel, we are always happy to help our guests with transportation.
Hope you get a beautiful spring in Canada, and hope to welcome you back next year/Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I didn't have much time to plan for a hotel in Cape Coral but was more than pleasantly surprised with Dolphin Key. The room was large and well maintained. The personnel were all very friendly. I particularly liked the Tiki bar being onsite, which they claim is the largest in the country. The food was good and there was live entertainment the two nights I stayed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dont_want_credit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Hi,
Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you had a good time at the Tiki.
Hope you have time to stay longer next time.
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minot
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was a great find for us. The location was good to get to Sanibel, Ft Myers, and area restaurants. The rooms are spacious and clean, no carpet, all tile. We were fortunate enough to have an inside room overlooking the pool and Tiki Bar. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony for our morning coffee. All the employees were very pleasant. I would definitely stay again. As a note, I would like to see fresh fruit for breakfast. If staying for any length of time request an inside room that way you're not looking at the street. Although there is a band on Thurs - Sat. They stop planning by 9pm on Thurs, 10pm on Friday, and 11pm on Sat.. very considerate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golf207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review. When you come back, you will be happy to know that we have joined partnership with Palmetto Pine Country Club. As a gust of the hotel you receive a 10% discount on your green fee and in there restaurant. You will also get a sandwich to go, in case you get hungry on the course.
Kind Regards/Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very nice pool area with pretty landscaping. Rooms were clean and comfortable and good sized. Location was great. We walked to Brew Babies for jazz and dinner. There is a tiki bar on site that it was good sized and had good music. We would return.

Room Tip: Pool area can be noisy. But good if you want to keep an eye on your kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We hope you come back! If you like better dining there are two new Seafood Restaurants, a new New Orleans Style Restaurant and several new American style restaurants within walking distance from the resort.
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champion, PA
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Really wanted to let people know what a nice resort this is! Don't judge by the outside which looks a little 'retro'. This place has been completely renovated and the rooms were so clean and pretty. Nice clean tile floors and comfortable beds and the shower... wow! New 'rainfall' showerhead and plenty of water pressure made it lovely! The pool was warm and clean. The price was amazing for the area! We had spent the day in Sanibel and looked for something reasonable to stay on our way back north. The only negative was the limited selection at breakfast. Cudos to the new owners ! We will be back!

Room Tip: We were on the street side. Can imagine the pool side might get a little louder with the Tiki Bar th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampionBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your nice review! We are glad you stopped buy!
We are working very hard to give a high standard of rooms, so we really appreciate that you enjoyed them! Our free continental breakfast will be featuring some different options, but we do also offer a Full American breakfast at $7.95.
( We now offer toast,bagels,cold cuts, eggs, vegetables,cream cheese,peanut butter, jams,cereal,coffee,tea, milk and orange juice for the continental breakfast included in the price).
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
1.2 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
1.8 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Key Resort

Property: Dolphin Key Resort
Address: 1502 Miramar St, Cape Coral, FL 33904-9737
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Key Resort is a new Hotel located one block from Down Town Cape Coral, with 35 bars and restaurants to enjoy. You can also go visit the Wicked Dolphin Rum distillery and see how rum is made or go fishing of the pier at the yacht club beach, all for free. If you want to shop visit Miramar outlets 45 min from the resort or walk around town and visit the local stores. A drive to Pine Island is strongly recommended if you want to see the genuine real Florida Gulf Coast life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Key Resort Cape Coral, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing