We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy!”
Review of Dolphin Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Key Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
1 review
“Very happy!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Great stay during a wedding visit, very friendly staff, fancy bathrooms and toiletries, clean pool with nearby bar and okay breakfast! The only down side was no iron/microwave and a toll bridge one has to take to get to Fort Myers beach.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi,
Glad you enjoyed your stay! We do have irons. Just call the lobby and they will send someone up with a board and iron. Hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards/Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    123
    68
    26
    25
See reviews for
87
156
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for memorial day weekend. Wonderful experience. Clean rooms,great staff, beautiful landscaping and pool. Nice tiki bar. Can't wait to come again. This hotel is newly remodeled. Tile floors in the rooms, New bathrooms with a rain shower. Band stops playing at 11:00 stoop it's easy to sleep! Free continental bkfst. Highly recommend.....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your nice review. We are very happy that you had a good time at the Tiki bar, and were not disturbed. We do end the music at 11 pm out of consideraton to guests who want an early night. We change the free continental breakfast often,(except for the eggs,coldcuts and bagels), so opinions are very wellcome. If you would prefer a full american breakfast, you can order it from at the Tiki Bar all day.
Kind Regards Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We weren't so sure when we drove up. We were checked in with a smile, everyone was very friendly. The room was really nice, spacious and clean. Loved that they had live music, the band was great sad that it stopped at 11pm. Didn't hear anyone as previous reviewer stated after we left the bar. Sorry we only stated one night. Was a little disappointed in the continental breakfast. Still gave it a 5 rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn_L52591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.John's
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Upon arriving at this place it didn't look as I had pictured but once inside the room I was impressed.The rooms are spacious and everything was clean.The girl who checked us in was very helpful and friendly.Granted there is a open bar/restaurant that backs the pool area and there was live music when we got there but it was quiet by 10 except for a few straggling party-ers about midnight.The breakfast was ok,just your standard continental of pastries and cereals.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luuvbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dar Luuvybunny,
Thank you for your review. Is was nice to meet you.
The free continental breakfast with coldcuts, vehetables,eggs various spreads and pastry is a little too European, so we are adding some things, but you can buy a full american break fast for $7.95.
I am glad you enjoyed your room. We were done remodelling them this January.
Kind regards/Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

we did spent a few nights at the Dolpin Key resort at Cape Coral in january of 2014.
A nice place to stay but not in de the weekend. There's lots of load music and partying people all night long. The management will not take your complaint serious.
So after an bad last night, we got very disappointed in the way the management reacted to us.

So, do not stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirjam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Miriam,

I am sorry to hear that you felt the entertainment at the Tiki, was too loud. We have instituted a cut of at 11 pm(23.00), to accommodate guests who wish to go to bed early on Saturday night. How ever we do also wish to accommodate all the guests who enjoy the live entertainment.
The new cut off times are 9pm (21.00) on weekdays, 11 pm(23.00) on weekends and 7.30 pm (19.30 on Sundays.
As the music is advertised on all websites, the lobby and in the rooms, we do no refunds guests for this complaint.
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed March 14 - 22

That they STILL get an average was due to the fact that the rooms BREATHE. Good place to relax. By the way - this is not a place for kids - there is a lot of bar and beer drinking, which is ok for me - but not for families with young kids. Dolphin key should stop advertising that they supply breakfast. This is NOT breakfast. I had to go out every day.

Rooms: VERY GOOD - tile floor, careful use of chemicals. If you have sensitivity to such
things they are very good about this.

Bed: POOR Bed was newish - but very cheap. Hard.

Staff: Great - good people doing what they can.

Breakfast: FAIL - just awful. This was not a breakfast. It was boxed sugar junk, white bread
and awful coffee. Why do this do this? They have the foundation for a really good
and they cheap out on offering nutritious food to their guests. Come on Dolphin!
get your act together on this.

Coffee: I could not get over how bad their coffee was. The in room coffee was just dreadful.
Time to get another supplier!!

No exercise facilities.
Slightly over priced - but it was high season. They all over priced

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Donald,
Thank you for your advise. When it comes to beds, it is hard to please everybody, people with sensitive backs would prefer them to be harder, and some like yourself would prefer softer.
We hear both.
As far as breakfast goes, we are about to change it up a little. We only say that we offer a Continental Breakfast for free: bagels,toast, muffins,danishes vegetables,ham,turkey,cream cheese,peanut butter,jam,cereals,eggs,orange juice, milk tee and coffee. If you choose to come back i wish to let you know, that the resort offers three different strengths and types of coffee, since again the guest's preference varies. But I think we nee to display that better.
A full american breakfast is served all day and evening for guests who prefer that, at a cost of $7.95.
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Dolphin Key for 17 days had the best time,Fantastic Staff..Tiki Bar Bands 5 nights a week great food.Local Beach five minuets away.Walking distance to other restaurants,there is over 300 restaurants in Cape Coral.Sanilbe,Captiva,Ft.Myers Marco Island,and the Red Sox all minuets away.I also think one of the nice things about this resort is that it is not to big never had a problem getting chairs to sit by the pool.We will be back.Thank you again to the Owners and All the People that work at the Dolphin Key for making our stay such fun.. Joe and Jeanne

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Joe and Jeanne,
Thank you for your review. It was very nice and informative! We all enjoyed having you here and look forward to see you next year.
Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
1.2 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
1.8 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Key Resort

Property: Dolphin Key Resort
Address: 1502 Miramar St, Cape Coral, FL 33904-9737
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Key Resort is a new Hotel located one block from Down Town Cape Coral, with 35 bars and restaurants to enjoy. You can also go visit the Wicked Dolphin Rum distillery and see how rum is made or go fishing of the pier at the yacht club beach, all for free. If you want to shop visit Miramar outlets 45 min from the resort or walk around town and visit the local stores. A drive to Pine Island is strongly recommended if you want to see the genuine real Florida Gulf Coast life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Key Resort Cape Coral, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing