We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good outdoor site for a few hours” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rotary Park Environmental Center

Rotary Park Environmental Center
Ranked #6 of 50 things to do in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. John's, Newfoundland And Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good outdoor site for a few hours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

the enclosed butterfly garden is quite interesting as is the center itself....large enclosed off-leash dog park on-site and a system of several short looped walking trails (< 1 mile total) which go through some scrub woods habitat around a couple of small ponds where you might see some shorebirds. The observation tower pictured in the brochures is closed. If you're looking to see wildlife, there are better opportunities elsewhere, this site will disappoint. If you're looking to see nesting burrowing owls (late Feb through March), just head on back up Pelican Blvd to the ballpark. The owls nest area is roped off on the lawn outside the ball field. When we visited, there was just one occupied nest burrow with 2 chicks. Also, the ball field light assemblies are the home of a colony of monk parakeets.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    61
    20
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“#1 Attraction fell short of expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The butterfly house was very nice and the guide was extremely knowledgeable. The tower was closed, which was disappointing. We did see a red egret, blue heron and even a small alligator on the walk, but we were hoping for much more based on previous reviews. If you want to see nature, take the time and drive to Ding Darling or Corkscrew Swamp. The education centre was closed due to the school break and you couldn't access the dog park without a code. Otherwise, it's a nice city park to take small children with free parking and washrooms.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Burrowing Owl Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We came to Cape Coral for the festival and loved it. The butterfly house was interesting and I appreciated that they had only local butterflies. They also had little branches with butterfly eggs in covered cups that local people could take home and put in their gardens and increase their population of butterflies.

The Burrowing Owl bus tour cost only $5 each. A wonderfully well informed guide took us to seven or so burrowing owl sites around in town and we saw owls at all but one. Next to the CVS was a burrow and both the male and female came out. It was so amazing to see these cute little creatures so close up. She told us that 70 percent of the people who make a starter burrow in their yard are successful at attracting an owl. All you have to do is remove a circle of turf grass, use a spade to dig a little hole, and the owls will do the rest. The Friends of Wildlife will give you a perch, a sign to protect the burrow and pvc pipe pieces to designate the 10 foot limit so people won't come too close. Makes me wish I had a house in Cape Coral.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bardenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

very nice dog park. excellent walking trail,butterfly house, children's play area, picnic pavillion area and many varied programs

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice glimpse into 'natural' Florida”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We walked the nature trails, which was a quiet relief from busy South Florida (Minus the dogs at the park).

The tower was closed when we visited, so that was kind of a bummer.

It is very clean and family friendly. Many visitors use the trails for jogging/exercise. A nice step back into what pre-development Florida may have looked like.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotary Park Environmental Center also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rotary Park Environmental Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing